Blessing in disguise…. Sorta

Rusty Ross

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Long story short my next door neighbors car got ran into and the person drove away! They came and asked me if my cameras caught anything and while the answer was yes, my driveway camera caught the act of doing but that’s it. I don’t know if it was my settings or what but I tried for hours trying to get their plate number for them. Later on I started playing with the settings to see if I could get a better image next time in case something worse was to happen; or even our property this time!

My problem or question is, whenever I change the camera record settings to mainstream it basically crashes the DVR and forces it to restart. I had to give up trying for now and just put them back to default so it runs smoothly which is only the sub stream h264

specs are as follows:
Lorex D841A8-D262 with 10tb hard drive
Lorex C882DA-Z camera (6)
Upgraded RG-59 cable with power inverter

do I get a newer camera that can record a better picture? Change a setting or two to keep the system from crashing? Please help to prevent a future problem due to lack of evidence!

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
You are suffering from the common mistake of trying to do too much with one camera.

That view is a nice overview to see what is happening, but is poor for plate reading and poor for even door checkers as it is too high and all you will get are tops of heads and hoodies.

Regarding a camera for plates (LPR) - keep in mind that this is a camera dedicated to plates and not an overview camera also. It is as much an art as it is a science. You will need two cameras. For LPR we need to OPTICALLY zoom in tight to make the plate as large as possible AND try to make the angle as small as possible. For most of us, all you see is the not much more than a vehicle in the entire frame. Now maybe in the right location during the day it might be able to see some other things, but not at night.