NEW 1080P Wifi Video Doorbell!

Discussion in 'Nelly's Security' started by AJ47, Dec 11, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. FlyingDutchman

    FlyingDutchman n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Sean Nelson - thanks for all the information. Do you happen to know if the doorbell button push can be handled by blue iris (the iPhone app) or is a separate app required?
     
  2. rayt

    rayt n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    so i have a mechanical chime. when i ring the door bell, it just goes DING..

    back then it used to go DING DONG. is there anything i can do to resolve this?
     
  3. Type2

    Type2 n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay going to give it one last try with the resistor. Soldered up a quick connect so I can minimize my exposure to 15 degree weather and for convenience:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Sean Nelson

    Sean Nelson Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Tulsa
    I do not think it can unfortunately.
     
  5. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Hey @rayt, can you send us a few pictures of how you have it connected and of your wiring?
     
  6. Sean Nelson

    Sean Nelson Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Tulsa
    We had another guy report that as well. Basically it opens the relay alot quicker than a normal doorbell push button does. I noticed that it sped up the "ding dong" sound on my doorbell and did the same thing on our test chime here at work. Im not sure why it only dings on some chimes but I assume it has something to do with the quick relay opening.
     
  7. awsum140

    awsum140 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    255
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Stiffer return springs on some door bells. Remember how they work, the magnetic field pulls the armature out to hit one chime, while the return spring forces it back, once current is removed, into the other chime. If the spring is a little "stiff" a quick pulse won't make the armature move far enough/fast enough to hit that first chime. The result will be a "dong" not a "ding-dong".
     
  8. scn101

    scn101 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    If that's the case then I would think that could be easily fixed in firmware by simply making the circuit closed pulse a bit longer. I just received the doorbell and it only "dongs" my chime. I tried it on a friends home and it ding-dongs his chime.
     
    awsum140 likes this.
  9. The_Penguin

    The_Penguin Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Western Canada
    The longer the circuit is closed, the longer the camera has no (or significantly less) power, so there's likely a safe limit before you start having the camera wig out or reboot.
     
    awsum140 likes this.
  10. rayt

    rayt n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks will look into this.
     
  11. awsum140

    awsum140 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    255
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    An alternative fix would be to "modify" the return spring in the door bell to make it a little "looser". Just getting the "dong" would seem to indicate the armature isn't traveling far enough due to a stiff spring. Just a guess on my part.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  12. nutt318

    nutt318 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just got the doorbell cam installed and so far its working pretty great with the guardingvision app.

    However in BI there is about a second delay in the audio from the video. Any suggestions for syncing these? Also I dont see any firmware listed on Nellys yet for this unless im totally missing it..
     
  13. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    24,831
    Likes Received:
    6,119
    try camera properties > video>delay in blue iris, that should delay the video so it syncs up..
     
    nutt318 likes this.
  14. nutt318

    nutt318 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    10
    @fenderman Awesome, thanks! Had no idea that was even there.

    Know anything about firmware updates for this?
     
  15. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    24,831
    Likes Received:
    6,119
    no idea...i am sure someone from nelly's will respond as soon as they see it.
     
  16. scn101

    scn101 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I went ahead and purchased the doorbell from Nelly's. Here are my thoughts, a bit random but hopefully complete.

    Installation, please see posted pics. Since the wires to my doorbell are lamp/appliance wiring (18 gauge stranded copper with thick insulation, like a lamp cord) and protrude straight out of the mortar there was no way to flush mount the doorbell to the brick and make the connections. So I purchased a Decora switch wall plate that give you about 3/8" clearance from the brick to the doorbell. I drilled a couple of holes in the plate for the doorbell and JB welded in a couple of nuts so I could mount the doorbell after the plate was secured to the brick. No exposed screws this way. I placed weather stripping on the back of the plate (top and sides) to prevent water intrusion and used the doorbell's gasket to the plate. To connect the wires I used the doorbell's included connector but cut it in two to lay flat on the brick. I think the install went well. Very easy to link the Guardian Vision app to the doorbell.

    The doorbell would really benefit from a camera axis adjustment. See the pics. Really wish I could aim it towards the entrance. Another thought would be to offer a wedge gasket of say 15 degrees so one could mount it facing left or right. A simple plastic part to include with the doorbell and would be very helpful. The IR reflection makes night time viewing horrendous. Also, you cannot disable the doorbell's IR which I really would like to as there's an outdoor IP camera a few feet above the doorbell that has plenty of IR.

    My setup uses a 16VAC 10VA transformer and a mechanical chime. The chime used to ding-dong but now only dings. However, I had to disable the chime altogether. The plunger that sits in the coil on a spring would dance around in the chime often rattling loudly. It does this because the doorbell is always pulling power at various current levels so the chime's coil is energized and the plunger vibrates. So I secured the plunger in place, no more ding or dong. This possibly could be rectified with another model of chime but my guess is that any chime will have "slop" in the plunger to coil hole as they don't want them to stick and don't expect them to be energized except momentarily when the bell is rung.

    Does it work? Kind of. The Guarding Vision app usually connects but sometimes says "network unstable" and won't connect. A couple more tries and it works. They WiFi strength at the doorbell is high and I get over 20Mbps down and 10Mbps up at that location on my iPhone. I tried a different router's WiFi only 20 feet away from the doorbell, same result, so I'm certain the issue isn't WiFi strength. For that matter there is a HikVision and a Foscam WiFi camera within a few feet from the doorbell that never ever has any issues. Firmware version of the doorbell is 1.4.62 build 171201. I'm hoping future FW versions will help. Also, some doorbell presses don't alert the app. The doorbell chimes but no phone alert. A bit disappointing.

    The web interface to the doorbell is typical HikVision but missing many features. There's no playback function and you cannot view or change the IP address. You can change the IP address via SADP but then you cannot link the doorbell to the Guardian app. Not really too big an issue unless you want to assign the doorbell an IP address, which in my case I would as I like to have my cameras and NVR on an upper range of IP addresses. I can live with this. The fonts used to display time and date are not modifiable and I believe they really are too small when viewed on a smartphone. There's a feature called "Power Booster" but I have no idea what that does. It is off by default.

    The doorbell easily connects to my HikVision NVR (DS-7616NI-E2) in HV mode. In the GV app I turned off motion detection alerts but this also disables motion alerts to the NVR. Very disappointing, ideally I would like my phone to be alerted only upon a doorbell press but the NVR to record anytime there's a motion trigger. I cannot make this happen. Also, in this mode the doorbell only records to its SD card upon doorbell presses, no motion recording. I think FW could fix this and really needs to happen.

    With my phone set to vibrate only, the GV app still rings the phone rather than only vibrate it. This will be a big issue in many settings where you do NOT want your phone to make noise. Contempt of court anyone? I hope this can be fixed.

    Voice quality. Although I've turned up the volume and microphone sensitivity both to max, the doorbell's volume is rather low as is it's pickup of sounds relayed to the phone. Compared to my friend's Ring Pro its volume is too low.

    In a nutshell:
    - must improve WiFi stability!
    - must be able to disable IR
    - must allow for motion triggered recording to SD and NVR without alerting the GV app
    - really need chime extenders. Why even keep the old mechanical chime unit given the problems it can create? Have the doorbell signal WiFi enabled AC plug-in chime units that you can place all around the house/garage (anywhere that has good WiFi strength) and you've solved another homeowner issue where you can't here the doorbell in some rooms or if the TV/stereo is on.
    - must include an off axis gasket/shim and/or mounting plate to aim camera
    - really need to improve on voice volume level and microphone sensitivity
    - would be nice to be able to change the IP of the doorbell and have the GV app follow along (change the IP from within the GV app would be nice)
    - would be nice for the doorbell to report its WiFi strength and incoming voltage to ensure neither are a problem
    - my phone's battery is depleting faster than usual and it reports the GV's background app is to blame. This could be a showstopper. Need to fix this if possible. I need to spend more time with the doorbell but if this is the case then the doorbell gets thrown in my pile of obsolete electronics, along with my cash and efforts.

    Well that's it for now.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 7, 2018
    ipcamshopper, dmarz, nutt318 and 3 others like this.
  17. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2018
  18. nutt318

    nutt318 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    10
    Here are some of my thoughts which most duplicate @scn101 review but anyways heres what I have to say.

    Installation was very easy, I ended up not using the included connector and instead solder and shrink tub the wires. Going thru the quickstart guide on Nellys site with the GuardingVision app was easy and worked great.

    From time to time the GV app doesnt show the video when there is a ring on the doorbell but more than likely an issue with the app. The app seems to work fine but will only use if someone actually rings the doorbell and will continue to use the BI app for viewing alerts. BI records motion just fine however I'm still trying to adjust the settings in BI to pick up cars driving by as it doesn't always catch them with the motion detection turned all the way up.

    The camera could use more features, hopefully newer firmware will add functions like the rest of the NSC cameras firmware. The network settings missing to statically assign an address is kinda weird along with no image adjustments for color/night vision mode. I'm running the lastest firmware as posted from above.

    Recommendations:
    Match firmware to other NSC cameras if possible.
    Mic recording distortion
    Wifi Signal Strength
    IR Options

    Overall I'm happy and already have friends wanting to buy these.

    IMG_7022.jpg IMG_7023.jpg IMG_7024.JPG IMG_7025.JPG IMG_7029.JPG
     
    dmarz, scn101, actran and 3 others like this.
  19. nutt318

    nutt318 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    10
    Sorry forgot to include sample video, only played with volume levels a bit but any suggestions on helping the audio quality I'm all ears.

    Just seems to have a whistle effect on distance noises, however people talking on the porch in front of house is clear.

     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2018
    aristobrat and mat200 like this.
  20. actran

    actran Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    70
    @nutt318 Is this video recorded on BI? What about one that has a person at the door? Like a delivery person.
     
  21. nutt318

    nutt318 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yes it was, Well thru the phone BI app. I used my phone to export the video and then upload to YouTube. Not sure if export quality is any different local export but it looked pretty good to me. I just installed it Saturday, so I'll do some looking to see if I got anyone close talking.

    *Edit Note: I did have to add about a 2 second delay on the video to match with the audio in BI
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2018
  22. Sean Nelson

    Sean Nelson Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Thanks for all the reviews. We have shipped all doorbells out with the latest firmware which is dated 12012017 so at this point there is no need for anyone to upgrade as you already have the newest. Once we get a new firmware, we will definetely update this thread.

    BTW, we give $10 for each video review submitted to us!: Save on your next purchase from Nelly's! - Nelly's Security
     
  23. The_Penguin

    The_Penguin Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Western Canada
    Thought I'd report that this camera has been rock solid down to -28 degrees C.
    I have a Trendnet Wifi cam on a protected deck that disappears after -12 or so.
     
    RyanODan, fenderman and mat200 like this.
  24. The Fury

    The Fury n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    This is EXACTLY what's happening to me. After reading the whole thread it seems like we got defective units. I've requested a refund and reordered from Amazon. Hope it's not another dud!
     
  25. scn101

    scn101 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Did you check that you’re getting at least 16VAC at the doorbell both when the doorbell is connected and when it isn’t?

    Next you could remove the wires at the chime (labeled transformer and front) and place the resistor in the kit in place of the chime. Again make sure you have at least 16VAC at the doorbell and then try to configure the doorbell. If it works and you can see video, you may have something going on at the chime.
     
    The_Penguin and The Fury like this.
  26. The Fury

    The Fury n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm so glad I decided to post here. After checking the voltage, it looks like it was only getting about 12.8 volts to the doorbell. After a lot of searching I tracked down the transformer for the bell to BEHIND the breaker box. I saw it was only a 10V transformer! I'll pick up a new one and see how it goes. Hopefully that was my problem all along! I'll report back after I get it done and if it works, I hope it helps others! Thanks so much!
     
    Kingram, AJ47 and The_Penguin like this.
  27. Sean Nelson

    Sean Nelson Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Glad you found the issue. Pretty certain that has to be whats causing the issue. If anyone needs to get either a replacement chime or transformer and you are looking for a recommendation, we have these setup here at Nelly's with our doorbell and experience no issues at all.

    Chime

    Transformer
     
    Kingram likes this.
  28. RyanODan

    RyanODan IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Tulsa
    Here's a quick workaround if you need the doorbells IP address to be static
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 17, 2018
    Mike and fenderman like this.
  29. The Fury

    The Fury n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've got some good news and bad news unfortunately. I bought a new transformer (16V/10VAC) and I tested the voltage at the doorbell and I'm now getting about 19.8V. I can now setup the doorbell and have it connect to wifi BUT it works sporadically. More often then not, the app has issues connecting to the camera. I also managed to connect it to Blue Iris without any issues but it consistently drops fps and loses the connection altogether. I do have another front door wifi ip camera that is located near it and it works perfectly fine. I've checked my wifi router and the wifi signal shows it to be really strong. Is it possible that it's now got too much power? Should I try to use the resistor that came with the doorbell?
     
  30. scn101

    scn101 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I doubt it is power problem as 19.8VAC is fine. Your clue is that you're losing connection to Blue Iris, I think WiFi is the issue. As a test, can you move the router closer to the doorbell or try a repeater?