how to make good cat6 cables all the time

Discussion in 'Camera Installation Questions' started by PointLookout247, Apr 9, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. GFM

    GFM Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Center of Canada
    Nice videos!

    I have found lately that some of the cheap patch cables have the T568A configuration for some reason. Might be an e-bay thing... They work fine as long as both ends are the same I suppose. Do they work if you have 568A on one end and 568B on the other?

    Check the wire gauge of the conductors if looking at cat6. Someone pointed out to me that cat6 should be 23guage, cat5 would be 24 gauge. I often see cables being sold as cat6 and specs show a gauge of 24. I did purchase a box of cable a while back that said cat6 and 24guage, I thought I got ripped off, but checked the writing on the jacket and it says 23ga. Also noted the cat5 connectors wouldn't fit on the cable, and it did have that separator, so I guess I was lucky. Caveat emptor I suppose.

    I use mostly cat6 stp cable for the cameras, little trickier to do the connectors but not a big deal. Reason for using the shielded cable is that I have high power RF transmitters nearby that could induce currents in the ethernet cabling that could fry sensitive components. Also it helps keep RF noise from being emitted by the cabling, routers, network devices, etc. Most of you shouldn't require stp cable but if you are close to a transmitter (AM, FM, television, ham radio, or cell tower) you might consider it. It's more costly too.
     
  2. mat200

    mat200 IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4,454
    Likes Received:
    2,372
    Q: Do they work if you have 568A on one end and 568B on the other?
    A: One on cable? NO.
     
    looney2ns and GFM like this.
  3. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,692
    Likes Received:
    3,421
    Location:
    Alabama
    That would be a 'cross-over' cable and if both Ethernet ports that the cable connects are auto MDI-X, then technically yes, but it's a better (and more common) practice to use the same spec on both ends, with T-568B being the most widely used in the U.S. of A.

    Auto MDI-X has been in wide use on PC's, routers, switches and IP cameras for some time but I would never use that as a reason to NOT always use a straight-thru cable (B on both ends or A on both ends) to connect network components together.
     
    tangent and Tengu like this.
  4. GFM

    GFM Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Center of Canada
    Ah yes... Auto MDI-X. But straight thru cable is certainly the way to do in almost all cases. Quite sure "B" is the standard up here too.
     
    Tengu likes this.
  5. awsum140

    awsum140 Known around here

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1,117
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    I started terminating ethernet cable back in the coax days, so I've done a "few" RJ45s since I was there when UTP for ethernet came along. My favorite tool for trimming is a pair of flush cutters. They leave the wires with a nice, square, cut on the ends that helps insure full insertion plus they cut very cleanly, no little piece of insulation to jamb as inserted into the RJ. If you buy a pair that holds or grabs the cut offs, no mess of flying short pieces of wire, either. They work very well for cutting the "X" spreader on CAT6, too.

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000IBSFB...olid=3DJ96FH498CMH&psc=0&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it
     
    paphiopedilum, GFM and TonyR like this.
  6. GFM

    GFM Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Center of Canada
    Think I have the same tool in my network "stuff" toolbox. Wouldn't do an ethernet connection without it! :)
     
    awsum140 likes this.
  7. Midway

    Midway n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    USA
    I'll be starting an install for my house next week and am about to order bulk cable, tools etc. Do you have a link to the Monoprice 2-piece "suit"? The terminology on Monoprice isn't clear. What additional tools would I need for building my cables?

    Much appreciated.
     
  8. TonyR

    TonyR IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3,692
    Likes Received:
    3,421
    Location:
    Alabama
  9. Midway

    Midway n3wb

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    USA
  10. Parley

    Parley Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    460
    Location:
    Cypress, California
    I just helped a neighbor pull 9 Cat6 cables from Monoprice and we used the Klein pass through #6 RJ45 connectors and the Klein tool. No problems at all and no mistakes.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  11. Todd Schmidt

    Todd Schmidt Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    So if you use cat5e terminals with cat 6 wire will that cause problems or is it no big deal? I’ve been using cat5e terminals because I had a bunch laying around and didn’t feel like buying new Cat6 ones. Cables seem to be working fine.
     
  12. inforlonghaul

    inforlonghaul Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    11
    Nothing wrong with using Cat5e RJ45's on your Cat6, but only downside is Cat5e connectors are rated a Gigabit speeds and Cat6 is at 10 gbps. So you're in a sense potentially bottle-necking the maximum speeds your cables will handle. But then again, what are the odds you're running a 10gbps network? Not likely if you're in a home setting.

    I don't encourage using Cat5e connectors with Cat6 though, cause if you're going to go through the effort of using Cat6 cable, use Cat6 connectors too, but it's you'll be fine.
     
  13. Todd Schmidt

    Todd Schmidt Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    guess I’ll grab some Cat6 terminals then. Easy enough to swap them out.
     
  14. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,053
    Likes Received:
    5,355
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    I agree, I just recently started using Klein setup, and it's great, especially for old eyes.