nayr's home automation build out...

Discussion in 'Home Automation' started by nayr, Sep 8, 2014.

Share This Page

  1. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    yeah that was a hell of a project, nothing like working on a roof when its 100 degrees outside.. yesh

    attached some pics of the project, before, after and durring.. like all my projects, I was the only one who did all the work.

    the new one has a plastic tray so it wont rust out, and then even if that tray leaks its held downhill from the hole in the roof.. so I dont expect any more water damage.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    goodbye old wooden pice of shit door, welcome new fiberglass, composite and stainless steel door:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    this will be a nice security upgrade, instead of a full length piece of glass running down my lock side I only have it on the top 1/4.. and this is much thicker tempered glass, so busting it out to obtain access to the locks inside will be very impractical.

    Got some automation wires to put in this of course, recessed contact switch and a pressure mat to aim the PTZ when someone's putting a code into the deadbolt or knocking on the door and not using the doorbell.

    This has been on my todo list since i bought the house, glad to finally have it be the next project.. of course I will be hardening it to prevent kickins
     
  3. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Old:
    [​IMG]

    New:
    [​IMG]

    So that piece of plexiglass to the left of the old door, yeah I gave it a kick about as hard as a crippled child would kick it and it popped right out.

    New door is secured with stainless steel 3" lag bolts, and I have a kit from kickproof.com coming on the way and it'll harden the frame even further.. the new door frame is all composite material wrapped in vinyl so its alot more dense than a wooden frame, but the steel should make it even more durable.
     
    g_phill, msantic and fenderman like this.
  4. motorgeek

    motorgeek n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    In case someone is interested in using Hikvision cameras motion event, I configured the Hikvision cameras to send a FTP request when a motion event occurred. I just listened on the specified ports for the FTP request and toggled the dummy motion events as I needed. Hope that helps.
     
  5. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Pressure mat wired to Z-Wave contact switch, turns on mudroom light, front porch light and moves PTZ
    [​IMG]

    Door frame hardening, you can see alarm system card reader in this shot:
    [​IMG]

    So I have a recessed door sensor, mat sensor, doorbell sensor, package sensor, and indoor motion sensor all on my primary entry.. am I done yet? who knows hah
     
    patrocle and msantic like this.
  6. patrocle

    patrocle Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Rocklin, California
    Is there any way of adding 5 window sensors and a Siren ,and to be controlled by a ios app , and to get notifications when is open or closed on the phone,email,etc? I heard that z-wave may have some window sensors that will work with homekit on the iphone,not sure what they are... Will be nice if they can be adedd to BI,or maybe not.
    I was looking at ecobee3 w/homekit and to buy some sensors for my 5 windows.
    I may look at the Iris Smart Hub too at lowes...maybe a chance for the window sensors to add.
    Any advice? Thanks
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2016
  7. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    you need an alarm system.. I dont use z-wave for perimeter security; have no trust in wireless.
     
    patrocle likes this.
  8. patrocle

    patrocle Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Rocklin, California
    Yes, i have ADT for down stairs, but the idiots wanted $450 to install 5 sensors (up stairs windows) and the tech call to come and install them,and when i told them that no in hell will be paying that they dropped to $299 special discount,and while running my mouth more..long time costumer,bla,bla,bla he said okay ,will do it for $200, and i said will think about it! I only paid $200 for the system , wireless ,plus 7 glass braker sensors and 4 standard sensors,and the pulse app.
    Then after doing some more only research i notice that if you have the "automation & schedule" tab in their app enabled, you can add z-wave sensors and other things directly in the adt pulse app,but because i did not have those there , i called again so they can enable the tabs for me, and they try to charge me $175 to come over and put a hub or bridge, and the tech call few..and running my mouth again he got it down to $25 for that hub and free tech call,but he wants me to sign up for other contract 24 months, and i said NO. Don't need any contracts right now...had adt for over 8 years and no thanks for any hand tight up in case i want to leave.
    Anyway, i guess i may have to leave the up stairs windows as it is for now.
     
  9. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    525
    Your typical Honeywell or DSC wireless alarm doesn't exactly have the most secure wireless sensors or keyfobs (DSC Neo is above average), but they're good enough for most people (kind of like garage door openers). I wouldn't be too interested in ADT's home "automation" options or really ANY automation system that requires a monthly fee. In theory automation as a service (AAAS <- that's pronounced with a very loooong 's') would give the company capital and incentive to actually support the product long term, in practice they don't want to expend any resources that would reduce the revenue stream. There's also typically very little that's automatic in the automation systems peddled by your phone, cable, or alarm company; automation != remote control. If you want automation, something like smartthings is a much better investment than AAAS. I'd avoid iris like the plague.

    The catch with ADT is how much you pay in monthly fees. They like to nickel and dime you like crazy, lets say pricing starts at $30 / mo. You want a smoke detector that's an extra $10 / month. You want a freeze or leak sensor another $10 / month. You don't have a landline and want cellular monitoring there's another $10 / mo. You want their AAAS pulse service, another $10 / month...

    When you're ready to move to a better alarm company you can probably reuse most of your current system. 5 more wireless sensors would run you $100-150 in hardware, but that would be a discussion better suited to it's own thread in the alarm sub-forum. They've fallen out of favor because of ease of installation, but I definitely prefer hardwired sensors.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2016
  10. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I have both wired and wireless sensors on my doors, only because the z-wave contact switches can talk directly to several z-wave light switches without the controller.. this turns the lights on when a door opens instantly with no noticeable delay.. its nice opening the doors late at night and having the porch lights come on so quickly.

    I also have wired sensors going into an alarm panel I designed and coded; both work together and independently.. you might look at something like Elk's offerings for home security and domoticz/openhab/smarthings/etc for home automation and then piggy back your security system into your automation system so the security sensors are also avilable for automation use.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  11. PSPCommOp

    PSPCommOp Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    Northeastern PA
    @nayr, did you have any luck with the Amazon Echo?

    I'm considering buying one of the Echo Dots and using them with TP-LINK Smart Plug's for lights and a few other things around the house. I was just curious if these are secure, and if not if they are functional if prohibited from incoming/outgoing traffic on the network.
     
  12. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    nah I didnt get one; was not hackable enough.. I mainly wanted voice announcements the laundry was done or the mail had arrived or whatever so I just hooked up a usb speaker and hid it behind my couch and record off wav files of basic events.

    I can controll lights w/remotes so voice assistant is not horribly usefull, and there is a huge privacy consideration.

    might look at the new google one
     
  13. PSPCommOp

    PSPCommOp Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    Northeastern PA
    You (and @fenderman) are the network security guru(s) here, do you feel they're a threat to the security of someone's home network? Both the Echo and the remote devices like Wemu and/or the smart plug?

    I know the ioT has been in the news a lot lately for negative stuff, just curious if the convenience is worth it yet.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  14. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I run my IoT and automation systems all in-house with no cloud based services, stuff like the Echo requires cloud connectivity and having a product that puts an always listening microphone fixed in many houses makes it a delicious target for state level actors.. not to mention all marketing crap they going to use such stuff for, wont it be creepy when you cant get a hardon and then you start getting spammed for viagra; oh wait.. nm, whats the worst that could happen? :p 'trigger: it happens to alot of guys, response: double down on dick spam'

    in my experience voice interfaces are more frustrating than useful; and that nice Z-Wave lock of mine wont be much use if you can just walk up to my living room window and say: Alexia, unlock the front door and be welcomed in regardless who you are.. needs some star-trek level voice prints with convoluted command codes before initiating self destruct.
     
  15. blake

    blake Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    USA
    I sell and Install Security Systems if your interested. I can offer you a DIY Kit if you want.
     
  16. gmaster1

    gmaster1 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    43
    I'm asking everyone who uses Asterisk and I remember you do as well: What do you use for CNAM and are you happy with it? I've switched around over the years and still can't find one that works exceptionally well pretty much by itself. It's usually not a mission critical element, but now that I have some time I'm circling back to it again.
     
  17. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    flowroute provides CNAM with my DID's
     
  18. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    so with another kid on the way my wife has to give up the other bedroom and move down with me; we both telecommute so time to redo my office and make room for two.. she's nesting so its gotta be done before baby comes.. I been waiting to do my home office since forever.

    here is a basic idea of what i'm planning, im going to build a half wall and basically make 2 window cubes.. new flooring/paint/decor this time coordinated with my wife's eye.. I think my office is the only room in the house that is left unpainted from when we bought it, still stark white heh.

    Hardwood faux tile floors but under the desks I will but underfloor heating, window will be tinted with mirror reflective tint and a motorized roller shade will be made for the window to open/close at dusk/dawn so nobody can see in since its a due south facing window.


    Screenshot 2016-12-22 03.33.28.png

    The partition wall down the middle will support a pair of dual monitor wall mounts on each side and be about 4ft high with a shelf on top for plants.. we each get to decorate the wall behind us, one thing I learned with telecommuting is having a wall behind you is nice, kids/dogs/cats/random chaos are much likely to appear on camera and you can have some privacy when others are around.. The office door is getting a closer installed so it'll always remain closed.

    A pair of celling mount speakers will be aligned right above where the partition is and hooked to zone3 on my house audio system.. I can hide a subwoofer in there somewhere, we both jam the same music when working so thats good.. I can probably hook up a few more powermates up and set them on our desks to control the volume with a twist and tap for mute.. I'll put the access point right between both speakers so objects sitting on either desk are unobsecured from 5GHz quickness

    On the wall by the entry door I'm going to put a table with my two printers on it and a cheap and big 4k tv to output 24/7 feed from my NVR out of.. we should both be able to see it from our desks with a glance over.. going to try to see if this 4k NVR can handle all my cameras at once with good quality and this need not be theatre quality display.

    Eventually I'd like it setup in such a way that anyone in the family could use either or both stations, and setup the TV for Gaming so perhaps we can all play video games with our own either multi-monitor or big screen setups heh.. Its not guaranteed my wife and/or I will telecommute forever so I want it to be flexible as the kids rooms are not big enough for them to have desks of there own.

    Got a few more secrets up my sleeve, but those are just finer details.. like a place for my camping fridge to keep cold drinks on hand when not on the trailer :D, but its these details tha'll make it my dream home office.
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2016
  19. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    525
    Not sure what you're using for CAD (the wall probably isn't half the depth of the desk), but you should play with http://www.homestyler.com/

    Best Buy had a $200 4k turkey day tv this year.
     
  20. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    yeah this is just a basic cartoonish layout I have for my automation panel, I dont have furniture on it normally I just did it for my wife's benefit; in my automation panel each room is full of sensor statuses instead of furniture :)

    I see it completed in my head already, dont need any damn blueprints.. just have to pull it out and make it real.

    $200 4k TV is what im talking about yeah, the one I want in the living room is like $1400 heh.
     
  21. logbuilder

    logbuilder Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    In the Cascades 90 miles NE of Seattle
    Careful watering those plants as they will be above the monitors.
     
  22. tangent

    tangent Known around here

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    525
    Aube (a division of honeywell) probably makes the best electric floor heating thermostats out there (they make hydronic too) and most models have a dry contact that can lower the setpoint.
    Aube Technologies inc. Edit to clarify: there are also Honeywell branded versions that appear almost identical but they don't have the terminals to set it to the vacation setpoint.

    homestyler is much more than just blueprints. Plants right below the window could also work well.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2016
    nayr likes this.
  23. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    the window sill in my office is 4ft high inside, and ground level outside, like half a foot.. plan is to connect the sill to the divider wall.. the wider cap shelf/sill will all be one and I'll have a steel LDR pipe at the open end of the divider going up attached to the celling to give it support to hold all these heavy monitors.

    im thinking the cap shelf/sil piece will have a raised ledge of some sort, and with everything at same level I'll make some gravity fed drip system that comes on at defined intervals, living in a desert its nearly impossible to over-water anything it seems so its kinda easy to automate plant watering.. manual watering still done from time to time but much less often.

    I'll check it out, it would be nice to have something better than what I do now.. technically I kinda have 4 stories so it makes drafting it up a lil pain w/freebie versions.. usually I squish em all down somehow.
     
  24. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Im thinking of installing an electronic door strike on the office door, when working from home I can lock the door and just push a button on our desks to let people in, then put a hidden button up high on the external door sill that will pop it open and kids cant reach w/out a key.. fail secure and just twist the lock on back to enable/disable, can have home alarm system kill power to latch entirely so the hidden buttons wont work when house is armed.

    Think I got the audio system figured out, this was going to be tricky but the plan is each cubical will get a single 40w in-wall center-channel speaker installed under the desks just off the floor (yay monoprice).. powered by my multi-zone amp downmixing to mono and fed by one of these in each cube: Amazon.com: Pyle PWPBT47 In-Wall Home Theater Receiver: Electronics so you can use that built in speaker with either a 3.5mm stereo or bluetooth.

    then between the two cubes above the divider will be a pair of ceiling mount speakers hooked to my receivers inputs that can sync whole house music (FM Radio or Pandora), and because receiver has AirPlay its an audio output on our mac's so either computer station could in theory play stereo out the roof speakers or throughout the whole house and outside :) The idea being both both workstations can share control over music while having individual speakers for normal internet use that are not crap built in.. I dont want any monitors or speakers to have to sit on desks as that eats up room.. I like to play music throughout the house when kids are in school and im working from home, and of course when house cleaning and partying.

    So yeah, 3 individual audio systems.. I thought about giving each station surround sound but it seemed a bit overkill.. if yeh want to game/movie in surround sound you can do it in the living room heh.. I'd like each station to get a powermote knob like I have in living room that will both control volume/mute of the overhead speakers so we can take phone calls and not have to fumble with some app.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2016
    looney2ns likes this.
  25. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    of course not
     
  26. wantafastz28

    wantafastz28 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Phoenix, az
    Not to get off topic too much,but are you doing a whole wall with faux stone? Have you installed it before?
     
  27. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2016
  28. wantafastz28

    wantafastz28 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Phoenix, az
    I doing a accent wall for my living room with it, but I'm torn if i should go with faux or not. I keep hearing of height/weight limitations using real stone and possibly having to use catch rails every few feet of height support. Look forward to seeing your final result.
     
  29. nayr

    nayr Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,376
    Likes Received:
    4,890
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    put concrete tile backer board behind it and it'll hold the weight all the way to the roof.. im only doing a 6ft wide section with it and a normal tile saw cuts right through em.
     
    wantafastz28 likes this.
  30. wantafastz28

    wantafastz28 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2016
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Phoenix, az
    First time I've heard of that option. Thanks!