Hikvision 2432 as a Nursery/Baby Cam

Reaction score
I'm a complete noob to the security camera world, but I like the Hikvision 2432 based on all the positive reviews. However, I have a couple questions before buying. Below is a photo of my work-in-process nursery from outside of the door. The room is approximately 11' wide x 13' long. I assume I'm going to mount on the far wall. Based on this, where exactly should I mount and then what lens am I looking for 2.8, 4 or 6mm? Thanks in advance for any help you can provide this noob!

Attachments

Del Boy

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
In the corner to the left of the tree.

2.8mm will mean you'll be able to see the entire room. 4mm will cover half the room. If you just want to focus on the crib then get 6mm. Most people would get 2.8mm because you're getting 3MP resolution and you don't need the detail from a 6mm lens here.

Reaction score
In the corner to the left of the tree.

2.8mm will mean you'll be able to see the entire room. 4mm will cover half the room. If you just want to focus on the crib then get 6mm. Most people would get 2.8mm because you're getting 3MP resolution and you don't need the detail from a 6mm lens here.
Thanks Del Boy. That is where I was planning to place the cam, but then I started worrying about baby staring into IR. My other thought was to mount it on left side of room. It would be ~14' away from baby from an angle vs. 8' straight on.

I like the idea of seeing the whole room, but will I be able to see baby breathe with a 2.8mm from 8 or 14' away?

flashrdu

n3wb
Reaction score
I have another brand IP camera that I use as a baby monitor. I believe the lens is 4.2mm and it has IR and my baby doesn't pay much attention too it. With that lens I need to have it pretty much right over the crib so I can view whats going on.