IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

iOS app constantly not connecting

batlin27

n3wb
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Location
Texas
It is a constant problem with my iOS app (on my iPhone and my other iPhones and iPads)

About 75% of the time if I open Blue Iris App it brings up a dialog stating "Login failed: check user and password"
I know my user and password are correct as if I click "ok" 1 to 10 times, one of the times it will connect.

Does anyone else have this issue?
I have a registered copy of Blue Iris and this happens on both LAN and WAN

If I could find a way to post a picture, I will post a screen shot

Thank you!
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,155
Reaction score
10,124
It is a constant problem with my iOS app (on my iPhone and my other iPhones and iPads)

About 75% of the time if I open Blue Iris App it brings up a dialog stating "Login failed: check user and password"
I know my user and password are correct as if I click "ok" 1 to 10 times, one of the times it will connect.

Does anyone else have this issue?
I have a registered copy of Blue Iris and this happens on both LAN and WAN

If I could find a way to post a picture, I will post a screen shot

Thank you!
disable your firewall and test.
 

batlin27

n3wb
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Location
Texas
Wow! Thank you for the quick response. My Windows Firewall is disabled. I assume this is the one you are referring to as it happens behind my router on the LAN and outside on my WAN. To Connect to BluIris app behind my routers does it go outside my LAN?
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,155
Reaction score
10,124
Wow! Thank you for the quick response. My Windows Firewall is disabled. I assume this is the one you are referring to as it happens behind my router on the LAN and outside on my WAN. To Connect to BluIris app behind my routers does it go outside my LAN?
yes. Try deleting the user in blue iris and add it back.
 

batlin27

n3wb
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Location
Texas
I just deleted the account and re-added. That didn't help. I then created a new account with same privileges (administrator) and this didn't help at as well. I also tried my wives phone and the issue also persists on that. Sometimes it logs in first time, and sometimes it takes 10+ times. I have even tried rebooting iPhone, killing app, reinstalling. This has been an ongoing issue for the past month but I have my wife complaining about it more and more so I need to get this figured out. :(
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,155
Reaction score
10,124
I just deleted the account and re-added. That didn't help. I then created a new account with same privileges (administrator) and this didn't help at as well. I also tried my wives phone and the issue also persists on that. Sometimes it logs in first time, and sometimes it takes 10+ times. I have even tried rebooting iPhone, killing app, reinstalling. This has been an ongoing issue for the past month but I have my wife complaining about it more and more so I need to get this figured out. :(
What exact version of blue iris are you on?
I have not seen any other complaints about this issue.
Do you have the same issue if you try connecting via browser?
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,155
Reaction score
10,124
Also, if you are running Qos in your router or DDOS protection, try disabling it for testing.
 

batlin27

n3wb
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Location
Texas
no Qos or DDOS in my router. I have a Unifi USG router
Blue Iris version 4.8.4.1.x64
Windows 10 Pro
Is there anyway to pull logs from the iOS app or Blue Iris to see what is going on?
Thank you again for your help.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,155
Reaction score
10,124
no Qos or DDOS in my router. I have a Unifi USG router
Blue Iris version 4.8.4.1.x64
Windows 10 Pro
Is there anyway to pull logs from the iOS app or Blue Iris to see what is going on?
Thank you again for your help.
I don't know of a way to see the iOS logs, but you can check the server logs and see if there's anything there. Also I know you said you disabled your firewall but is there any chance you are using bitdefender? If so completely uninstall it.
 

batlin27

n3wb
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Location
Texas
Thank you again for helping with this issue... Checking logs and there is really nothing that happens when the login error happens.. nothing shows up in logs unless I get a successfully login.
I do not have bitdefender
iPhone App version 1.63

is there a way to turn on more verbose logging in Blue Iris Server, something that might show a failed login?
I do not get this issue in the browser on LAN
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,155
Reaction score
10,124
Thank you again for helping with this issue... Checking logs and there is really nothing that happens when the login error happens.. nothing shows up in logs unless I get a successfully login.
I do not have bitdefender
iPhone App version 1.63

is there a way to turn on more verbose logging in Blue Iris Server, something that might show a failed login?
I do not get this issue in the browser on LAN
You can try reinstalling the software (ensure you have a copy of the license key and deactivate first. also, backup your settings). Other than that I think you will have to email support.
 

Evisser4

n3wb
Joined
Mar 5, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
3
I have been having the exact same issue as the OP. Windows firewall disabled, router firewall disabled, no QOS. It has been around for several versions.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,155
Reaction score
10,124
I have been having the exact same issue as the OP. Windows firewall disabled, router firewall disabled, no QOS. It has been around for several versions.
It's an issue on your end..could be a million things
 

batlin27

n3wb
Joined
Aug 10, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Location
Texas
I have been having the exact same issue as the OP. Windows firewall disabled, router firewall disabled, no QOS. It has been around for several versions.
Evisser4,
Can you please contact support? I have been working with support since December on this issue and they still have not been able to diagnose (I have provided network traces, device trace (ios) etc). I have done the following; Replaced Windows box running BI, Reinstalled BI, tried different iPhones, iPads, different generation iPhones, change network infrastructure (router switches etc) and still get the issue.

Maybe if they see that someone else is having this issue it might help diagnose.
 

Evisser4

n3wb
Joined
Mar 5, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
3
I have noticed the times that the login fails, it shows in the log as a connection from 192.168.1.1, which is my routers ip address. The times it succeeds it has an actual ip address for my ios device. Example 192.168.1.103. Not sure what causes the app to route differently. I suspect this is related to my router. Are you using a mesh router system? I have the linksys velop and I don't recall this happening when I used to run a single ASUS router, but I could be wrong. I have contacted Blue Iris support as you suggested.
 
Last edited:

Evisser4

n3wb
Joined
Mar 5, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
3
What are your settings here on the webserver page? I checked the Log ALL connections, not just logins and increased the Limit Logins from 5 to 10 and it seems to have helped so far.


upload_2019-3-20_11-56-17.png
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2018
Messages
18
Reaction score
2
I’ve also had this issue pretty bad to where I had to click login 10-20 times before it would go through. Then around the time of BI5 upgrade I didn’t experience it again until maybe a month or 2 it started again. So idk if it was the updates or maybe I changed something but it has been on and off for me.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,155
Reaction score
10,124
I’ve also had this issue pretty bad to where I had to click login 10-20 times before it would go through. Then around the time of BI5 upgrade I didn’t experience it again until maybe a month or 2 it started again. So idk if it was the updates or maybe I changed something but it has been on and off for me.
This is usually an issue with your firewall, asus routers ddns protection can cause this.
 
Top