Footage jumping and missing several seconds on HikVision cams

Nelle

n3wb
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
uk
Hi
Can anyone help. I have Hikvision 8 channel NVR with 4TB surveillance grade Hard drive - optimised for 24/7 writing. 4 x 4MP ext turret cameras with motorised lens connected via 4 port Hik switch and another 3 x 4MP fixed lens dark fighters connected through another 4 port hik switch. All cameras are continuous recording.
The footage on every camera is jumping and loosing seconds of footage, especially when movement is detected, which is defeating the whole reason for having them.
Can anyone give me advice please ?
Thanks
Nelle
 

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
3,607
Reaction score
2,513
Location
Houston Tx
What is the model of the NVR ?
What is your total inbound data rate ?
What is the max allowable data rate on the NVR ?
How are the switches connected to the NVR ?
What else is on the network that the Video is traveling ?
Does the skipping occur on live display and on playback ?
What are the make and model number of the cameras ?
A few screen shots of the camera configuration from the camera (h.26x, fps, iframe, bit rate, bit rate type....)
 

Nelle

n3wb
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
uk
Hi
I'll try and answer as best I can. All the equipment is Hikvision;

The NVR is DS-7608NI-K28P
4 cameras are DS-2CD2H45FWD-IZS
2 cameras are DS-2CD2345FWD-I

Both 4 port switches are wired into a ubiquity nano beam bridge, which is then wired into the NVR. All the cameras are wired back to the switches. I have changed all the fps to 20 fps on all cameras.
Nothing else is on the network and the skipping occurs during both live play and playback. I also get a blank screen with ''UNSUPPORTED STREAM TYPE'' across it as well as the skipping.
I don't know where to look to see what the data rates are
Nelle
 

Attachments

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
3,607
Reaction score
2,513
Location
Houston Tx
The configuration and data rate look ok to me.
I can not find any info on the DS-7608NI-K28P recorder assuming it is like other DS-7608NI recorders . The inbound data rate should be 80Mbps.
The nano bridge should be able to support 450 mbps. What is the range you are using on the bridge, Verify that the bridge has a clear line of sight.
Each camera used between 4 and 8 mbps, depending on compression, motion.
Are you using substream ?
Have you verified the setting by logging into each camera directly ?

Test if it is the data rate, reduce the FPS to 10.

Maybe @alastairstevenson will have some better ideas
 

Old Timer

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
194
Reaction score
232
Location
oklahoma
What does the signal level and path quality look like on the link?
You may need to re aim the antennas, or change frequencies to get a good path again.
As already mentioned drop FPS and see if it corrects it's self.
If so, look around and see what's the hold up.
 

Nelle

n3wb
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
uk
Thanks Guys, I'll try what you've both suggested and let you know how I get on
Nelle
 

Nelle

n3wb
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
uk
The configuration and data rate look ok to me.
I can not find any info on the DS-7608NI-K28P recorder assuming it is like other DS-7608NI recorders . The inbound data rate should be 80Mbps.
The nano bridge should be able to support 450 mbps. What is the range you are using on the bridge, Verify that the bridge has a clear line of sight.
Each camera used between 4 and 8 mbps, depending on compression, motion.
Are you using substream ?
Have you verified the setting by logging into each camera directly ?

Test if it is the data rate, reduce the FPS to 10.

Maybe @alastairstevenson will have some better ideas

Just a quick question. Should all the video streams be set to sub stream ?
Thanks
Nelle
 

Nelle

n3wb
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
uk
I've lowered the fps on all the cameras to 10 and changed the video stream to sub stream, again on all cameras. Still getting jumping on live view but no longer on playback, but picture quality is now pretty blurry.
On live view now getting jumping of around 6 to 15 seconds and it's frequent, plays OK for a few seconds then freezes and jumps forward.
The nanobeam has a clear line of sight and they're spaced about 15m apart

Nelle
 

Nelle

n3wb
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
uk
I've just noticed something very odd. When I've got multiscreens up on my NVR monitor then the jumping seems to be minimal. but if I go into single screen mode the jumping is back.

So when I have single screen jumping is really bad.
When I have 1 + 5 the larger 1 is jumping but not the smaller 5,
same in 1 + 7, 1 jumping, 7 OK
When I have 3 * 3 all screens seems OK

The jumping seems to be related to the picture size I have up on the monitor. Any ideas ?
Nelle
 

Nelle

n3wb
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
uk
The thumbnails use the substream - the full size uses the mainstream.

Hi Alastair
Please forgive my ignorance I'm just managing to muddle my way through all this as I don't really fully understand what I'm doing.

If the full size uses the main stream and that's what's jumping. How do I correct it please ?
Nelle
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
13,130
Reaction score
4,487
Location
Scotland
If the full size uses the main stream and that's what's jumping. How do I correct it please ?
I'm speculating there is a weak link in the networking that's the underlying cause.
It would be better to find and fix that than compromise the video recordings by using the substream.

I'd suspect the "ubiquity nano beam bridge".
The way to confirm that is to temporarily hook up the NVR directly to the switch at the camera end of the radio link, to take the link out of the network path.
 

Nelle

n3wb
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
uk
OK I will give that a go and let you know if it fixes the problem.

If the nanobeam is to blame, is there anything I can do or do I need to find an alternative to get the signal across without wires ? (It beams across my track into the property)
The nano beam is rated 450Mbps over 15km and mine is set up to link over approx 15mtrs. It has direct line of sight and was configured by the Company I purchased all the equipment from, so sounds as if it ''should'' do the job.
Nelle
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
13,130
Reaction score
4,487
Location
Scotland
The nano beam is rated 450Mbps over 15km and mine is set up to link over approx 15mtrs. It has direct line of sight and was configured by the Company I purchased all the equipment from, so sounds as if it ''should'' do the job.
Yes, that should work OK.
There are also the cables that hook things together.
Often the empirical approach to problem-solving - change this and see what happens - is as good as testing and analysis.
 

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 15, 2018
Messages
3,607
Reaction score
2,513
Location
Houston Tx
for a short term test remove the nanolink from the equation. Just get a long Ethernet cable and connect the two sides together. if the jummping stops, then the nanolink is the problem. Always test do not guess.

maybe that the nano link transmitter receiver are to close together, 15 meters ?
 
Last edited:

Nelle

n3wb
Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
uk
Hi guys
It's been suggested to me that the problem is being caused by the NVR. I have a K series and I'm bing told that with the amount of 4mp cameras, the long lengths of cable and the wireless bridge, the K series struggles with the amount of data and an I series is better equiped to deal with it.
Anyone have any info on this please ?
Nelle
 

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
13,130
Reaction score
4,487
Location
Scotland
If its the NVR you can easily prove that by temporarily disconnecting several of the cameras and checking if the problem still exists.
Again the empirical approach as opposed to the analytical approach.

The length of cable won't be a feature, as long as the cables are not faulty.
 
Top