Blue Iris - video blur issue

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by WannaTheater, Feb 7, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. WannaTheater

    WannaTheater Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Florida
    Good idea- can PSS and Blue Iris run on the same server simultaneously without conflict?
     
  2. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,003
    Likes Received:
    9,948
    they should.
     
  3. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,514
    Likes Received:
    5,904
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    @bp2008,
    What am I missing, at your link, for PT, there doesn't seem to be an executable for the program. Yeah, I'm dense.
    Thank you.
     
  4. WannaTheater

    WannaTheater Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Florida
    I’m pretty sure this is a problem with Blue Iris hardware acceleration. Been running for a few days with no hw acceleration and no issues. Will turn it back on and let it run.

    Perhaps something broke during OS update.
     
  5. awsum140

    awsum140 Known around here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    @looney2ns I'm glad I have company!

    bp was kind enough to point me in the right direction. Once I tried it I thought it wasn't working, nothing on the graph. Then I realized there weren't any problems to be graphed. DUHHHH
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  6. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,885
    Likes Received:
    6,016
    On Github you need to go to the Releases tab to find releases. If you've downloaded the source code there won't be an exe!

    Hehe, yup, a graph that is just a line of 0ms ping responses isn't very eye-catching, but you should see one pixel of green for each 0ms response.
     
    awsum140 likes this.
  7. awsum140

    awsum140 Known around here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    The green line is what gave it away :highfive:
     
  8. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,514
    Likes Received:
    5,904
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Doh, Thanks Brian.
     
    awsum140 likes this.
  9. awsum140

    awsum140 Known around here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,120
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    :offtopic:

    I have three inexpensive cameras. Two are SV3C, 2mp, and one is a no-name, 4mp. All three lose signal on a sporadic basis, I see "signal restored" messages for all three sporadically in the BI log. All three are on cables terminated by me. After using Brian's PingTracer on all three for a day at a time I've come to the conclusion that it is a hardware problem with those three POS cameras. Thanks for a great tool, Brian.

    I need a bigger "toy" budget!
     
  10. WannaTheater

    WannaTheater Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Florida
    After performing tests for several days, I can comfortably say this is an issue with the hardware accelerated decode setting in Blue Iris.

    Hardware accelerated decode (restart): Intel.... Blurring/Trailing/Predator effect is present.
    Hardware accelerated decode (restart): No.... Issue goes away.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2019
  11. WannaTheater

    WannaTheater Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Florida
    Rolling back the video driver did not help.
     
  12. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,003
    Likes Received:
    9,948
    see the wiki for the correct driver for your generation
     
  13. WannaTheater

    WannaTheater Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks Fenderman!!! That did the trick. I rolled the video driver way back to version 21.20.16.4664.
    All seems to be working again- no trailing predator effect.
     
    fenderman and Mike like this.
  14. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,483
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    Location:
    New York
    So rolling back your Intel driver resolved this issue? What chip do have?
     
  15. WannaTheater

    WannaTheater Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Florida
    Computer: ASRock H270M-ITX/ac
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
    Processor: Intel® Core™ i7-7700K CPU @ 4.20GHz
    Chipset: Intel® 200 Series Chipset Family
    Graphics: Intel® HD Graphics 630
    Audio: Realtek High Definition Audio
    Storage: Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB, WDC WD40PURZ-85TTDY0

    Had issues with:
    Intel HD Graphics 630
    • Driver Version: 25.20.100.6373 and
    • Driver Version: : 25.20.100.6323
    Installed the following driver version from the Blue Iris FAQ:
    6th Generation (Skylake) / 7th Generation (Kaby Lake)
    Driver Version 15.45.18.4664 is known to be good: <15.45.18.4664: Intel® Graphics Driver>

    This removed the following:
    • Intel HD Graphics 630 (25.50.100.6323)
    • Intel Display Audio (10.26.0.1)
    And installed:
    • Intel HD Graphics 630 (21.20.16.4664)
    • Intel Display Audio (10.22.1.97)
    Windows 10 auto update must have updated my original build drivers recently, which looks like it is the cause of the issue.

    The Intel Driver and Support page indicates that "Intel will be supplying Windows DCH Drivers for its products beginning in November. These drivers will be used for
    Windows® 10 and Windows* Server 2019 and will replace the existing drivers."

    Not sure if it has anything to do with the issue, but perhaps this is related? (pure speculation)
     
  16. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,003
    Likes Received:
    9,948
    Great! Dont forget to follow the directions to prevent windows from updating the driver.
     
  17. iseeker

    iseeker Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2018
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Where in the wiki? Control+F for "driver" doesn't give many hits and none that seem relevant.

    I have Intel UHD Graphics 630, running the latest driver - 26.20.100.6912 and I have terrible problems (every motion alert clip) with jutter on the object in motion. See these videos: video 1, video 2. Happens in both the IPC-HDW2231R-ZS and the IPC-HDW5231R-ZE. I'm using BI5 on a Elitedesk 800 G4, i5-8500; only the 2 cameras running so far.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2019
  18. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,003
    Likes Received:
    9,948
    memory leak quicksync. Your issue is likely not driver related. You need to match the iframe interval and fps as well as disable any smart codec.
     
    Jaxon likes this.
  19. iseeker

    iseeker Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2018
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Tried matching iframe to fps. Smart Codec was already disabled. Receive Buffer set to 20MB per other posts. No change in video.

    Trying H.264 instead of H.264H. BTW - running also on Surveillance Station on Synology DS718+ with no issues in the feed/recordings. Though the SS is hardwired to the router and my BI PC is wifi for now (working to move next to router; need monitor there or figure out remote viewing from another computer).
     
  20. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    31,003
    Likes Received:
    9,948
    wifi is likely the cause of this and should have been mentioned first. You are feeding multiple cameras over wifi to the machine..packets will drop.