New camera install; looking to hire out and seeking advice

nascentes

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi there. ipcam noobie here.

Please feel free to direct me to a thread or a resource that would help me. I searched but am not finding exactly what I'm looking for, so figured I'd make a post.

I've been having some issues with my neighbors messing with things in the front yard (turning off our sprinklers, littering, roaming dogs pooping everywhere, missing packages), and additionally, we live near to a relatively high-crime city. Given these circumstances, I would like to get a camera system set up.

Some facts:

1. Three sides of the house to cover with back fenced/gated off. I figure two cameras for the front (one for recessed front patio, one for driveway/yard), one for each side, and one for the back. Total of five cameras.

2. I'm a network/ops admin by day, so I'd like to have cameras POE on their own vLAN and manage the NVR software myself (looking at Blue Iris?)

3. I'm a relatively new homeowner and my handiness only goes so far. I have no confidence in adequately installing outdoor cameras in a secure and clean fashion. I'm planning to hire the install out.

Given the above, does this seem like a logical approach? Will a company do setup for me up to the point of having the cameras connected to a POE switch and allow me to handle the rest? Is this a silly thing to do? Are there any questions I should ask a prospective installer prior to scheduling an engagement? (eg. camera type, wire type, budget options (if smart), legal implications of camera positioning, etc...)

Also, can I buy my own cameras for said installer to use? (question for installer, probably, I suppose)

Thank you in advance for any input you might have. I'm feeling a bit out of my depth.