New hikvision setup

OdessaDan

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I am new to hikvision, I have always had box setups and finally decided to take the plunge into a real system. I have been doing some research and think I have come up with a good system. Mainly looking for someone to take a look at what I have and let me know if it is a good system.

I have a townhouse and only need to watch the front and back of the house. I need cameras that have good to great night vision.

NVR: Hikvision DS-7608NI-E2/8P Embedded Plug & Play NVR with 2TB HDD
DS-7608NI-E2/8P-2TB
Cameras: Looking for 4 Hikvision 4MP Indoor/Outdoor EXIR Turret Network Camera with 2.8mm Lens
DS-2CD2342WD-I-2.8MM
Thanks for taking a look, I really appreciate it.

Ryan00

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
From what I have been told 4mp isn't good at night. Also 2.8mm lens isn't good for facial ID unless they walk in front of the camera.

OdessaDan

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks @Ryan00 Im thinking of changing out two of the cameras to 4mm, and using the 2.8mm as a wider view to cover the entire front. We have quite a bit of light in the front and back hoping that will help with the night vision

Ryan00

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Now with what I said above I have 2 4mp 4mm cameras outside and 3 4mp 2.8 cameras outside and their great at day time . Night is okay but you will need to add light somehow if you want a good facial ID

OdessaDan

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks @Ryan00 we have flood lights in the front and back, the front also has a porch light that is on at all times during the night.

Ryan00

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Thanks @Ryan00 we have flood lights in the front and back, the front also has a porch light that is on at all times during the night.

I have 3 800 lumens lights and a mr beams 300 lumens on my driveway with my hikvision 4mp 4mm and I can get a good facial Id at night but it can be better .

Edit: point is you need tons of light or lower mp like a 2mp

Ryan00