1 to 4 PoE Extender

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by nayr, Dec 31, 2016.

Share This Page

  1. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,974
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Got a single ethernet cable and want to install multiple PoE Cameras? This lil device will do the trick:

    IMAG0714.jpg

    Price Paid: $30 w/Prime Shipping

    Think of this as a Wall-Mountable PoE powered 5 Port PoE switch :)

    This takes a PoE+ (802.3AT 25.5W) and splits it into four PoE (802.3AF 14.5W) ports giving you ~6W evenly per port which is plenty enough to run most fixed IP Cameras.

    If your looking for a PoE+ injector this should do the trick: Amazon.com: BV-Tech POE-I100G Gigabit Single Port 30W PoE Injector (Black): Computers & Accessories

    Most NVR's w/built in PoE already output PoE+ for use w/PTZ, however few of the cheap affordable PoE switches do.

    I installed this in my Garage to split the existing cable monitoring the inside of my cat-door so I could hookup the varifocal turret.. I also intend on moving an older camera into the garage for watching the bay and another starlight watching other side of driveway.. So eventually I intend to use all 4 ports, and I also wanted several PoE ports near the Varifocal Turret for future reviews, as thats the camera to beat.. I already have 4 ethernet cables in the garage and really didnt want to run 4 more.

    I have 4 cameras hooked up for testing right now, in daytime its pulling 12W-14W total from my midspan.. half of the cameras im testing dont have IR and at night I'm seeing 14-17W combined.. might be as high as 21W if they all had IR.. as always YMMV.

    Daytime:
    Screenshot 2016-12-31 12.18.40.png

    Night Time (w/2 IR Cameras and 2 non-IR Cameras):
    Screenshot 2016-12-31 17.31.52.png


    Typically I'd suggest running more ethernet cable, its more cost effective and dont have this single point of failure.. but if your in a pinch, this should do the job just fine.. just dont expect to run any PTZ's off it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2016
    c hris527, LonnieU, Kawboy12R and 6 others like this.
  2. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,974
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Seriously overdriving this thing with the Ultra Starlight (heated) and an IR Cannon on a separate 12v splitter.. here's the poo man's PoE+ 12v splitter ;)

    Screenshot 2017-01-10 20.19.07.png

    specs said it only had 24w of output power; but I think its more along the lines of it'll handle whatever you can give it and 25w is only whats guaranteed via spec.. giving me ~9W per port if spread evenly.

    no packetloss or any issues so far.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2017
    bug99 and looney2ns like this.
  3. bug99

    bug99 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    57
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2017
  4. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,974
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    you can find em on AliExpress for cheap too; just slow shipping... I got another one on the way.
     
  5. zebrock

    zebrock Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    36
    This is exactly what I need for a current project. Do you have a link to where you got yours on Ali? Amazon is sold out.
     
  6. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,974
    Location:
    Denver, CO
  7. bug99

    bug99 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    57
  8. zebrock

    zebrock Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    36
    Thanks @nayr

    @bug99 thats how its currently setup as a temp. Its ugly and too many points of failure for my liking so this thing will fit the bill perfectly. Going in a garage so moisture wont be an issue. Good lookin out fellas

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N930A using Tapatalk
     
  9. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,974
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I ordered another one of these DHL Shipped in less than a week for $48USD from: New Mini 10/100M 4 Ports POE Extender 25.5W Extend 120 Meters IEEE802.3af POE Network Devices Plug and Play-in CCTV Accessories from Security & Protection on Aliexpress.com | Alibaba Group

    the original one is running in a NMEA box on the side of my house acting as a fancy power splitter for my Ultra and External IR, seems to be doing fine.. might be adding a LPR camera to the box so having another port there and ready will be nice.
     
  10. Jamson

    Jamson Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    Which poe injector would be recommend to use with this? Can the TP-Link 8-Port Gigabit Ethernet PoE Desktop Switch with 4-PoE Ports be used, or would it have to be a single poe injector. Thanks
     
  11. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,974
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    You'd want an 802.3AT capable injector/switch/midspan.. aka PoE+
     
  12. Jamson

    Jamson Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    is there any that have 8 ports for poe that you would recommend? Thanks
     
  13. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,974
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I rarely make recommendations for equipment I dont have any experience with.. leme know when your looking for 24-48 port options.

    lots of discussions on here about affordable PoE switches; search.
     
  14. Jamson

    Jamson Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    i already have a poe switch but not a poe+, so maybe it might be best if i buy a single one.
     
  15. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,974
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I linked a single injector in the first post thats suitable
     
  16. Jamson

    Jamson Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks, I will go with this, much cheaper than buying new switch.
     
  17. gmaster1

    gmaster1 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    45
    (You can use straight up 802.3af power as input for this too. 802.3at is recommended and even says so printed on the box itself, but this unit works just as well without. At least, that's been my experience with this exact one and similar units.)
     
  18. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,974
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    AT and AF are the same thing just minimum guaranteed wattages; your free to use AT but you'll have a smaller power ceiling to stay within... like 12W vs 30W
     
  19. gmaster1

    gmaster1 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    45
    I know, I'm just saying for those who think it's necessary to keep an AT certified power injector in-line when they are only pushing 6-8 watts.
     
  20. Arjun

    Arjun Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    USA
    Time to refresh myself with Networking 101, nayr, with this POE extender, does each camera still get assigned its own IP address? Or all four cameras fall under address?
     
  21. bug99

    bug99 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    57
    each still gets their own unique IP address.
     
    Arjun likes this.
  22. Arjun

    Arjun Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, thus instead of connecting to the back of the NVR, this POE switch gets connected to the back of the main router, and NVR picks it up on the network (when initiating a device search), right?
     
  23. cybermech

    cybermech Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    78
    Yes. It acts no different than any other switch (other than it supplies power too).
     
  24. nbstl68

    nbstl68 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    84
    How much wattage does a typical cam w IR running use?
    This would be great for the garage vs running 4 lines but I have plain ole POE, so I assume splitting that in 4 would not be enough juice?
     
  25. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,974
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    depends on the camera, but yeah using a 13W regular PoE and dividing it in 4 dont leave you with much.. the switch also robbs you of a watt or two.

    for 2 cams probably no problem, 3 or 4 could be pushing it..
     
    nbstl68 likes this.
  26. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    19,310
    Likes Received:
    3,965
    To clarify, it does not plug into the back of the "main router", this unit must be powered by POE or preferably poe+ depending on the power you draw. This is only for use when you dont have local power to power a proper poe switch.
     
    DavidDavid likes this.
  27. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    19,310
    Likes Received:
    3,965
    Do you not have power in your garage? if so, use a regular poe switch.
     
  28. Arjun

    Arjun Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    USA
    How are the IP addresses assigned? Off what range (is it off the primary router if other network devices are configured as access points)? My main router is not on the 192.168.x.x range as it would conflict with the internet gateway / modem provided to me by my ISP. Its fortunate that my network extenders and NVR were able to get assigned IP's addresses over the same range as my main router as they are technically Access Points (AP's). I was concerned that the NVR would have a mind of its own and set its own DHCP server / range, lol
     
  29. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,974
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    NVR's dont run DHCP, they run ARP to find ONVIF cameras and assign em to the same network config they listning on.. A NVR w/a built in PoE switch is essentially a single GigE uplink hardwired into a simple switch with its own standalone processor.
     
    Arjun and fenderman like this.
  30. nbstl68

    nbstl68 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    84
    Well, the POE switch is in the basement that feeds the line I have running out there now, but it goes through the attic in the garage to the outside corner of the garage..no power outlets up in the attic.