IP Cam Talk

Welcome to the new IPCT! If you are having an issue logging in, please clear your cookies / cache.

New member is completely lost...

John75

n3wb
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
5
Location
Chicago Suburbs
All -

First off - thanks to everyone who has filled this site with information. It has been very valuable assisting me with product selection and efforts to install my cameras. That being said...I have failed miserably in getting everything up and running so was someone could help me with the computer end of my system.

My system consists of:

Unifi 8-port POE Switch
6 Dahua HDW-5231R-ZE installed (bought from EmpireTec).
1 IPC-HFW 1831C installed (bought from EmpireTec)
Dell Precision 3420 Workstation Intel Quad Core i7-6700 8GB RAM 128GB (Purchased from Ebay)
Dual NIC
WD Purple 6 TB
Blue Iris Software

Other than the Unifi switch I purchased everything from reading this site.

I have a full Unifi network that I have set up and running so understand to a degree how that works. However, even just using a basic POE injector I just can't figure our how to get my computer to recognize my cameras whether through Blue Iris or using a browser to access it via IP address. While I have some technical knowledge but am a complete noob when it comes to networking, etc.

Any help is appreciated!!!!!
 
Last edited:

TL1096r

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
306
All -

First off - thanks to everyone who has filled this site with information. It has been very valuable assisting me with product selection and efforts to install my cameras. That being said...I have failed miserably in getting everything up and running so was someone could help me with the computer end of my system.

My system consists of:

Unifi 8-port POE Switch
6 Dahua HDW-5231R-ZE installed (bought from EmpireTec).
1 IPC-HFW 1831C installed (bought from EmpireTec)
Dell Precision 3420 Workstation Intel Quad Core i7-6700 8GB RAM 128GB (Purchased from Ebay)
Blue Iris Software

Other than the Unifi switch I purchased everything from reading this site.

I have a full Unifi network that I have set up and running so understand to a degree how that works. However, even just using a basic POE injector I just can't figure our how to get my computer to recognize my cameras whether through Blue Iris or using a browser to access it via IP address. While I have some technical knowledge but am a complete noob when it comes to networking, etc.

Any help is appreciated!!!!!
What part are you stuck on?

Try this:
Dual NIC setup on your Blue Iris Machine

Change your IP and then camera IP for each camera - plug in each one 1 at a time. Once you have the same ip at network card you would be able to enter it into the browser and set it up name/pw and then change your IP.
 

TL1096r

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
306

John75

n3wb
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
5
Location
Chicago Suburbs
Thanks for the great info. That dual NIC link might be the ticket. I can't work on this tonight or tomorrow but there is a good chance I will be back on Wednesday with further questions.
 

TL1096r

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
306
Thanks for the great info. That dual NIC link might be the ticket. I can't work on this tonight or tomorrow but there is a good chance I will be back on Wednesday with further questions.
yes another NIC is inexpensive and would be very easy to setup following those steps. You will be up and running in a few hours.
 

Q™

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Messages
4,408
Reaction score
3,080
Location
Megatroplis, USA
That dual NIC link might be the ticket
Forget the dual NIC idea: why on Earth would you want to complicate that which is so simple.
  • 1) On your Blue Iris server elect Start Menu > Run > Type CMD > Hit ENTER > Then type IPCONFIG in the resulting black box > Hit ENTER > Tell us what the reported "IPv4 Address" and the "Default Gateway" addresses are
It will look like this...
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.92
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1​
  • 2) After you've told us what your Blue Iris Server's IP address is we'll tell you to set it to a static IP address
    • Example: 192.168.1.200
  • 3) Then we'll tell you how to log into each of your cameras and to configure each of your cameras with a static IP address, for example...
    • Cam #1: 192.168.1.201
    • Cam #2: 192.168.1.202
    • Cam #3: 192.168.1.203
    • Cam #4: 192.168.1.204
    • Cam #5: 192.168.1.205
    • Cam #6: 192.168.1.206
  • 4) Then we'll tell you how to setup each camera in Blue Iris
Now proceed to step #1 and tell us the reported "IPv4 Address" and the "Default Gateway" addresses are.

Thumbsmiley20.gif
 
Last edited:

ThomasPI

Pulling my weight
Joined
May 9, 2017
Messages
302
Reaction score
197
Forget the dual NIC idea: why on Earth would you want to complicate that which is so simple.
  • 1) On your Blue Iris server elect Start Menu > Run > Type CMD > Hit ENTER > Then type IPCONFIG in the resulting black box > Hit ENTER > Tell us what the reported "IPv4 Address" and the "Default Gateway" addresses are
It will look like this...
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.92
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1​
  • 2) After you've told us what your Blue Iris Server's IP address is we'll tell you to set it to a static IP address
    • Example: 192.168.1.200
  • 3) Then we'll tell you how to log into each of your cameras and to configure each of your cameras with a static IP address, for example...
    • Cam #1: 192.168.1.201
    • Cam #2: 192.168.1.202
    • Cam #3: 192.168.1.203
    • Cam #4: 192.168.1.204
    • Cam #5: 192.168.1.205
    • Cam #6: 192.168.1.206
  • 4) Then we'll tell you how to setup each camera in Blue Iris
Now proceed to step #1 and tell us the reported "IPv4 Address" and the "Default Gateway" addresses are.

Way to go Q.
 

John75

n3wb
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
5
Location
Chicago Suburbs
Minor success and still a big failure.

I've got access to my cameras...however, the first one when I started it asked me to load an add in and now it appears I am locked out of that one. In fact, I am locked out of all of the cameras using IE. I can log in using Edge all of them except the first one. The first one tells me my password is wrong.

If I try IE a pop keeps popping up asking me to load a program outside of Protected mode. The name and publisher of the program is Zhejiang Dahua Technology Co., LTD. No matter how many times I say don't allow and mark Do not show the warning for this program again it keeps popping up. Did I brick the first camera?
 

pinko

Known around here
Joined
May 26, 2017
Messages
337
Reaction score
523
Location
Australia
I typed individual answers to your questions, but deleted them.

READ the CLIFF NOTES then READ the CLIFF NOTES to find the answers to your questions.
 

TL1096r

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 28, 2017
Messages
1,048
Reaction score
306
Minor success and still a big failure.

I've got access to my cameras...however, the first one when I started it asked me to load an add in and now it appears I am locked out of that one. In fact, I am locked out of all of the cameras using IE. I can log in using Edge all of them except the first one. The first one tells me my password is wrong.

If I try IE a pop keeps popping up asking me to load a program outside of Protected mode. The name and publisher of the program is Zhejiang Dahua Technology Co., LTD. No matter how many times I say don't allow and mark Do not show the warning for this program again it keeps popping up. Did I brick the first camera?
hmm.. don't enable it.

try:
The Pale Moon Project homepage

or chrome with ie tab extension
IE Tab
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
1
Location
Corbin, KY 40701, USA
All -

First off - thanks to everyone who has filled this site with information. It has been very valuable assisting me with product selection and efforts to install my cameras. That being said...I have failed miserably in getting everything up and running so was someone could help me with the computer end of my system.

My system consists of:

Unifi 8-port POE Switch
6 Dahua HDW-5231R-ZE installed (bought from EmpireTec).
1 IPC-HFW 1831C installed (bought from EmpireTec)
Dell Precision 3420 Workstation Intel Quad Core i7-6700 8GB RAM 128GB (Purchased from Ebay)
Blue Iris Software

Other than the Unifi switch I purchased everything from reading this site.

I have a full Unifi network that I have set up and running so understand to a degree how that works. However, even just using a basic POE injector I just can't figure our how to get my computer to recognize my cameras whether through Blue Iris or using a browser to access it via IP address. While I have some technical knowledge but am a complete noob when it comes to networking, etc.

Any help is appreciated!!!!!
hello
 

John75

n3wb
Joined
Sep 9, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
5
Location
Chicago Suburbs
Ok Ok I get it...search function is my friend. I've been on enough forums to know better than to ask without doing a search myself. Usually at least one person pops up with faux outrage at treating the new person poorly and provides the correct answer. It's like everyone collectively had a bad week at work and was drinking bad whiskey when they decided to respond?

Before I begin - is this the correct avenue? Dahua IPC EASY unbricking / recovery over TFTP

Google didn't really do anything for me. I came up with two results: search 1 and search 2. They only led me to the real dahua company website that didn't tell me anything about the password change. The cliff notes didn't speak to the password change but that is where I got the bricked result from.
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
7,790
Reaction score
6,279
Location
Evansville, Indiana
@John75
Stop!
You most likely did not brick anything.
See here John: Dahua ConfigTool using Instruction
Of course, if @John75 would have answered @Qtm questions above, he would be much further along by now.

On another note, when someone like John comes along that is obviously lost, it does not help the situation at ALL to start throwing advanced Technics at the person such as, dual nics etc.
 
Last edited:
Top