Blue Iris suddenly says it's in evaluation mode, and I have no more days left.

J Sigmo

Known around here
Reaction score
OK. I'm probably to blame for this, but:

I have been running BI4 for a few years. It's worked fine, so even though I paid the extra to extend my "maintenance" or whatever it's called, so I could upgrade to 5, I haven't gotten around to doing it. Summer is the busy season where I work, and with 80 hours a week of work, I haven't felt like messing with a system that works fine.

That is until a day or two ago. BI suddenly stopped responding on my phone or other devices, so I finally went up to its dedicated Win10 PC, and found that it must have done an update and restart. Fine. So I tried to fire up BI, and it gives me the form where I'm supposed to purchase it or click "demo" again to continue my evaluation. But it also says I have only 0 days left to evaluate it.

So, did I mess up by waiting so long to do the update to version 5? Am I screwed?

I don't even really mind paying again for it because it's such a great deal. But I really shouldn't have to, should I?

What's the best, easiest way to get things running again. I'm cameraless. :)

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Many threads on this - the program always was designed to provide updates for a year after purchase unless you renewed but up until a recent version, it was not enforced. You can simply roll back to an older version prior to your expiration date, or pay to get current.

You may also have some issue with going from BI4 to BI5, especially if your system did it under an auto update...

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
OK. I'm probably to blame for this, but: