Lorex

Discussion in 'IP Cameras' started by DmaxDually, Feb 17, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. MixManSC

    MixManSC Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    USA
    Ah - you need to be sure the TFTP server software is running for one. Solarwinds TFTP one does NOT start automatically. You have to right click its icon by the clock and choose start tftp service. If that is the TFTP server you are using anyways...

    According to the log you posted, it thinks the IP address of your computer is 192.168.0.100.

    Did you enter the setenv commands exactly as I showed (using your IP information)? You can double check from the hisilicon command line by typing printenv and hitting enter. Make sure you do not have anything misspelled or duplicated. I did that - I typed setenv gateway the first time instead of gatewayip. Then the incorrect one shows up in the printenv list. You can delete something like that by typing (using my example) setenv gateway and then just hit enter without putting anything after.


    Ah - also make sure everything is on the same LAN. Do not use WAN ports on your router as that will block traffic in one direction.

    Also from the Hisilicon prompt you can ping an IP address. So type ping 192.168.0.100 and hit enter and it should give you a message that it responded or a message that it did not.

    Based on what you typed. A printenv command should also show the gateway address as 192.168.0.1 and the subnet mask as 255.255.255.0.
     
  2. Polyesterpenguin

    Polyesterpenguin n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    Thank you for your help!
    TFTP is running
    All the addresses look right. Printenv shows
    serverip=192.168.0.100
    ipaddr=192.168.0.108
    gatewayip=192.168.0.1
    netmask=255.255.255.0

    Pinging:
    hisilicon # ping 192.168.0.100
    stmmac_init,550,0x70431,3
    MAC: 00-40-7F-BC-DD-D6
    host 192.168.0.100 is alive
     
  3. MixManSC

    MixManSC Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    USA
    Should be good to go then! Make sure that you copy the update.img file from the extracted firmware to the TFTP root folder is the only other step I can think to be sure of.

    If that is there then the run up command should work. If you have the TFTP server window visible you will see it also start sending the file when you run up and you will see a lot of activity in the ncom terminal window.

    The last couple of things that will show in the terminal windows when it is done will be

    done
    flash_do_flwrite,704
    set_upgrade_update_state ok[set null,add by ll]
    dh_wdt_start called
    hisilicon #

    At that point it should reset on its own. If not just type reset and hit enter. Wait for it to fully boot back on up. Go into the web UI and do the factory reset.

    Standing by to try and help any way I can since I posted about doing this... ;) For what its worth. I did a second one too and was just as simple. On the second one I only did the few IP variables that you posted, then reset, then run up.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2018
  4. MixManSC

    MixManSC Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    USA
    Heading home.... hope he got it. Catch ya'll tomorrow.
     
  5. Polyesterpenguin

    Polyesterpenguin n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    I did it! Everything seems to be working great. The problem and I hate to admit it (probably shouldn't have be watching the world cup while doing this) is I had my firewall turned on. After I turned it off it loaded the new firmware. After it loaded up I did a reset and everything is looking good.

    A few notes if others try this:
    While the box my NVR came in said NR9163 the unit has a model number of NR916-N
    Run TFTP Server as administrator
    Turn off your firewalls!
    This USB to Serial Null Modem Adapter worked of me.
    When typing in the network settings I got an error when I typed "=" (example: setenv serverip=255.255.255.255) just leave a space and it works (setenv serverip 255.255.255.255)
    You have to type in all the commands in NCOM cutting and pasting doesn't work.

    Thank you MixmanSC for figuring out how to do this!
     
  6. MixManSC

    MixManSC Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    USA
    Excellent! I will go over this later and update my earlier post with the detailed instructions for anyone who might want to try this in the future. Also - yes mine also have the model number NR916-N on the bottom of them as well.

    Also - here is the stock Lorex firmware.... This site only keeps uploads for a week so download it and save it somewhere just in case you ever need it.

    LNR600_20170708_00138.bin
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018
    mat200 likes this.
  7. Polyesterpenguin

    Polyesterpenguin n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
  8. John Agante

    John Agante n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Any chance I could talk you into posting the Lorex Firmware again.

    I am getting ready to brick (JK) my new Lorex NR9163 with the Dahua firmware and want the crutch in place, just in case.
     
  9. mat200

    mat200 IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Hi John,

    MixManSC is currently MIA, so you'll be dependent on his past posts regarding this subject which are here or searching here or online for the firmware.
     
  10. TheDude

    TheDude Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    USA
    I found a copy of the original Lorex firmware that I downloaded from the link posted before... Uploaded it to that same site. :)

    LNR600_20170708_00138.bin
     
    mat200 likes this.
  11. surv8tor

    surv8tor n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    federal way
    I just received a NV9163 nvr from Lorex. This seems to be a different version from the NV9163 from last year. I opened them up and they have rather different boards inside. The newer version required flashing each image from the firmware separately to get it switched over to the Dahua firmware.
     

    Attached Files:

    mat200 likes this.
  12. mat200

    mat200 IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    HI @surv8tor

    Any identifiable info printed on the board?
    Any identifiable info from the console regarding the board?
     
  13. TheDude

    TheDude Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    USA
    Good to see it works. There is a different model number. The prior ones from Lorex are the NR9163 and the new one you posted you indicated NV9163. So they did make some sort of change. I have the prior version. I wonder what else might be different.
     
  14. ProfessorDeGraw

    ProfessorDeGraw n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    America
    Does Flashing with the Dahua Firmware break the Lorex Secure Mobile App, etc? Does Dahua have a remote app?
     
  15. mat200

    mat200 IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Welcome @ProfessorDeGraw

    Good question. Check if the Lorex Secure Mobile App looks like the Dahua OEM version - if so, then imho no - though you may need to adjust configurations like IP, port, user / passwords.
     
  16. Ross Cullen

    Ross Cullen n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    John, any success with flashing to a Dahua firmware? I have a Lorex NR916-N (09/2017) and I'm curious to see if i'm better trying to migrate to a Dahua firmware, considering Lorex haven't released an update since 2017. Does anyone know the Dahua OEM equivalent to this model?
    Any help much appreciated. Thanks. R
     
  17. TheDude

    TheDude Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    USA
    It really is pretty simple to do yourself and would both be much cheaper (just need to get a serial cable), a good learning experience, and the ability and confidence to do something like that in the future.

    Two other issues as well. One is no one has the stock Lorex firmware for that specific model although I imagine, just like the Dahua NVR5216-16P-4KS2 and NVR5232-16P-4KS2 use the same firmware, that the Lorex firmware I have for mine would be the same as for yours since they are physically identical models. Not real guarantee of that though... Or it could be cross-flashed to Dahua firmware which would actually add a number of additional features and capabilities. The catch with cross-flashing though it that you will have to manually configure any Lorex branded cameras to use a different port as Lorex changes the port they use in their firmware. Easy enough to do, just have to directly connect to each cameras web interface and change the setting is all.

    All that being said I'm pretty sure that is a new enough model that it should still be under warranty from Lorex. If you cross-flash it to Dahua firmware then the Lorex warranty is almost certainly void.
     
    fenderman likes this.
  18. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,985
    Likes Received:
    9,927
    If you purchased the unit at costco, just bring it back to them for a full refund.
     
  19. CarlHorton

    CarlHorton n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    United States
    Hello,

    I really appreciate all the great info on this board. I am about to convert my Lorex to Dahua as well and just found this thread - would you mind reposting the original Lorex firmware file again? Thanks for your help.
     
  20. TheDude

    TheDude Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    USA