What's your Blue Iris Setup like? (List Specifications)

Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
3,341
Reaction score
1,728
Location
USA
What's your Blue Iris Setup like? (List Specifications, especially RAM and CPU Usage)
Also, how many watts does your system does your system use and cost to operate on a monthly basis (from a electrical utility bill perspective)?
 
Last edited:

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
1,572
Reaction score
850
Location
United Kingdom
Mine is a:

HP 600 G2 desktop
i5-6500 CPU
12Gb DDR4 RAM
256Gb Samsung SSD
2 x 2Tb Western Dig hard drives
Dual NIC, well actually 4 but I only use 2

6 x 2Mp 5231-ze starlight cams
TrendNet 8+2 port POE managed switch

CPU usage between 20-27%, RAM usage approx 3.2Gb

I run it completely headless, with the BIOS set to auto start on power failure and have virtualisation and WOL enabled as I run Docker for Windows and AITools. The WOL is so I can send it a packet to wake it up if the worst comes to the worst as the thing is in the loft.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
3,341
Reaction score
1,728
Location
USA
What's the RAM and CPU Usage like?

Mine is a:

HP 600 G2 desktop
i5-6500 CPU
12Gb DDR4 RAM
256Gb Samsung SSD
2 x 2Tb Western Dig hard drives
Dual NIC, well actually 4 but I only use 2

6 x 2Mp 5231-ze starlight cams
TrendNet 8+2 port POE managed switch

I run it completely headless, with the BIOS set to auto start on power failure and have virtualisation and WOL enabled as I run Docker for Windows and AITools. The WOL is so I can send it a packet to wake it up if the worst comes to the worst as the thing is in the loft.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
3,341
Reaction score
1,728
Location
USA
Between 20-27%, approx 3.2Gb

What about your system?
Custom Built using mini-ATX setup
Core i5 7500
16GB DDR4 Dual Channel Memory
500GB PCIE NVME SSD
2x 128GB SSD
2 x 2TB WD Drives
Integrated Intel Graphics
Should be sufficient (25% average CPU utilization, hardly 3GB RAM)
 
Last edited:

biggen

Getting comfortable
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
512
Reaction score
440
I run it in a VM. 6 GB of ram and 4 cores of a Ryzen 5 1600af assigned to it. The VM has 40GB allotted to the OS while I have a secondary 8TB drive that actually holds the cam recordings.

I have three cams running continuous recording 24x7x365. CPU usage hovers around ~20% for all 4 cores at any given time.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
1,301
Reaction score
1,853
Location
New Jersey
Hey @Arjun where'd you ever find a 500TB SSD, and better yet, how much was it? (typos not allowed:))

System here to date -

Asus Rogue VII mobo (no onboard video)
i7 6700K Processor
32GB DDR RAM
500MB M2 boot drive
EVGA RTX2070 video card
WIn 10/Pro
4TB WD Purple for video
Total of 12 cameras, 3 being 4MP and the other 9 2MP
CPU utilization varies from 12 to 30% depending on time of day
GPU sits around 15%
BI is using about 3.5GB of RAM
Network is a dedicated 1GB NIC for the cameras
Network runs a little over 12Mb/ps
Powerchute shows about 200 watts of power being used
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
3,341
Reaction score
1,728
Location
USA
Yikes, that's the nastiest typo I've made in ages. Just fixed, its a 500GB Samsung 960 NVME :lol: If I was working for NASA, NASA would have immediately laid me off had they spotted that glitch due to my error

edit: like they say, one letter goes a long way :p

Hey @Arjun where'd you ever find a 500TB SSD, and better yet, how much was it? (typos not allowed:))

System here to date -

Asus Rogue VII mobo (no onboard video)
i7 6700K Processor
32GB DDR RAM
500MB M2 boot drive
WIn 10/Pro
4TB WD Purple for video
Total of 12 cameras, 3 being 4MP and the other 9 2MP
CPU utilization varies from 12 to 30% depending on time of day
BI is using about 3.5GB of RAM
Network is a dedicated 1GB NIC for the cameras
Network runs a little over 12Mb/ps
 

samplenhold

Known around here
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
1,002
Reaction score
1,350
Location
Spring, Texas
As this has become a hobby to me, I decided to build. I like building machines and have built quite a few over the years.

CPU: Intel i7-8700 Coffee Lake 3.2 GHz
MB: ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM Micro ATX
Memory: 32 GB – 2x G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3000
Graphics Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 1050 Ti gaming 4GB memory
Power Supply: EVGA SuperNOVA 550W G3 80+ Gold
Cooling: Corsair H100i Pro 240mm
NIC: Intel EXPI9301CTBLK PCI Express Gigabit Adapter

Case: Corsair Carbide Air 240 White 12.6H x 10.2W x 15.6D

‘C’ Drive: Intel M.2 760p 2280 256GB PCI-E 3.0 x4 3D2 TLC
‘D’ Drive: WD Blue 500GB SSD NAND SATA III 6 Gb/s
‘E’ Drive: WD Purple WD101PURZ 10TB 7200RPM
‘F’ Drive: WD Purple WD101PURZ 10TB 7200RPM
‘G’ Drive: WD Purple WD101PURZ 10TB 7200RPM

OS: Microsoft WIN 10 Pro 64 bit

Notes:
  • Dual NIC setup with one on the MB and one in a PCI-E slot
  • Runs very cool without fans running fast- quiet. The PS fan is set on as needed and never turns on.
  • ‘C’ drive has OS, BI, BI Database, and other apps on it. Nothing else. Currently about 25% used.
  • ‘D’ drive is used for Alerts and JPGs and converted video from BI that I want to keep or use elsewhere. Currently about 25% used
  • Currently have 18 installed cams (7/11/2020)
    • 4x4MP and 14x2MP
    • Continuous 24/7/365
    • 11,500kB/s 675 MP/s
    • All Direct to disk using NVidia CUDA Hardware Accelerated Decode
    • CPU 26%
    • GPU 40%
    • Memory 31%
    • IP Camera Ethernet runs at about 85 Mbps using the PCI-E adapter
  • Have five more cams to mount and connect.
  • The three WD 10TB purple drives have cams distributed as follows:
    • E – 7 cams
    • F – 7 cams
    • G – 4 cams
  • Runs at 107 Watts
 

Attachments

Last edited:

tward392

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
85
Reaction score
23
Location
US
Dell Optiplex 7040 SFF
i7-6700
40 GB memory
236 GB SSD for Operating System and Blue Iris
6 TB WD Purple Drive for Clips and Alerts
Cams are in the Signature (but I have one Dahua IPC-T5442TM-AS 3.6mm that I haven't hooked up just yet).
CPU 16%, GPU 25%, Memory 3,235.7MB (12.7%)
Blue Iris v5.3.0.2 x64
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
3,341
Reaction score
1,728
Location
USA
I should also ask, how many kilowatt hours does your setup cost to operate on a monthly basis? In other words, how many watts does your system does your system use?
 

reflection

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
182
Reaction score
121
Location
Virginia
Server runs ESXi on Dell T40. Xeon E-2224G with UHD Graphics P630. 4 cores at 3.5GHz, 64GB RAM
Blue Iris VM:
  • 8GB RAM
  • 2 vCPU
  • 2 virtual NICs. One goes to camera VLAN and one goes to IoT VLAN.
  • passthroug the integrated GPU for hardware acceleration.
  • virtual Firewall and virtual IDS protects BI at the virtual NIC level (outside the Windows OS)
  • Windows OS allocated 50GB disk. Runs on a datastore using IBM P3700 PCIe NVMe (MLC SSD).
  • Data drive runs on a datastore using SATA spinning drive (WD Red)
CPU utilization for BI is 15%
RAM utilization for BI is 30%.
9 cameras (four Dahua T1179EW, two Dahua HDW5442TM , three Cisco 6000 series)

The server consumes about 60W. The Blue Iris portion consumes about 10W (estimated) which costs 86 cents per month.

The recent generation integrated GPU in the T40 works wonders. The server on the top right is a T40. Cleanup your closet - Before and After
 

BORIStheBLADE

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 14, 2016
Messages
38
Reaction score
3
Mobo - Asrock Q1900 itx (Embedded Celeron J1900 CPU)
OS - Windows 10 64bit
BI 5.0.3.2
RAM - Patriot PSD34G13381S (2- 4GB DDR3)
Storage - Seagate Skyhawk 2tb
Cameras - (2) Amcrest IP5M-T1179EW / Set to 1080p / 15FPS / 6000 Bit Rate

BI minimized CPU 8-11% / RAM used 2.6GB
BI open CPU 14 - 20%
 
Last edited:

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
1,572
Reaction score
850
Location
United Kingdom
I should also ask, how many kilowatt hours does your setup cost to operate on a monthly basis? In other words, how many watts does your system does your system use?
No idea to be honest.

How much does your system consume?
 

biggen

Getting comfortable
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
512
Reaction score
440
My whole VM host is around 60w or so. Probably a bit less. Less than $10/month.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
3,341
Reaction score
1,728
Location
USA
I don't know how reliable Kill-A-Watt meters are, but shows about 120 watts. I was exploring other options and oddly enough a new system may consume three times that amount depending on specs. I don't know why anyone would want to put a dedicated GPU in their system for BI. Probably best to let a BI system be a BI system only, right? I know a few folks that use it their BI systems as their everyday work-related computer. Wouldn't that bottleneck resources though even if you have 32GB+ of RAM?

No idea to be honest.

How much does your system consume?
 

biggen

Getting comfortable
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
512
Reaction score
440
I don't know how reliable Kill-A-Watt meters are, but shows about 120 watts. I was exploring other options and oddly enough a new system may consume three times that amount depending on specs. I don't know why anyone would want to put a dedicated GPU in their system for BI. Probably best to let a BI system be a BI system only, right? I know a few folks that use it their BI systems as their everyday work-related computer. Wouldn't that bottleneck resources though even if you have 32GB+ of RAM?
Your system specs you list in post #5 consume 120w? And its only consuming 25% of CPU resources?

Hmmm. Sounds high to me. Considering the TDP on that CPU is only 65w max if its running at 100%.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
3,341
Reaction score
1,728
Location
USA
Unfortunately, the motherboard manufacturer didn't adhere to Intel guidelines. I know that I should use thermal limits in the BIOS, but then that reduces the turbo boost frequency on the Core i5. When they advertise 65W TDP for the CPU, it only factors the CPU in mind and not the other components. However, I do agree that consuming double the CPU TDP is awfully high. Its been an issue since Day 1, but hasn't really resulted in any reliability problem. The motherboard is built for overclockers in mind; I would not recommend an enthusiast board for these purposes. I did some testing using Intel's XTU in the beginning and the CPU used to thermally throttle during stress tests; had to replace the cooler which did the trick. However, TDP is still high for the CPU particularly; exceeds 65W. Usually, there is a threshold. The best option is to go with an ASUS motherboard as they do tend to strictly adhere to Intel guidelines; at the same time offering consumers ability to tweak BIOS settings.

Your system specs you list in post #5 consume 120w? And its only consuming 25% of CPU resources?

Hmmm. Sounds high to me. Considering the TDP on that CPU is only 65w max if its running at 100%.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
33,616
Reaction score
12,766
Unfortunately, the motherboard manufacturer didn't adhere to Intel guidelines. I know that I should use thermal limits in the BIOS, but then that reduces the turbo boost frequency on the Core i5. When they advertise 65W TDP for the CPU, it only factors the CPU in mind and not the other components. However, I do agree that consuming double the CPU TDP is awfully high. Its been an issue since Day 1, but hasn't really resulted in any reliability problem. The motherboard is built for overclockers in mind; I would not recommend an enthusiast board for these purposes. I did some testing using Intel's XTU in the beginning and the CPU used to thermally throttle during stress tests; had to replace the cooler which did the trick. However, TDP is still high for the CPU particularly; exceeds 65W. Usually, there is a threshold. The best option is to go with an ASUS motherboard as they do tend to strictly adhere to Intel guidelines; at the same time offering consumers ability to tweak BIOS settings.
Impossible. You must be including the monitor and cameras or looking at volts instead of watts.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
3,341
Reaction score
1,728
Location
USA
When I run the XTU stress test, I see the Package TDP going up to 120 watts. Is this the same as actual output? I've seen the same problem happen with the current 10th gen Intel CPU's as well. Its frustrating and even spoke with Intel regarding this; they keep sending me back to the motherboard manufacturer. There's even a video by Gamer's Nexus regarding current 10th gen Intel CPU's with higher than normal thermal performance. Could be that with these third party board manufacturers this has been plaguing Intel for years as I see this happening with my 7th gen Intel CPU. I know that most BI setups I come across are using OEM hardware (from Dell, IBM, HP, etc). I don't know if the problem is related to doing custom builds. However, I am interested in other user's specifications :)

Impossible. You must be including the monitor and cameras or looking at volts instead of watts.
 
Top