IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

Blue Iris Hardare Requirements

pcunite

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jan 28, 2018
Messages
62
Reaction score
17
educate me
I'm still in the research phase. I plan to do a large 30+ camera installation sometime in May. All 2MP cameras, however. Anyway, fenderman has stated in the past that Avigilon is a more CPU efficient software package. I don't know the cost yet, but if it's $2K, it still is reasonable when comparing hardware and ongoing power costs to try and run BlueIris.

I've not tested this yet, but will do so when I can. It would be nice if you could get an evaluation version of Avigilon and demonstrate this for the benefit of the board here.

:)
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,148
Reaction score
10,120
I'm still in the research phase. I plan to do a large 30+ camera installation sometime in May. All 2MP cameras, however. Anyway, fenderman has stated in the past that Avigilon is a more CPU efficient software package. I don't know the cost yet, but if it's $2K, it still is reasonable when comparing hardware and ongoing power costs to try and run BlueIris.

I've not tested this yet, but will do so when I can. It would be nice if you could get an evaluation version of Avigilon and demonstrate this for the benefit of the board here.

:)
30 2mp cameras can be run on a 6-8th gen i7...
 

MrGlasspoole

Young grasshopper
Joined
Mar 10, 2018
Messages
59
Reaction score
17
I guess i will try a Core i3-8100 Coffee Lake.
Cant find the i3-8100T at the moment here in Germany.

Edit:
Ok, the Coffee boards are yet expensive.

I wonder how big the difference between a Pentium G4600 and Core i3-7100 in BI is.
Both have 2 cores and 4 threads and the PassMark is just 5129 vs 5810.
 
Last edited:

gtj

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
70
Reaction score
4
I'm considering transferring my BI server to an Optiplex 3020 with an i5-5490.
My set up is in a home environment and has 2-4 1080p streams (I add 2 more IP cameras when away)

I have 2 questions:

1) Is it possible to accommodate a 2.5 SSD and a 3.5 WD Purple to this SFF PC? Do I have to remove DVD drive and replace it with a HDD bay?
2) Is there any estimate average power consumption for a build like this?
 

gtj

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
70
Reaction score
4
Anyone guys?
Is the 5490 still a viable option or has it aged and I'll be better off with a newer processor?
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
7,666
Reaction score
6,146
Location
Evansville, Indiana
I'm considering transferring my BI server to an Optiplex 3020 with an i5-5490.
My set up is in a home environment and has 2-4 1080p streams (I add 2 more IP cameras when away)

I have 2 questions:

1) Is it possible to accommodate a 2.5 SSD and a 3.5 WD Purple to this SFF PC? Do I have to remove DVD drive and replace it with a HDD bay?
2) Is there any estimate average power consumption for a build like this?
1-yes, you need the DVD drive's sata port anyway. No drive bay needed.
2-Read wiki at top of this page. 30-40 watts. 4th gen and up is fine.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gtj

gtj

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
70
Reaction score
4
After reading all posts, I understand that an i3-4150 might be adequate for my setup (3-4 1080p streams). Is that the case?
 

gtj

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
70
Reaction score
4
Well I just got a SFF Optiplex 3020 on ebay with a 4590.
Hopefully I'll have it early on next week.

I'm planning to swap the 500GB it comes with with a WD Purple for the recordings.
I also want to run the system of off an SSD. Do I have to remove the DVD drive in order to fit the system drive - SSD?
From what I've seen on youtube, there is some space in the HDD caddy so I could probably stack both drives in there, the WD Purple and the 2.5 inch SSD.

Any ideas?
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
7,666
Reaction score
6,146
Location
Evansville, Indiana
Well I just got a SFF Optiplex 3020 on ebay with a 4590.
Hopefully I'll have it early on next week.

I'm planning to swap the 500GB it comes with with a WD Purple for the recordings.
I also want to run the system of off an SSD. Do I have to remove the DVD drive in order to fit the system drive - SSD?
From what I've seen on youtube, there is some space in the HDD caddy so I could probably stack both drives in there, the WD Purple and the 2.5 inch SSD.

Any ideas?
Remove the DVD, you need it's Sata port anyway and mout it there. Or use velcro and strap in somewhere else.
In mine, there isn't room for both the 3.5 & 2.5 in the drive caddy. I took out the DVD.
 
  • Like
Reactions: gtj

gtj

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
70
Reaction score
4
The 3020 I bought seems to have space in the caddy to velcro the 2.5inch SSD on the HDD. My only concearn is the heat the Purple drive will generate by working 24/7.

I wouldn't want to remove the DVD drive completely as there will be a hole in the fascia of the unit. That said, it will be better if I could avoid that.
I will just disconnect it and use its SATA cable and power connector to connect my SSD. However, it seems that the DVD on this unit is over a SATA 2 connection. Have you noticed any speed difference?

Also how are your noise levels? Do you know if I'll be able to change the fans (both one on the case as well as on the processor's heatsink) with something from the Noctua line?
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,148
Reaction score
10,120
The 3020 I bought seems to have space in the caddy to velcro the 2.5inch SSD on the HDD. My only concearn is the heat the Purple drive will generate by working 24/7.

I wouldn't want to remove the DVD drive completely as there will be a hole in the fascia of the unit. That said, it will be better if I could avoid that.
I will just disconnect it and use its SATA cable and power connector to connect my SSD. However, it seems that the DVD on this unit is over a SATA 2 connection. Have you noticed any speed difference?

Also how are your noise levels? Do you know if I'll be able to change the fans (both one on the case as well as on the processor's heatsink) with something from the Noctua line?
you should be able to squeeze it in even without removing the dvd...using double sided velcro to secure...or use this
https://www.amazon.com/Highfine-Universal-SSD-HDD-Enclosures/dp/B01MRI8YFN/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1524946631&sr=8-3&keywords=dvd+caddy
 
  • Like
Reactions: gtj

gtj

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
70
Reaction score
4
you should be able to squeeze it in even without removing the dvd...using double sided velcro to secure...or use this
https://www.amazon.com/Highfine-Universal-SSD-HDD-Enclosures/dp/B01MRI8YFN/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1524946631&sr=8-3&keywords=dvd+caddy
I thought about this adapter but didn't know if the drive was a laptop's DVD drive (9.5mm) or a 12 one.

I will probably get this adapter as it's more neat and gives better air flow among the drives.

Many thanks!
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,148
Reaction score
10,120
I thought about this adapter but didn't know if the drive was a laptop's DVD drive (9.5mm) or a 12 one.

I will probably get this adapter as it's more neat and gives better air flow among the drives.

Many thanks!
Don't be overly concerned about air flow these newer processors run relatively cool...
 
  • Like
Reactions: gtj

gtj

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
70
Reaction score
4
Don't be overly concerned about air flow these newer processors run relatively cool...
Great to know.

My main concearns were consumption and noise but as long as these are efficient machines I think I'll be fine.
In worst case scenario I will look into the possibility of swaping the fans with Noctua ones -if they fit- but hopefully, I won't have to attempt this mod. I'm just a bit sceptical with overall noise as the server will be placed in the living room. I will also most definitely re-seat the heatsink with fresh thermal compound as soon as I receive the unit.

Thanks again!
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,148
Reaction score
10,120
Great to know.

My main concearns were consumption and noise but as long as these are efficient machines I think I'll be fine.
In worst case scenario I will look into the possibility of swaping the fans with Noctua ones -if they fit- but hopefully, I won't have to attempt this mod. I'm just a bit sceptical with overall noise as the server will be placed in the living room. I will also most definitely re-seat the heatsink with fresh thermal compound as soon as I receive the unit.

Thanks again!
Should be very quiet...
 
  • Like
Reactions: gtj

gtj

Young grasshopper
Joined
Sep 13, 2017
Messages
70
Reaction score
4
Should be very quiet...
You don't know how happy I am hearing this...

One of the reasons I opted for a WD Purple was noise emission rather than longevity. These drives are allegedly the most silent ones.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,148
Reaction score
10,120
You don't know how happy I am hearing this...

One of the reasons I opted for a WD Purple was noise emission rather than longevity. These drives are allegedly the most silent ones.
The benefit of the purple is not longevity but the ability to handle multiple streams efficiently l.... There is a bios fan setting... If improperly set it will run the fan at high speed all the time... If my memory serves me right it has to be set to disabled... But you can play with it once you get it....
 
  • Like
Reactions: gtj
Top