Camera selection advise

jarrow

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm new to the world of IP cams and wanting to start with just two camera's to cover the biggest part of the house and upgrade later.
I want to place Dahua turret/eyeball cams on two small detached buildings: the garage and the shed.
One problem I have: it's not really possible to lay networkcables without ripping the pavement up, so I want to try it with Powerline adapters and POE injectors. It's all behind one breaker and the distances are fairly short, up to 15m (~50ft).
I'm on a tight budget, so if possible would want to spend under €500,- for the main stuff (NVR, camera's, powerline adapters, HDD, SD cards).

This is a map of the buildings using IPVM:
1641559510483.png
  • The garage is lower left, shed lower right and the main house is in the middle.
  • The 'walls' at the right and lower side are fences.
  • The green camera will be under a carport and looking at the car, main entrance and entrance to the garden.
  • The blue camera will be under the slanted up roof of the small shed. For this cam the wider angle is important, as it will cover the right side of the house and the entrance to the garage. The shed isn't really of interest here.
  • Both are about 2.3m from the ground.

I have a few questions about the NVR, which I want to place in the main house:
  1. If I'd go with the powerline method, I won't need an NVR with POE. Do I then stick the networkcable from the main powerline adapter in the NVR?
    1. If so, how does the NVR get it's connection to the main network?
    2. If not, will my standard router be able to handle all the queries from the camera's to the NVR?
  2. What NVR from Dahua would be recommended in this situation? I reckon 4 or 8 channels without POE and one HDD, keeping budget in mind?
    1. Are the white 'light' versions any good? These: NVR2104/2108-4KS2
And about the camera's: