Dahua 2MP 25x Starlight IR PTZ Network Camera (SD49225T-HN)

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by ldasilva, Jan 5, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. Tiger_one

    Tiger_one n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, soldered white and black to RCA connector.
     
  2. BigLarge

    BigLarge Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sorry, i've read many of the pages here but did not see a few answers to my questions:

    Does this cam support IVS?
    From my theoretical mounting spot, car license plates would be at 225 feet. Would this cam, set with IVS or other alarm, be able to accurately zoom in and grab plates day/night at this distance with no ambient lighting? Vehicles would be stopped at a stop sign (or so they should be doing, lol)
     
  3. Tiger_one

    Tiger_one n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    225 feet is a stretch, but it might be able to, I would bet in daylight for sure. The zoom and auto focus is pretty fast.
     
  4. CamCrazy

    CamCrazy Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    14
    Daytime will be fine at that distance, I can read them at 300+ feet, night with only built in IR and ambient will be a struggle. If I get chance later I will run some night tests at 225+ feet and let you know the outcome.
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2017
  5. Tiger_one

    Tiger_one n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Got the audio working on one camera, using the little black mic.
    I'm using Amcrest NVR and it changes the IP address to 10.1.1.xx, to access via the WEB Dahua interface I have to change the IP address to local segment 192.168.1.xx and move the Ethernet connection from NVR to PoE injector then router. I am unable to view the camera via WEB interface (windows 10 plugin does not work???) but I can change the settings. Support suggested Audio encode G.711A and 16k. Mine was set to G.711A but 8k, after the change to 16k sampling audio now works with the black mic, but not with the little silver can.

    Second camera still does not do audio, so I am looking for firmware upgrade.
     
  6. CamCrazy

    CamCrazy Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    14
    In the dark my 49225 can read plates at 225 feet, even more so if they are stationery, having HLC on helps, my testing was in complete darkness with no ambient as well so if you have some additional ambient lights then should be in even better shape. If the vehicles are stopped you can run a very slow shutter speed which will help a lot, with some ambient you may be able to increase the shutter speed slightly. It might be an idea to use the timed profile so you can have HLC on at night but not during the day, the IR on this camera is pretty powerful and will easily light up a reflective plate or road sign at 300-400 feet. You might be able to get away with auto settings for day and night but that would depend on reflections once dark, this might require HLC as mentioned above. Hopefully that helps.
     
  7. BigLarge

    BigLarge Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    This helps a lot. Thanks you for taking the time to do/type this. For me, that alone makes it worth purchasing this camera. Its on my list of things to get, after I get my 5321s installed.
     
  8. Tiger_one

    Tiger_one n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Support had me reset the camera, now cannot access. What is the default password after reset (button on back of camera)?
    Thanks for help.
     
  9. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,854
    Likes Received:
    864
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
  10. Tiger_one

    Tiger_one n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    That is what I thought, must be something else wrong. Thanks
     
  11. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    1,854
    Likes Received:
    864
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Be sure you held the reset button long enough. Some report needing to hold it up to two minutes.
     
  12. jrhoops

    jrhoops Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    3
    are you supposed to hold this button after it has booted or hold the button then apply power and wait for it to restart?
     
  13. Tiger_one

    Tiger_one n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    I held it while live, it jumped out of my grasp, I held the reset button again, for about 45 seconds. I'm back live with defaults. Now working on formatting 128gb SD card that it never found before.
    Thanks

    update: Got the audio working, but still some pops and static but not as bad. I reduced the mic volume to 62% down from default of 100%. I'm using G.711A and sampling at 16k.

    Had to remove SD and format on my laptop, then camera found it and I hit INIT, after the camera formatted the SD it is now using for recordings.
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2017
    looney2ns likes this.
  14. CamCrazy

    CamCrazy Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    14
    Happy to help, sure you will be pleased with the 49225, it is a very capable camera especially at the current price. The biggest downside after getting one is you might find yourself reaching for the PTZ control when viewing the 5231's :D
     
  15. CamCrazy

    CamCrazy Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    14
    Not had much luck getting Dahua to acknowledge the problems I've had since firmware update, they seem relatively keen to deal with other requests but almost ignoring anything linked to the 49225, I hope this means they are either thinking about it or busy working on a resolution, currently I have to run a 'Lens init' at least every 24 hours and the flickering persists regardless. Radio silence does not inspire me to purchase anymore Dahua PTZ's and to some degree anymore Dahua kit full stop, hopefully they will come back to me with some good news soon.
     
  16. lasakro

    lasakro n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    I have a 49225 due here tomorrow. What is the date of the recommended and reliable firmware I should be looking for?
     
  17. CamCrazy

    CamCrazy Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    14
    Mine came with 2.422.0000.0.R.4.2510 and for the most part that seemed pretty solid, others have reported the latest firmware in NTSC format seems OK but my experience with both NTSC and PAL has been anything but. Stick with what version is on it out the box unless there is a very good reason to do otherwise would be my advice.
     
    BillG likes this.
  18. wxman

    wxman Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Southern United States
    Who did you purchase from? Sorry if you've already said and I've forgotten...Unless it's an authorized dealer for your region, I have my doubts that the company will try to help...Usually you have to deal with the seller that you purchased from.

    I was having a chat with another guy a few days ago and mentioned your issue. Apparently, as I suspected, the new firmware that you're on does have a signature inspection, thus it will not natively allow you to downgrade to the older firmware....However, you can downgrade by transferring some files via TFTP...You have to know "hardware id" values in order to make this work...Fortunately, I have a way of discovering these values on mine and they would be the same values for yours since they're based on model number, rather than serial number....So if you're interested in downgrading, I would be glad to provide him with the needed info from my camera and he and I could help talk you through the TFTP downgrade process...If you think it's worth the time and effort, just let me know and I'll be happy to help.
     
    Crazykiller and CamCrazy like this.
  19. Dave Lonsdale

    Dave Lonsdale Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2015
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Congleton Edge, UK
    My SD29204T-GN with updated PAL FW doesn't save unique preset names either - posted a query in August but no replies.
     
  20. CamCrazy

    CamCrazy Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    14
    This unit came from Andy mainly due to it not being available locally, did drop him an email but hadn't heard back, I know he is very busy and I feel that Dahua should take responsibility for this anyway, they all come out the same factory to my mind but this is just an outsider looking in :idk:

    I will give it some time and see if any new firmware appears but if nothing happens then I will most likely take up your generous offer and see what can be done with TFTP :)
     
  21. wxman

    wxman Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Southern United States
    They should, but unfortunately they don't see it that way. They're on a regional business model in which if you want their support and 5 year warranty, you have to pay extra and buy from someone authorized in your region...If you buy cheaper from Andy, you only get his personal 1 year warranty and support. Hikvision is the same way. Buy cheaper from China and they refuse to help you.
     
  22. CamCrazy

    CamCrazy Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    14
    It does seem that way, I guess in this instance it probably wouldn't matter either way when the firmware is problematic. Mixed feelings about Dahua at the moment, might dip my toe in some Hikvision kit from local authorised supplier and see how that compares.
     
  23. weigle2

    weigle2 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Somewhere in the space/time continuum
    On the EmpireTech store on AliExpress, it's stated they give a 2 year warranty. Maybe that's only if you buy through the store.
     
  24. wxman

    wxman Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Southern United States
    I would take Hikvision in a heartbeat if they offered a PTZ with starvis sensor and for a reasonable price. Last I checked, they didn't offer it...I've been considering the Yunch starvis PTZ. There's a certain few on the board that freak out when mentioning it, but what I've seen of it looks impressive and very few reports of failures on the speed dome versions...But I won't open that can of worms again...
     
  25. wxman

    wxman Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Southern United States
    Andy told me "1 year" through a private message a few days ago...So who knows what you actually get....Buying chinese cameras is like a box of chocolates...Never know what you're gonna get! lol
     
  26. CamCrazy

    CamCrazy Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    14
    :D
     
  27. CamCrazy

    CamCrazy Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    14
    Agreed, maybe that option will come in due course. I guess in many respects we are spoilt for choice in real terms. Shall take a look at the Yunch when I get some time later.
     
  28. wxman

    wxman Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Southern United States
    Yunch 20x PTZ With Starlight Module.

    Worth considering all sides of the argument there...Though me personally, I wish I would have gone with the Yunch instead of Dahua.
     
  29. Parley

    Parley Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Cypress, California
    I was hoping that Huisun would come out with a Starlight Module in their PTZ camera. I have had good luck with the 4 I have and would love to have one with the latest Sony starlight module in it.
     
  30. wxman

    wxman Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Southern United States
    That Jack dude has the Yunch (Huisun) ptz with starlight 20x module for 3-hundred and something bucks and the 30x version for 500 and some change (price varies if you need POE or not). If you message Jack on Aliexpress, he can give you the link...It's not officially listed on Ali as having the new starlight module, but per ljw2k's experience and analysis of the firmware, it includes the IMX291 sensor and HI3516D chipset...Would just need to make sure you're on the right listing because they still sell the older module version for a bit cheaper and the listing says the same thing.....and if you order, I would make sure you document somewhere in the checkout that you're ordering the IMX291 starlight module so that you'll have evidence of what you agreed to buy in the unlikely event you are sent the older module....
     
Tags: