New build for 4K cameras. i9-9900K?

aaronwt

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 31, 2014
Messages
140
Reaction score
22
Location
DC area(Northern VA)
Why not record on HDD and use SSD only for system and database? Is there any difference in user experience?
HDDs suppose to be perfect for streaming and continuous write/read. SSD have no advantage for streaming.
Things are much faster when reading and writing the video from an SSD or NVMe drive. The videos populate almost instantly. While things are noticeable slower if I did that from a platter drive. Plus SSDs are so cheap now.
 

mrc545

n3wb
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
20
Reaction score
4
Location
US
@mrc545 Your CPU load seems pretty high in both reports.



This strikes me as too high. My i7-8700K (6 cores) only runs at 20% with a 1000 MP/s load (BI in service mode with console closed) and this is without any Nvidia hardware acceleration, and several cameras not even fully tuned for CPU efficiency (not all of them use direct to disk and hardware acceleration!). When I open the GUI full-screened on a 4K monitor (fed by Nvidia card) CPU usage only goes up to 45%.

By all rights your i9-9900K should have been processing only about 20% more video than my CPU, and the 33% increase in core count should more than make up for it.



While that is an improvement, it is still far from what I would expect to see. Why aren't you using Intel decoding on all the cams anyway? Nvidia's decoding is horribly inefficient in terms of energy used.

One thought, maybe Windows is underclocking your CPU for some reason and playing with the Power Options would reveal the true load. My 8th gen CPU for example regularly bounces between 4.3 and 4.4 GHz but maybe yours is running far below that.
Apologies for the brainfart. I have the dedicated BI PC in the other room (trips the circuit breaker in my office room so I had to relocate it and think of another solution) and have a Windows Remote Desktop session up (unrestricted, but displaying at 20FPS). That is about 12% CPU overhead, which I was including in my CPU usage previously (and this was full screen GUI). I guess I need to read up on Intel decoding. I thought it used more processing power that way, and was trying to offload that to the GPU. I needed a beefy video card for 4k encoding over RDP, so I figured I'd take advantage of the GPU's decoding availability, that was previously unused.

Power settings are set to max (8 cores at 4.7GHz). I tried playing with MCE, but at 5GHz on all 8 cores it was way too hot.

It's also worth verifying your 9900K's GPU is in fact enabled. In Task Manager, are you seeing both your RTX and your Intel UHD GPUs, like the attached screenshot? If not, dive into your UEFI menus and set your integrated GPU to Enabled. My Gigabyte was on AUTO which resulted in my Intel GPU being disabled, preventing any benefit from QuickSync.

The screenshot shows a 9900K plus a GTX1660 with about 1100MP/sec, all direct to disc, console open at 1920 x 1200, displaying all the cameras and running motion detection on just a couple of them. I circled the jump in CPU usage when switching from Fast to Bicubic for the display scaling. If you need to optimize something, making sure it's set for Fast display scaling in Settings > Other is a good one.
I have the onboard graphics intentionally disabled. It wasn't playing nice with my RDP settings when I enabled hardware encoding in group policy editor since I had the other video card in there.
 
Joined
May 7, 2019
Messages
26
Reaction score
4
Location
Poland
Update on my setup.
BI 5 running od Dell OptiPlex 3060 with 8GB single channel 2400 RAM, SATA M.2 SSD and HGST 3 TB HDD. All cameras are Hikvision 4MP or 8MP. H.265+ capable. Total 32MP with 15fps gives 490-500 MP/s and 450-1100kB/s. Quality highest. BI running as program, not service. Window minimised.

H.264+ is working with Intel Quick sync acceleration
CPU 33-36%, GPU 38-42%.
Window opened CPU 40-50%.

H.265 or H.265+ is not working with hardware acceleration!
Without acceleration CPU is about 50-55% and GPU 1%. With window opened CPU is 95% and program is slow.

Total recording file size in H.265+ is about half of H.264.

So there is some room for more cameras if I'll use H.264 and hardware acceleration. Without it my system is at maximum. I can choose between having half HDD space saved or 40% less CPU used.

I bought also i9-9900K/Z390 Aorus Master/32GB RAM for my current primary office/game PC and after few years this will be next BI server.

For my next planning cameras I'm seriously considering running two cheaper BI serwers as it seems to be more economical solution than using one more powerful computer. Another idea is trying VM on Unraid for some cameras. Current setup cost me total 350$ hardware and software.

How is it possible hardware acceleration for H.265 in older versions?
4.6.9 - January 31, 2018 H.265 hardware decoding added
What should I do to make it work on my Dell?
Tried H.265, H.265+ with Intel or Intel+VideoPostProc. I can see only one frame or error message. Maybe I should find some particular verson of chipset driver or maybe change some settings in bios?
 
Last edited:

mech

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 18, 2019
Messages
190
Reaction score
187
Location
United States
How is it possible hardware acceleration for H.265 in older versions?
4.6.9 - January 31, 2018 H.265 hardware decoding added
What should I do to make it work on my Dell?
Tried H.265, H.265+ with Intel or Intel+VideoPostProc. I can see only one frame or error message. Maybe I should find some particular verson of chipset driver or maybe change some settings in bios?
Consider adding a Quadro P620 video card if you see a good price on one. I see them on Ebay starting at about US$115 ~ 430 zloty. They don't consume a lot of power, and I have a few similar Optilex systems at work that have no problem powering the P620, despite the limited power supply in the Optiplex. Here is the nVidia chart showing H265 support: Video Encode and Decode GPU Support Matrix

I'm sure you cannot put all of your cameras on a P620. But maybe you can put a few of them on it where you want H265.
 

gfaulk09

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
44
Reaction score
2
Location
Memphis
I know this thread has been dead a while.. im running an i9 9900k and im getting FANTASTIC numbers.. currently have 28 cameras pulling in around 850 MP/s and my CPU usage hovers at around 28% with the console open.. With the console close.. im sitting at 21% and hovering around 51c. I upgraded from an 4790u to this bad boy. I am going to add roughly 10 more cameras over the next week. Should reach to about 1400mp/s..
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
9,170
Reaction score
6,397
Location
USA
Hey @gfaulk09. That sounds great.

Your numbers do seem a little high though. I get about that level of CPU usage with 1100 MP/s on an i7-8700K. You may be missing some optimizations. I know I am. I don't use hardware acceleration on two PTZs because it slightly increased their delay.
 

TL1096r

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
1,063
Reaction score
314
I know this thread has been dead a while.. im running an i9 9900k and im getting FANTASTIC numbers.. currently have 28 cameras pulling in around 850 MP/s and my CPU usage hovers at around 28% with the console open.. With the console close.. im sitting at 21% and hovering around 51c. I upgraded from an 4790u to this bad boy. I am going to add roughly 10 more cameras over the next week. Should reach to about 1400mp/s..
Hey @gfaulk09. That sounds great.

Your numbers do seem a little high though. I get about that level of CPU usage with 1100 MP/s on an i7-8700K. You may be missing some optimizations. I know I am. I don't use hardware acceleration on two PTZs because it slightly increased their delay.
What are your settings: FPS/Fast scaling? The numbers seem to be good but knowing they are lower on lesser processors wondering what different settings are giving you higher numbers.
Do you have 4K cams.

I used suggested settings for i5-8500- only 4 cams:
4400 kB/s and 300MPs and always get around 36-40% and higher if not using fast scaling.
 

gfaulk09

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
44
Reaction score
2
Location
Memphis
It’s a new system that I finished building yesterday. All I did was migrate blue iris over.
Most of my cameras are only streaming in at 1080p at 15fps. A couple may be a little higher. No graphic overlays. All direct to disc recording.
What do you all think I should be seeing as far as cpu usage?
 
Top