Best 4k Colour Night Vision Turret Camera

abefroman

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, new member here

I'm pretty new to the world of CCTV and would like some with help picking out my first POE CCTV setup.

When I first started researching CCTV cameras (specifically 4/8mp Poe cams), I inevitably stumbled across Reolink. I spent the next few weeks watching comparison videos against similar brands like lorex, amcrest, eufy etc and concluded that reolink was the best option for me. I thought that the RLC-811A (8MP Bullet) was the perfect camera for the job (I assumed the bad night vision would improve with supplemental lights).

Shortly after this I discovered Hikvision, Dahua, Uniview, Empiretech and other similar brands. I'm glad I didn't rush into purchasing a reolink system but the stress that came after has driven me crazy.

After months of migraine inducing research and comparison I settled on the new Colorvu Hybrid 8MP Turret Camera (DS-2CD2387G2H) but I would like to get some outside opinions before I dive into the Hikvision ecosystem.

I wanted to hear your opinions as I noticed that very similar turret cameras from the brands mentioned above are highly regarded in this forum (Dahua 5842/5442, UniView Colorhunter and Empiretech 4KCT)

I chose this specific Hikvision camera as it fit my needs perfectly and I liked the idea of the camera using IR at night, switching to the built in led when it detected motion (Hybrid Light).

This is important to me as the CCTV is for my residential property in a very urban part of London, England so I don't want to attract unnecessary attention at night.