Cam for drive way monitoring

Araphen

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm very new to security cameras but my plan is to have a camera looking out my front window so I can watch for delivery trucks and catch anyone messing with my car. I'd like 1-7 days of video to be recorded to a PC running windows 10 and has 5TBs of storage free. I'm also able to run power and ethernet to where I want the camera without a problem. The main thing I'm trying to avoid is subscription based services and I've already looked at at least 15 different brands, each eventually revealing that you have to pay a monthly fee to use base features. So I gave up trying to find what I want on my own and came here for help.

I would very much like an option with an android app for remote monitoring and management but I can just remote into my plex server if that's not something I'd be able to get. I'd also like the fancy features like motion detection, zones, sensitivity, etc. to cut down on what's recorded but if those also aren't things I can get for free then I think I could manage with 24/7 recording.

I also have no idea where to start when it comes to software and I'd be willing to purchase a license if that's required to get the those nice features (but no subscription based licenses). I'd say my overall budget for this is around $200 for the camera and software.

Any and all help/suggestions are appreciated

SyconsciousAu

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
my plan is to have a camera looking out my front window
That will prevent you using the onboard IR. Is your light sufficient ouside for the camera to work without IR?

For a $200 budget I'd get a 5442 turret, a POE injector, and a high endurance SD Card. Use the Free DMSS app from dahua to remote in.

Araphen

n3wb
Reaction score
That will prevent you using the onboard IR. Is your light sufficient ouside for the camera to work without IR?