Turret Vs. Bullet (new installation)

Fancypants

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm new here, but interested in setting up some cameras around the house. I currently have 1 cheap ZModo Wifi IP Bullet camera that I can view with their software/ap, but want to expand to a more sophisticated system with multiple cameras and BI.

I work in IT and have a strong pc/server/networking background, but little/no experience with cameras.

I have seen a lot of people people say anecdotally to "buy turret cameras, not bullet cameras, turrets are better." Can anybody give a brief explanation of why? Is it just placement? PTZ? Or is there an image/video quality component here that I'm not seeing?

For my application, I live on 1 acre and need a mix of wide angle and long distance. In addition to monitoring for security, I also like to keep an eye on the wildlife in my yard. We get deer often, we also keep turkeys and chickens and I like to keep an eye out for stray dogs/coyotes.

My gut would tell me that the turrets are going to be better at wide angle shots, and bullets for long distance (but I also don't know what I'm talking about).

Finally, at night, I've got a lot of low/no light situations, so IR is a must.

Thanks in advance!

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
A couple of reasons why turrets can be a better choice than bullets -
Bullets attract spider webs so much more than turrets. If you do motion detection, you'll be forever getting the long brush out to clean them off. I started off with bullets, now all but one have been replaced.
The IR on turrets tends to be better - stronger illumination and a better shaped coverage area. But additional IR illumination can help either case.
As far as coverage and field of view is concerned - I don't think there is any difference - it's down to the choice of lens focal length, given the same sensor.

Fancypants

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply.