Blue Iris - video blur issue

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by WannaTheater, Feb 7, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. WannaTheater

    WannaTheater Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Good idea- can PSS and Blue Iris run on the same server simultaneously without conflict?
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    28,360
    Likes Received:
    8,058
    they should.
     
  3. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    4,176
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    @bp2008,
    What am I missing, at your link, for PT, there doesn't seem to be an executable for the program. Yeah, I'm dense.
    Thank you.
     
  4. WannaTheater

    WannaTheater Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    I’m pretty sure this is a problem with Blue Iris hardware acceleration. Been running for a few days with no hw acceleration and no issues. Will turn it back on and let it run.

    Perhaps something broke during OS update.
     
  5. awsum140

    awsum140 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    710
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    @looney2ns I'm glad I have company!

    bp was kind enough to point me in the right direction. Once I tried it I thought it wasn't working, nothing on the graph. Then I realized there weren't any problems to be graphed. DUHHHH
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  6. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7,852
    Likes Received:
    4,568
    On Github you need to go to the Releases tab to find releases. If you've downloaded the source code there won't be an exe!

    Hehe, yup, a graph that is just a line of 0ms ping responses isn't very eye-catching, but you should see one pixel of green for each 0ms response.
     
    awsum140 likes this.
  7. awsum140

    awsum140 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    710
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    The green line is what gave it away :highfive:
     
  8. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    4,176
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Doh, Thanks Brian.
     
    awsum140 likes this.
  9. awsum140

    awsum140 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    710
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    :offtopic:

    I have three inexpensive cameras. Two are SV3C, 2mp, and one is a no-name, 4mp. All three lose signal on a sporadic basis, I see "signal restored" messages for all three sporadically in the BI log. All three are on cables terminated by me. After using Brian's PingTracer on all three for a day at a time I've come to the conclusion that it is a hardware problem with those three POS cameras. Thanks for a great tool, Brian.

    I need a bigger "toy" budget!