Just Sharing My Progress

Discussion in 'Chit-Chat' started by smithb, Nov 5, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,370
    Likes Received:
    5,697
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    No ports should be open, none needed.
    Did you load the config file into OPENVPN on your phone?
     
    smithb likes this.
  2. smithb

    smithb IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, I just got OpenVPN connected on my phone. However, when I attempt to connect to BI it says “Unable to make connection; check server address.”
     
  3. smithb

    smithb IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    I just figured it out. Had to change the WAN address to match the LAN address. I assume this is because the app thinks I'm connecting from outside the network?

    Now I just need to get OpenVPN to work on my laptop. So far, it times out when I try to connect. I'll reload the config file and try again. Thanks @looney2ns for shifting my focus to the phone... I needed a win.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  4. crw030

    crw030 Known around here

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    Colorado
    @smithb you should DEFINITELY be connecting to VPN from outside the network. Turn off wi-fi on your phone, and reconnect to VPN (that's how you need it to work anyway). Once you are connected via the cell providers network, and over your VPN tunnel you should be able to pull up the admin console on the RT-AC68U via the internal 192.168.x.x ip address just like you use when at home. You should also be able to see the phone connected as a client if you access the admin pages from inside your network.

    If the VPN isn't working you wouldn't be able to login to admin console from the phone unless you have the router misconfigured in a way that allows WAN access.
    Never set Administration : System : Enable Web Access from WAN : Yes
     
    TheDank likes this.
  5. smithb

    smithb IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    The phone is good to go. It’s the laptop that I'm having trouble with. It might be because I'm connecting from a corporate guest WIFI. I'm going to try to connect through my phone's hotspot and see if that does the trick.
     
  6. smithb

    smithb IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    Just confirmed that everything is now working fine on both my phone and laptop. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  7. smithb

    smithb IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    I just confirmed that the corporate WIFI that I was using was blocking access.
     
    bigredfish and looney2ns like this.
  8. FoxCR

    FoxCR Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    USA
  9. smithb

    smithb IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    And just like that, ladies and gentlemen, Phase 2 is complete! I installed a 3.6mm front door cam at 6 ft in corridor orientation. I was going to install it at 5 ft but I just happened to be checking things out at sunset the other day and noticed that it was in direct sunlight. Taking my time definitely paid off this time.

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    mat200, Ckb3, TonyR and 3 others like this.
  10. FoxCR

    FoxCR Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    USA
    yep, taking your time pays off. Why did you got with a 3.6mm ?
     
  11. smithb

    smithb IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    The main reason for going with the 3.6mm was that Andy didn't have a 2.8mm in stock. I waffled a bit but ultimately decided that the difference was minor. I think it worked out just fine.
     
  12. smithb

    smithb IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    If you’re asking why I wanted a wide angle lens, it’s because the subject will be within 6 feet of the camera. At this distance a 2.8mm or 3.6mm can both identify visitors and watch packages immediately in front of my door. I have other cameras covering the approach and getaway.
     
    FoxCR likes this.
  13. Mike

    Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Location:
    New York
    Nice progress so far, thanks for sharing pics. It's cool seeing how other people install, and yours looks clean!
     
    aristobrat and smithb like this.
  14. smithb

    smithb IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks! I’d be lost without the guidance I’ve been given from the good folks on this board. All told, you guys have probably saved me over $800 in crappy cameras and cables that I almost purchased and would have had to replace sooner rather than later.
     
    looney2ns and Mike like this.
  15. FoxCR

    FoxCR Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    USA
    well that is precisely why I was asking why you didn't got with the 2.8mm. But your answer makes sense. As long as you can see what you need to see its good.
     
  16. CCTVCam

    CCTVCam Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    194
    You can easily neaten up the cables with some plastic trunking that can be added after the fact eg:

    https://www.screwfix.com/p/mini-trunking-38mm-x-25mm-x-2m/95463


    Just cut it to length. Would avoid the adhesive alone though as often not very strong. I usually put a screw through the centre of the base every 12-18 inches. Won't abrade the cable as no movement, although nothing to stop you sticking a small piece of electrical tape, duct tape or similar over the screw head. I use it for non cctv applications but can't see why CCTV would be any different indoors as you don't need waterproofing or security in your application.
     
    mat200 and smithb like this.
  17. Mike46052

    Mike46052 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Looks Great!
    Im curious to see what a person at the front door looks like with that angle. Seems like there could be a pretty good blind spot but youll have good approach views from the garage.

    Also how did you go about installing at the front door location.
    You're in a two story house so im curious house this would work? Lots of drywall repair i assume?
     
  18. smithb

    smithb IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    I’ll post some pics tonight if I get a chance. I’m still debating whether to use corridor or landscape. Definitely have some tweaking to do.
     
  19. smithb

    smithb IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    My house is laid out fairly conveniently for running cables. The front wall and garage are accessible from my basement workshop, so it's a straight shot up through the sill plate. The hard part is fishing the wire through a 3/4" hole. I had to cheat to make it happen this time. I cut a hole on the inside wall to give me access to reach in and grab the fish rod. I installed a low voltage box and I'll put a blank cover plate on there until I can patch and paint after the holidays.
    [​IMG]

    Here are some pics of some creep with no mouth at 1 foot and 3 feet from my door:
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2018
    area651, mat200, Ckb3 and 2 others like this.
  20. smithb

    smithb IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    I just wanted to add that I still plan to experiment with landscape some more. As you can see, corridor shows a bit more ceiling than necessary with the 3.6mm lens. If I do go with landscape, I may need to add a second porch camera in the overhead at the far end to observe what’s happening with packages.

    Between work and family I only have a few minutes to play with settings each evening, so that kind of slows down progress.