Considering Dahua over Hikvision for home system

bluestreak

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi.

I'm in the midst of building a new house and will be installing an IP security camera system in it. At first I figured I'd be using Hikvision. They've got a good reputation for quality/value and they're popular (lots of installers use them; even my workplace has Hikvision cameras installed) so it should be easier to find help if I need it. I'm an IP cam newbie and while I don't have any experience using Hikvision cams, I do (sorta) have experience with Dahua. Half a year ago I bought an indoor PTZ IP cam (its installed at my parents' house) from Amcrest, which turns out is rebranded Dahua. It seems to be such a superficial rebranding that I can even use the Dahua SmartPSS app with my Amcrest camera! So now I have basic knowledge configuring and using Amcrest and presumably Dahua cameras but that's not all that's making me consider Dahua.

As I did more research into Hikvision to pick out the models to eventually use in my home, I noticed a couple of things I didn't like about Hikvision: 1) No support for 1280x960... I'm thinking it would be a good inbetween resolution between 720 and 1080p. Plus, 16:9 aspect ratio video looks stretched to my eyes - 4:3 video just looks better to me. And 2) Hikvision encodes audio using ancient MPEG 1 Layer 2 (not even sure about the container format) while Dahua uses the modern AAC codec. I've done a tonne of transcoding of the videos from my Amcrest cameras for archival. My workflow consists of free video tools avidemux for video lossless joining & clipping and vidcoder for transcoding. There's an option in vidcoder to passthru the audio track without reencoding, so in the end I'm left with H264 video and (the original) AAC audio in an MP4 file, all the bits that make up the standard for video files these days.