Blue Iris version 5

archedraft

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
139
Reaction score
88
Location
USA
I can confirm the same. Bought the extended service with BI on a Win 7 computer and it said not eligible. Upgraded the computer to Win 10 and I now see I am eligible. Next steps will be to do a fresh install of Win 10 on my computer!
Fresh install of Windows 10 complete! It never goes as fast as you anticipate but I think that's just the nature of the beast.

A fun side note.
BI idle comparisons:
~30% with Windows 7
~20% with Windows 10
 

DLONG2

Known around here
Joined
May 17, 2017
Messages
696
Reaction score
406
I wish the version 5 will have some sort of auto-selection of the current date in the timeline date-picker.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,091
Reaction score
17,063
I wish the version 5 will have some sort of auto-selection of the current date in the timeline date-picker.
It already does that. Even if it didnt, wishing does nothing. You need to request a feature from support.
 

area651

Getting comfortable
Joined
Aug 18, 2018
Messages
455
Reaction score
395
Location
USA
exciting! I have blueiris4 on a friend's computer (loaned from a friend's setup) to evaluate now and I'm mixed. Some is definitely good and the bad I'm thinking might just be the learning curve and/or getting used to it. I'm really interested to see how 5 will be different. With it being so close, I'll likely wait until it launches. I'm not using BI4 full time at home. Really, just experimenting with it. Definitely before I buy any Synology surveillance station licenses I'll have to check out BI5.

I would LOVE to see them create a package installer for the Synology or Qnap though as I think they could really give it some good competition.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,091
Reaction score
17,063
exciting! I have blueiris4 on a friend's computer (loaned from a friend's setup) to evaluate now and I'm mixed. Some is definitely good and the bad I'm thinking might just be the learning curve and/or getting used to it. I'm really interested to see how 5 will be different. With it being so close, I'll likely wait until it launches. I'm not using BI4 full time at home. Really, just experimenting with it. Definitely before I buy any Synology surveillance station licenses I'll have to check out BI5.

I would LOVE to see them create a package installer for the Synology or Qnap though as I think they could really give it some good competition.
there will never by a synology BI package. BI4 includes a free upgrade to BI if purchased after april 1.
 

Zorac

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Apr 17, 2015
Messages
214
Reaction score
26
does anyone know if the minor upgrades once your on v5 will continue to be free like they were for 4 or will you require some sort of paid subscription to get them?
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,091
Reaction score
17,063
does anyone know if the minor upgrades once your on v5 will continue to be free like they were for 4 or will you require some sort of paid subscription to get them?
Its would be guessing. In the past it was supposed to be free for the first year after purchase then 30 annually if you wanted the updates, however, he was kind enough to provide it for free even after the year was up.
 

dashony

n3wb
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
I hope for less CPU usage and not hoping for too much but I'd like to see machine learning and detect person, car, pet that's about it and avoid 100+ false positives a day when clouds are moving fast, a larger leaf flying by or rain at night. Love Blue Iris and recommended to so many friends but yes way too many false positives and I've tweaked so many settings but still can't rely on the alerts.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
35,091
Reaction score
17,063
I hope for less CPU usage and not hoping for too much but I'd like to see machine learning and detect person, car, pet that's about it and avoid 100+ false positives a day when clouds are moving fast, a larger leaf flying by or rain at night. Love Blue Iris and recommended to so many friends but yes way too many false positives and I've tweaked so many settings but still can't rely on the alerts.
You have not properly set up zone crossing. See videos. Also see the new sentry feature and release notes.
 

dashony

n3wb
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
You have not properly set up zone crossing. See videos. Also see the new sentry feature and release notes.
Thanks for the heads up, I have not heard of zone crossing but I’ve just watched the video and looks promising.
 

devastator

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
169
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
Also note that you can integrate Z-Wave or hardwired PIR sensors with blue iris.
I just integrated the Hue outdoor motion sensors on my install. 50 euro per piece, attached to Home Assistant. If HA detects motion, it triggers a recording.
I've spent lots of hours on finetuning zone crossing and other settings, but I could not get the false positives to an acceptable level. Lots of problems with shadows (a lot of trees in view) or spiders crawling over the camera ...
Now I only have 1 or 2 false positives a day.
 

dashony

n3wb
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
I just integrated the Hue outdoor motion sensors on my install. 50 euro per piece, attached to Home Assistant. If HA detects motion, it triggers a recording.
I've spent lots of hours on finetuning zone crossing and other settings, but I could not get the false positives to an acceptable level. Lots of problems with shadows (a lot of trees in view) or spiders crawling over the camera ...
Now I only have 1 or 2 false positives a day.
That would be quite acceptable 1-2 false positives a day. I’m running HASSIO as well just my motion sensors I have don’t go as far as I wanted. 50 euro it’s quite steep, it’s more than I paid for my Dahua IPC-HDW4433C-A cameras. But I’ll keep looking but I’d agree IR sensors would be the way to go. Thanks for your reply.
 

devastator

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
169
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
You can get motion sensors cheaper if they are not smart and work on mains power. However, I do not have power (only POE) at that particular location. I bought 2x of them at a discount at 35 euro/piece. Futhermore, it 1.5 meters away from my camera, because it would give to many triggers due to cars passing by ...
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
I just integrated the Hue outdoor motion sensors on my install. 50 euro per piece, attached to Home Assistant. If HA detects motion, it triggers a recording.
I've spent lots of hours on finetuning zone crossing and other settings, but I could not get the false positives to an acceptable level. Lots of problems with shadows (a lot of trees in view) or spiders crawling over the camera ...
Now I only have 1 or 2 false positives a day.
neat. Mind sharing how to set these up?
 

quest100

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
77
Reaction score
97
Location
CA
After I entered the new extended support license number it did not refresh the text to indicate that I had a free update to version 5 until after I checked for a newer version. Not a big deal, but it made did make me pause for a second.
 

quest100

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
77
Reaction score
97
Location
CA
Windows 10. To late to try rebooting - BI already says good for the new major upgrade. I expect that closing and reopening the setting window or even changing tabs would have updated the displayed status.
 

devastator

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
169
Reaction score
28
Location
Belgium
neat. Mind sharing how to set these up?
Well it's quite easy to be honest. I have a Hue hub, HomeAssistant and BlueIris.

Using this custom component you can trigger automations in Home Assistant when motion is detected. If that happend, my actions is to capture a snapshot with a simple http get.
I'll post the automation when I'm back home.
 
Top