IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

Blue Iris UI3

aesterling

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
116
Reaction score
64
Is it possible to avoid this aliasing on the scaled video in UI3? If I view a single camera full size it doesn't have the jagged edges. Does UI Settings have a preference I can adjust for anti-aliasing? It seems like Blue Iris Options > Other > Advanced > Scaling doesn't appear to affect this in UI3. These cams are 4K 3840x2160. Thanks!


But when viewing just a single camera (instead of all cameras) it looks good:

 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,031
Reaction score
6,217
Is it possible to avoid this aliasing on the scaled video in UI3? If I view a single camera full size it doesn't have the jagged edges. Does UI Settings have a preference I can adjust for anti-aliasing? It seems like Blue Iris Options > Other > Advanced > Scaling doesn't appear to affect this in UI3. These cams are 4K 3840x2160. Thanks!

But when viewing just a single camera (instead of all cameras) it looks good:
This is just the result of you using too small of a group frame size. Adjust it here.

(Blue Iris has a really small default size because larger resolutions often don't perform as well or will even crash the official Android app)

 

aesterling

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
116
Reaction score
64
This is just the result of you using too small of a group frame size. Adjust it here.

(Blue Iris has a really small default size because larger resolutions often don't perform as well or will even crash the official Android app)

bp2008, thank you! That fixed it and it looks great now. I set the group frame size to match my camera's native resolution. Performance is still good, too.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,031
Reaction score
6,217
Releases - bp2008/ui3
To install releases from github, download the release zip and extract it to Blue Iris 4/www, overwriting all files.

Version 66
  • The UI will no longer try and fail to play non-BVR clips while they are still recording, instead opening an informational toast message.
  • Fixed bugs which caused erratic seeking behavior when playing clips that are still recording.
  • Fixed one cause of "MEDIA_ERR_SRC_NOT_SUPPORTED" errors.
  • Combined some text lines in the "Stats for nerds" panel.
  • Removed "Frame Timing Error" line from "Stats for nerds" when using the HTML5 player, since this information is unavailable from that player.
 

jmhmcse

n3wb
Joined
Dec 30, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
4
Location
usa
Somewhere along the line of attempting to eliminating the upload_2019-2-20_23-2-1.png popup when I searched clips or alerts, I did worse harm to the BI server while making adjustments in the Group Webcasting setting and the Options, WebServer, Advanced, Configure Streaming 0 profile settings. (changes made in accordance with suggestion from UI3 help page and this forum)

I didn't see the impact of my changes immediately as it appeared the CPU remained constant... until I started UI3 on another system and the CPU jumped up by 25%.

Currently the BI server CPU usage without any UI3 access is around 40%, and when I start UI3 the server's usage jumps to around 68%. Before my adjustments there was only a marginal increase. An interesting observation is that when UI3 initializes and camera video is displayed the CPU is around 40%, it's a few seconds later that the CPU increases.

I'm not seeing my mistake and am hoping a review by more knowledgeable and wiser might provide light on my errors. And in the off-chance that something didn't really reset, the BI server has been rebooted several times; after each rounds of changes.

Server Configuration

upload_2019-2-20_23-39-21.png
upload_2019-2-20_23-41-55.png



BI Configuration

Camera Group Webcast- FrontOnly

upload_2019-2-20_23-27-46.png


Encoder Options - Streaming 0 profile

upload_2019-2-20_23-29-41.png


Options - Camera - Live Preview

upload_2019-2-20_23-31-14.png


UI3 2MP profile

upload_2019-2-20_23-36-0.png


I don't see what is out of place or wrong...
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,031
Reaction score
6,217
@jmhmcse

A few notes about this. The CPU % readout in the Blue Iris console is refreshed kind of slowly and the one in UI3 is refreshed even more slowly. Better to look in Task Manager.

That isn't a particularly fast CPU, so it is not surprising to me that encoding a 3 megapixel @ 10 FPS group stream would be a little taxing. What I would suggest for you is to try the ultrafast preset to see how much of a difference that makes, and consider reducing the group resolution from 2048 x 1536 to something lower, perhaps 1440 x 1080 which is the same aspect ratio but half as many pixels. Also while it won't affect CPU usage, the Maximum Keyframe Interval in Streaming 0 profile is best set to 300 (which is the maximum that field will take).

The VideoPostProc option for hardware acceleration may be hurting performance more than it helps. Try the Intel option without VideoPostProc. Remember to restart Blue Iris after changing this so it takes effect.

If you specifically experience the delayed video warning when mousing over clips or alerts, then I suggest you turn off the "Clip Preview Animations" feature in UI Settings > General Settings. This feature can be really expensive for Blue Iris's CPU usage because it requires Blue Iris to do a lot of extra seeking and video decoding.
 

Taigar

n3wb
Joined
Jan 30, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
Netherlands
Hello,

Don't know if this is the right thread to post, but I discovered a problem with UI3 URL parameters and auto cycle.
When using a groupname with a capital letter somewhere in the middle (for example: 'OutsideCameras'), the URL parameters don't work.

I am talking about the 'group=groupname' parameter.

Maybe someone else can test this also?

I deleted the group, and recreated it with only lower-case letters, and it is working fine..
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,031
Reaction score
6,217
I just created a group "FrontStarlight" and it worked fine with the 'group=FrontStarlight' URL parameter.

I did notice some irritating behavior with Chrome though. When modifying the capitalization in a URL and then pressing Enter, Chrome will throw out your modified capitalization and use the first suggestion from the autocomplete list.

For example this is a screenshot of my address bar after I have already navigated to ui3 using the group name in all lowercase, then I change the capitalization. The first autocomplete suggestion is the lowercase version and when I press enter the lowercase version is what I get, even though I never selected anything in the autocomplete list.



One way to work around this was to use the arrow keys and Shift + Delete to remove autocomplete entries.
 

jmhmcse

n3wb
Joined
Dec 30, 2018
Messages
21
Reaction score
4
Location
usa
@jmhmcse

A few notes about this. The CPU % readout in the Blue Iris console is refreshed kind of slowly and the one in UI3 is refreshed even more slowly. Better to look in Task Manager.

That isn't a particularly fast CPU, so it is not surprising to me that encoding a 3 megapixel @ 10 FPS group stream would be a little taxing. What I would suggest for you is to try the ultrafast preset to see how much of a difference that makes, and consider reducing the group resolution from 2048 x 1536 to something lower, perhaps 1440 x 1080 which is the same aspect ratio but half as many pixels. Also while it won't affect CPU usage, the Maximum Keyframe Interval in Streaming 0 profile is best set to 300 (which is the maximum that field will take).

The VideoPostProc option for hardware acceleration may be hurting performance more than it helps. Try the Intel option without VideoPostProc. Remember to restart Blue Iris after changing this so it takes effect.

If you specifically experience the delayed video warning when mousing over clips or alerts, then I suggest you turn off the "Clip Preview Animations" feature in UI Settings > General Settings. This feature can be really expensive for Blue Iris's CPU usage because it requires Blue Iris to do a lot of extra seeking and video decoding.
========================
========================

Bingo, we have a winner!

The change in the group resolution was it. Adjusted down and the CPU usage is back to where I began. Thanks.

Also changed Max Keyframe to 300 and disabled Clip Preview.

====

Amazing that a what seemed a 'small' change had such a significant impact.

thanks again.
 

Taigar

n3wb
Joined
Jan 30, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
Netherlands
I have another question about the UI3. I tried searching for it, but didn't found an answer.

I have a group of 4 camera's. They are all 1920 x 1080.
I set the group frame size also to 1920 x 1080.

Now when I open UI3, and select the group. I get the following:
upload_2019-2-22_9-37-57.png

This is because the quality is default set to 720p. If I change it to 1080p, I get the following:
upload_2019-2-22_9-39-3.png

This is all good. When I select the cycle group, it goes wrong. It is the same group, but with the ' cycle' added to the name.
I have enabled auto cycle on motion, so any cam with motion goes to full screen.

I get the following resolution, no matter what I try:
upload_2019-2-22_9-40-59.png

I it possible to get a higher resolution with the cycle group? What settings do I need to change?
I have a 32" TV showing this signal, so a little bit better quality would be nice.

If you need any more information, let me know.

Thanks!
 

SAVideoman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
44
Reaction score
51
bp2008, When a group of 10 cameras is being shown, are there 10 separate streams being sent to UI3? Or is the entire group being encoded by BlueIris as a single video stream? I set up a group of 11 cameras at 4K resolution on my 4K tv using a Firestick and it looks fantastic! But my poor BlueIris CPU usage about doubled to 70%. Not a problem because I've got a great PC and it's totally worth it to see such detail on the final image on my client tv. But I was just curious if you thought it would be more efficient to encode the whole group together.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,031
Reaction score
6,217
I it possible to get a higher resolution with the cycle group? What settings do I need to change?
I have a 32" TV showing this signal, so a little bit better quality would be nice.
I don't know of any other setting. This looks like a Blue Iris issue. I will mention it to the developer and see if he thinks the resolution of the group cycle stream should be the same as the group stream.

bp2008, When a group of 10 cameras is being shown, are there 10 separate streams being sent to UI3? Or is the entire group being encoded by BlueIris as a single video stream?
Blue Iris encodes frames from all the cameras into one. I've tried the approach of streaming from all cameras separately in the past, but performance is terrible compared to the composite stream.
 

aesterling

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 9, 2017
Messages
116
Reaction score
64
Love UI3! Out of curiosity, is it possible to move the controls from the left to the right side of the screen? I searched this thread and the help page but didn't see anything. Thanks!
 

ccutrer

n3wb
Joined
Oct 22, 2017
Messages
12
Reaction score
2
I have my cameras record continuously. Is it possibly to have the scrubber on the clips viewer show the actual timestamps, rather than offset into that clip? My clips don't always roll over on perfect 4 hour intervals, so it can be difficult to add in my head where a specific time is if I get an alert on one camera, then want to flip to another camera around the same time.

Along those lines - I love the synchronized playback in the actual Blue Iris application. I'd love if some of the features from that are carried over to UI3 so that I can easily access them remotely:
* some way to easily view multiple cameras at a specific point in time. Does Blue Iris allow you to request a non-live group stream? If not, even just implementing switching between cameras in the clips or alerts viewer, but keeping at the same point in time would be great. Just like you can with live, using `,` and `.`.
* would it be possible when viewing a clip, to put the trigger and motion alerts onto the timeline, like the app does?
 
Top