Camera that can see license plates in the night

ibexes

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

So I'm a complete noob to CCTV. I recently bought a Swann 8 Channel Security System: 5MP Super HD NVR-8580 channel system and upon testing it in the dark, I noticed that a pointing it to a car about 15m away would result in a white area over the license plate. Quickly looking into this, I came across Number Plate recognition unable to see due to IR reflection | Swann Support Community.

The system only needs to be able to at least see the license plates. I'm not sure what the requirements are to overcome this and where I'd be able to find a camera for this use case (that sells to the UK). Going through some of the posts within this forum suggests cameras (I am very New to LPR Camera and Cameras in general) but I run the fear of buying the wrong one (given that they are expensive and may be shipped from the US).

Edit (28/12/2018): just so you know I haven't forgotten about ya'll, I just haven't gotten around to installing them outdoors for purpose yet. Will post back/update this in an edit for anyone that may be interested in future.

Last edited:

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Hello,

So I'm a complete noob to CCTV. I recently bought a Swann 8 Channel Security System: 5MP Super HD NVR-8580 channel system and upon testing it in the dark, I noticed that a pointing it to a car about 15m away would result in a white area over the license plate. Quickly looking into this, I came across Number Plate recognition unable to see due to IR reflection | Swann Support Community.