BlueIris on your TV!

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by Matthew Hudnall, Jan 30, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. Matthew Hudnall

    Matthew Hudnall n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    20
    Alright, BlueIris is the greatest security cam software that I have ever used, BUT there has been a big hole in their ecosystem for a while: the big screen! Some users have used the app TinyCam, HDMI cables from tablets, or other mechanisms, but I love my BI app and I wanted to use it on my FireTV. Turns out, it's not that hard to do! Basically you download the Android platform toolsand upload the BlueIris APK to your FireTV. If you have an Android device then it is even easier. I am a iPhone guy though so I posted a video that steps you though sideloading the BI APK onto a FireTV from Windows:



    It works great so far! Please make sure you buy the app on your iPhone or Android device to appropriately support BlueIris!
     
    SAVideoman, Dc4, bob2701 and 10 others like this.
  2. handinpalm

    handinpalm Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    149
    Location:
    Tampa Bay FL
    What type of latency in seconds do you see with this setup? My be worth it if you don't have a smart TV, but if you have smart TV (browser available), UI2/UI3 is the way to go.
     
  3. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Florida
    Thanks for sharing this! Does it only work with a fire tv or can you do it with other smart Tv's like Roku or Samsung?

    I currently use my Tv's web browser bookmarked and pointing to UI3. That Tv's IP address doesn't require a login to connect to BI so it goes straight in. I
     
    DLONG2 likes this.
  4. Matthew Hudnall

    Matthew Hudnall n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    20
    This method will only work for devices that run Android and allow for sideloaded unsecured apps. Rokus run a flavor of Linux which isn't compatible with Android. Depending on the Samsung TV, it may or may not be running Android. Some older Samsung TVs run Android, so they may work (see this article to try). Samsung though now (for the past 3 years) runs Tizen as the OS, which likely will not work with the BI app. From what I have found, Sony, Sharp, and Philips are the main ones that run Android directly. LG, Samsung, Panasonic, and Vizio all run different non-Android OS. Here is a decent article about them all. The cheapo Android TV sticks/boxes that are on Amazon and eBay should work with BI as well, but honestly you are better off with a $39 FireTV stick.
     
    Eastwood and Dasstrum like this.
  5. Tuckerdude

    Tuckerdude Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    Hey Matthew,

    Thanks for posting this! It's good to know there are options like this...as of right now, I'm doing what Dasstrum is doing, simply pointing my TV's browser to UI3 and it comes right up (no password required). I get decent framerate and nice picture quality.
     
  6. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,065
    Likes Received:
    4,902
    The official android app will certainly be more efficient than UI3. You've got to have a pretty fast device to handle H.264 in UI3 without issues, and my smart tv is anything but fast.
     
  7. Tuckerdude

    Tuckerdude Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    Hey bp....

    Yes, but on a FAST TV it works like a charm! Just wanted you to know :wave:

    It's now the home-page on all the TV's in my house and makes it easy to keep my eyes on what's happening around the property
     
  8. Matthew Hudnall

    Matthew Hudnall n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    20
    I am loving UI3 as well. I just found the URL parameters (like ui3.htm?maximize=1) and that really helps out. One of the best use cases though for the Android app over UI3 though is when you are not at home. Since the app resolves the external IP using the BI server, you don't have to have your own dynamic DNS setup. I use that at my office or when I am traveling on my FireTV.
     
  9. tec508

    tec508 n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    14
    Now if only we could get something working on the Roku. All my TVs have 1 which is used for SlingTV and Plex. I ditched cable long ago. I can't justify putting a FireTV on all of them to gain BI viewing.
     
  10. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Florida
  11. Tuckerdude

    Tuckerdude Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Seattle Area
    Hey Dasstrum...nice video and fun to see your setup. I've got UI3 on all my TV's now and love having the ability to view the cameras in all the major rooms in the house. Question....given that you can see both the rapsberry pi and the TV running at the same time, do you notice any latency on the TV's?
     
  12. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Florida
    There is absolutely no difference in latency (which is basically nothing) between the two
     
  13. giomania

    giomania IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    431
    Thanks for this tip, Matthew! Since you specifically mention a FireTV stick, I assume they have a sufficient processor to work with the side loaded app? I have one on the Master bedroom TV, and would like to be able to check cameras there.

    I also recently acquired an Nvidia Shield that will be on a different TV, and would think this would work no problem on that device?

    Thanks again!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  14. giomania

    giomania IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    431
    For older smart tv’s, Do we just try and see if UI3 works OK, or do you know what the minimum requirements would be?

    My newest TV is about 3-4 years old.

    Thanks.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  15. Camit

    Camit Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    120
    If you have a android phone and are installing a APK file just use a app called apps2fire , this will only work for firetv and android but it’s easier then the method posted above.
     
    giomania likes this.
  16. Camit

    Camit Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    120
    Also if your using a Logitech harmony with your firetv you can setup a button on the remote to start BI.
     
  17. Camit

    Camit Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    120
    How did you set this on your PI ??
     
    batch likes this.
  18. Dasstrum

    Dasstrum IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2016
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Florida
    Edit the "autostart" file:
    /home/pi/.config//lxsession/LXDE-pi

    Add the following lines:

    @screensaver -no-splash
    @point-rpi
    @chromium-browser --kiosk --disable-session-crash-bubble http://XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:81/ui2.htm

    <<<Replace xxx with your local BI server IP address>>>

    Make sure you have ui2/3 installed correctly
     
    Jrock, MacFun, rebelbah and 1 other person like this.
  19. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,065
    Likes Received:
    4,902
    There are no formal minimum requirements. Pretty much any semi-modern browser will run UI3 as long as the machine it is running on has enough memory to not crash. Even on really slow devices you can just switch the UI into jpeg mode and performance will scale to match the hardware it is on.
     
    Jrock, fenderman and giomania like this.
  20. woolfman72

    woolfman72 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    49
    hmm i wonder if i can get any of this to work on my Nvidia shield pro.