IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

Water-Proof Junction box vs Wall Mount Bracket

sibi78

n3wb
Hi All,

Newbie here, and I wanted a basic clarification on the water-proof junction box vs the wall-mount bracket.

My understanding is that if I use the junction box outdoors, it does have holes on its outside so that I send an external wire conduit or a bare cat 5e cable through the hole. However, if I do use the wall-mount bracket, the only option is to drill a hole through the wall to send the conduit or the cat 5e cable. Is my understanding correct?

I have already purchased a wall-mount bracket, and I was wondering if there is a way to run a conduit/cat cable externally without drilling through the wall. I can't think of any, but I wanted to confirm with the pros. Based on this, I might return the wall-mount bracket and just go for the junction box.

Thanks.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Hi All,

Newbie here, and I wanted a basic clarification on the water-proof junction box vs the wall-mount bracket.

My understanding is that if I use the junction box outdoors, it does have holes on its outside so that I send an external wire conduit or a bare cat 5e cable through the hole. However, if I do use the wall-mount bracket, the only option is to drill a hole through the wall to send the conduit or the cat 5e cable. Is my understanding correct?

I have already purchased a wall-mount bracket, and I was wondering if there is a way to run a conduit/cat cable externally without drilling through the wall. I can't think of any, but I wanted to confirm with the pros. Based on this, I might return the wall-mount bracket and just go for the junction box.

Thanks.
Hi @sibi78

The Dahua wall mount bracket ( ex PFB203W ) does not have holes on it's side(s) for conduit connections.