Hello from SE PA! Some cam/software questions

JimR1998

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm glad I found this forum. Lots of great info here. I spent a few hours reading-- still a total newbie-- but I can at least spell PoE! Here's a quick overview of what I'm looking to achieve.

1. break-in deterrent. Low crime area and no passerbys but something we still worry about.

2. if something goes bump in the night, I want to check if perimeter is secure. I've seen some setups with tripwire alerts, not sure if this is a function of the camera or software, but I like that feature. Motion detecting is nice too but I don't want dogs and birds giving false alarms.

3. keep an eye on the kids, getting off the bus, who's with them, etc.

4. SIMPLE and LOW EFFORT. If spending a little more gets me closer to those goals then I'll do it. Luckily I have easy PoE access to the cam locations. I'm somewhat techy and can handle the networking, security, etc.

My house is a big rectangle and I was thinking to start with 4 cams:
- approach to back door
- approach to front door
- driveway entrance
- on outbuilding, looking AT house from about 75 ft away

The door situation is pretty simple but for the other two...

Both the driveway and the outbuilding cameras would be looking AT the house, from about 50-80 feet away. They should have enough detail to see kids playing in the yard (daytime) and verify that the windows/doors are intact. Not too concerned about trying to face recognize some unknown criminal. That's the cops job if it ever happens.

I might have to mount the driveway cam on a post light, so preferably not something too conspicuous or too expensive, just in case something happens to it. The cam on the outbuilding is in a more private location. Suggestions?

Two other questions: