NEW 1080P Wifi Video Doorbell!

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,274
Reaction score
10,247
Hi there - I followed the quick start guide line by line. I held the button on the side for various amounts of time up to 15 seconds but I never heard the doorbell say anything. I had to take the doorbell off because it was constantly ringing and driving people nuts in the house. I wonder if there is a way to open the box up and do a manual reboot because the button on the side doesn't seem to work unless I just didn't hold it down long enough.

Any ideas on why the doorbell keeps ringing and ringing?

Thanks!
with hikvision cameras, you need to remove power, hold the button, then apply power while holding it, it may be the same with the doorbell
 

Sean Nelson

Pulling my weight
Joined
Apr 20, 2016
Messages
149
Reaction score
178
Location
Tulsa
The doorbell actually doesnt require the typical reset process that the normal hik cameras do. You can simply reset it by holding down the left buttons.

Its odd that the doorbell is ringing your chime every 60 seconds. Yeah if you have a 24VAC power supply just to test it on, that would be good.

Do you have a multi meter that you can check your doorbells wiring voltage? Normally its 16V AC.
 

Type2

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 17, 2017
Messages
46
Reaction score
14
I just checked on my Soltec HM-102S multimeter and the doorbell wires have exactly 16v AC right now.
 

Type2

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 17, 2017
Messages
46
Reaction score
14
The doorbell actually doesnt require the typical reset process that the normal hik cameras do. You can simply reset it by holding down the left buttons.

Its odd that the doorbell is ringing your chime every 60 seconds. Yeah if you have a 24VAC power supply just to test it on, that would be good.

Do you have a multi meter that you can check your doorbells wiring voltage? Normally its 16V AC.
Just realized you said "You can simply reset it by holding down the left buttons." ---- I only see one button on the left. Am I missing something?
 

Sean Nelson

Pulling my weight
Joined
Apr 20, 2016
Messages
149
Reaction score
178
Location
Tulsa
Sorry, there is just one button. Hold it down until the doorbell says "the device is rebooting"

Then wait until it says "start configuring wifi" to begin the configuration
 

Type2

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 17, 2017
Messages
46
Reaction score
14
I'll try that again but I held it down for quite a while. Any idea how long it takes? Over 30 seconds?

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
 

Sean Nelson

Pulling my weight
Joined
Apr 20, 2016
Messages
149
Reaction score
178
Location
Tulsa
Possibly around 20-30 seconds. If she still dont work, perhaps send it in for warranty, we will take a gander.
 

The_Penguin

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 18, 2015
Messages
158
Reaction score
56
Location
Western Canada
Received mine yesterday, will install tonight.
No wonder shipping to Canada is so outrageous, the box is about 3 times bigger than it needs to be.
 

Type2

Young grasshopper
Joined
Dec 17, 2017
Messages
46
Reaction score
14
Possibly around 20-30 seconds. If she still dont work, perhaps send it in for warranty, we will take a gander.
Okay I definitely did NOT hold it for 20-30 seconds. Hopefully that will do the trick. I probably won't be able to mess with it until this Saturday. I'll have to double check return window b/c I don't want to get stuck with this if it's defective. Thanks for your help!
 

Sean Nelson

Pulling my weight
Joined
Apr 20, 2016
Messages
149
Reaction score
178
Location
Tulsa
Okay I definitely did NOT hold it for 20-30 seconds. Hopefully that will do the trick. I probably won't be able to mess with it until this Saturday. I'll have to double check return window b/c I don't want to get stuck with this if it's defective. Thanks for your help!
You got a while before you have to worry about returning it if its defective. This thing is warrantied so you are good to go. We have a 30 day return policy but thats just if you want to return it because you dont like it or whatever.
 

The_Penguin

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 18, 2015
Messages
158
Reaction score
56
Location
Western Canada
Ok, done my install. Overall, I'm pretty impressed. OK the software is a bit lacking, but image quality is good, build quality is good, and so far working very well with Blue Iris.
The lens is very wide. For my application, I'd love to be able to turn it sideways and have software rotate the image.

I screwed up a few times. That's what I get for rushing an install after a full day of work, in a snowstorm. :)
My existing doorbell is on a narrow wood strip on the door frame. the wire coming out is typical solid wire, fairly short, and the hole is small. Couldn't really put the existing wire directly on the small terminals of the camera. The supplied terminal block would definitely not go down the hole so I thought I'd use some fairly small crimp connectors.
But, they wouldn't go in the hole either.



So, I cut, stripped, soldered and used heat shrink



Second mistake. Did you spot it?
I connected the wires, and forgot the gasket. D'oh!

Third and worst mistake, although they provide a template to drill pilot holes, I thought I was smarter and just positioned the camera and drilled the holes. The wood strip is quite narrow so I kept it as far left as possible. Screwed it in, tested. Great. Then went to put the cover on. Oh crap no room against the screen door frame. Took it off, repositioned, re-drilled, and re-mounted.

All done.



I put a few washers behind the top screw to tilt it down a bit, as I want to get as much of the porch as possible, didn't make a huge difference really.

Some quick night time samples.
There's just enough light from the streetlights to keep the IR off, but that's because we're getting a ton of snow. With no IR and with IR there's a tiny bit of reflection from the dome, not bad. With IR the wall reflects a fair amount of light, but it still looks OK.
Here's no IR, Porch light, and with IR







Hope that's not too many pictures.
 
Last edited:

actran

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
311
Reaction score
104
@The_Penguin Thanks for sharing. Can you share some video night footage with someone in motion? And in color?
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
4,369
Reaction score
4,178
Location
Alabama
@The_Penguin , thanks for the write up, comments, photos. You have peaked my interest. I'd be using with Blue Iris if I got one.

I think I know why you had some issues regarding the gasket, too close the screen door, etc.... it's because you kept 'The Supervisor' locked in the house!

supvsr.jpg

But you did a good thing just soldering and shrink-tubing those 2 wires. Crimped, insulated butt-splices would have been great if BOTH the wires were stranded but one was solid, you said, and crimps for solid wires (if not soldered) is a no-no. I can attest to finding dozens over a 31 year period in my career where vibration, ambient temp cycling, etc. causes them to fail on solid conductors.


NOT-FOR-SOLID.jpg

Did they give you any wedges to mount under it to point away from house? A friend bought a Ring 2 this summer and it had wedges to point cam down vertically and another for horizontal. BTW, he sent it back for a refund: it connects to your Wi-Fi but notifications and videos are uploaded them come back down to you (even if you are on your Wi-Fi) so if you don't have at least 4 meg down and 4 meg up, it sux. He has ADSL with 2 meg down, .5 meg up. His poor upload speed really tanked it.
 
Last edited:

scn101

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
190
Reaction score
55
Location
Dallas, TX
Does this also work with Hikvision NVRs (in Hikvision mode, not ONVIF) such as the DS7616NI-E2 so that the NVR will only record when there's motion and not all the time?
Can you setup the doorbell to only notify the app when you press the button, i.e. no alerts for motion?
Is there an app for the iPhone?
 

The_Penguin

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 18, 2015
Messages
158
Reaction score
56
Location
Western Canada
Does this also work with Hikvision NVRs (in Hikvision mode, not ONVIF) such as the DS7616NI-E2 so that the NVR will only record when there's motion and not all the time?
Can you setup the doorbell to only notify the app when you press the button, i.e. no alerts for motion?
Is there an app for the iPhone?
Can't say about the NVR, but don't see why it wouldn't. There is an app for the iPhone, and by default (as far as I know) it only alerts on doorbell press.
 

The_Penguin

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 18, 2015
Messages
158
Reaction score
56
Location
Western Canada
With no IR and with IR there's a tiny bit of reflection from the dome, not bad.
Interesting, the glare is a fair bit worse tonight. I suspect that it's because there's less ambient light (no low cloud cover and falling blowing snow reflecting the street lights) so the IR may be brighter, hence more reflection.
 
Top