New member is completely lost...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by John75, Sep 9, 2019 at 7:40 PM.

Share This Page

  1. John75

    John75 n3wb

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    All -

    First off - thanks to everyone who has filled this site with information. It has been very valuable assisting me with product selection and efforts to install my cameras. That being said...I have failed miserably in getting everything up and running so was someone could help me with the computer end of my system.

    My system consists of:

    Unifi 8-port POE Switch
    6 Dahua HDW-5231R-ZE installed (bought from EmpireTec).
    1 IPC-HFW 1831C installed (bought from EmpireTec)
    Dell Precision 3420 Workstation Intel Quad Core i7-6700 8GB RAM 128GB (Purchased from Ebay)
    Blue Iris Software

    Other than the Unifi switch I purchased everything from reading this site.

    I have a full Unifi network that I have set up and running so understand to a degree how that works. However, even just using a basic POE injector I just can't figure our how to get my computer to recognize my cameras whether through Blue Iris or using a browser to access it via IP address. While I have some technical knowledge but am a complete noob when it comes to networking, etc.

    Any help is appreciated!!!!!
     
    mat200 likes this.
  2. pinko

    pinko Known around here

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    350
    Location:
    Australia
    Hey John75 welcome to the forums.
    I'll send you a PM, to see if I can help you get started or at least point you in the right direction.
     
    SouthernYankee, TL1096r and mat200 like this.
  3. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    189
    What part are you stuck on?

    Try this:
    Dual NIC setup on your Blue Iris Machine

    Change your IP and then camera IP for each camera - plug in each one 1 at a time. Once you have the same ip at network card you would be able to enter it into the browser and set it up name/pw and then change your IP.
     
    mat200 and pinko like this.
  4. pinko

    pinko Known around here

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    350
    Location:
    Australia
    mat200 and TL1096r like this.
  5. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    189
    mat200 likes this.
  6. John75

    John75 n3wb

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    Thanks for the great info. That dual NIC link might be the ticket. I can't work on this tonight or tomorrow but there is a good chance I will be back on Wednesday with further questions.
     
  7. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    189
    yes another NIC is inexpensive and would be very easy to setup following those steps. You will be up and running in a few hours.
     
  8. Q™

    Q™ IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Messages:
    4,384
    Likes Received:
    3,044
    Location:
    Megatroplis, USA
    Forget the dual NIC idea: why on Earth would you want to complicate that which is so simple.
    • 1) On your Blue Iris server elect Start Menu > Run > Type CMD > Hit ENTER > Then type IPCONFIG in the resulting black box > Hit ENTER > Tell us what the reported "IPv4 Address" and the "Default Gateway" addresses are
    It will look like this...
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.92
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1​
    • 2) After you've told us what your Blue Iris Server's IP address is we'll tell you to set it to a static IP address
      • Example: 192.168.1.200
    • 3) Then we'll tell you how to log into each of your cameras and to configure each of your cameras with a static IP address, for example...
      • Cam #1: 192.168.1.201
      • Cam #2: 192.168.1.202
      • Cam #3: 192.168.1.203
      • Cam #4: 192.168.1.204
      • Cam #5: 192.168.1.205
      • Cam #6: 192.168.1.206
    • 4) Then we'll tell you how to setup each camera in Blue Iris
    Now proceed to step #1 and tell us the reported "IPv4 Address" and the "Default Gateway" addresses are.

    Thumbsmiley20.gif
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2019 at 10:26 PM
  9. pinko

    pinko Known around here

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    350
    Location:
    Australia
  10. ThomasPI

    ThomasPI Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    175
    Way to go Q.
     
  11. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    189
    mat200 likes this.
  12. John75

    John75 n3wb

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    Minor success and still a big failure.

    I've got access to my cameras...however, the first one when I started it asked me to load an add in and now it appears I am locked out of that one. In fact, I am locked out of all of the cameras using IE. I can log in using Edge all of them except the first one. The first one tells me my password is wrong.

    If I try IE a pop keeps popping up asking me to load a program outside of Protected mode. The name and publisher of the program is Zhejiang Dahua Technology Co., LTD. No matter how many times I say don't allow and mark Do not show the warning for this program again it keeps popping up. Did I brick the first camera?
     
  13. pinko

    pinko Known around here

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    350
    Location:
    Australia
    I typed individual answers to your questions, but deleted them.

    READ the CLIFF NOTES then READ the CLIFF NOTES to find the answers to your questions.
     
    mat200 likes this.
  14. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    189
    hmm.. don't enable it.

    try:
    The Pale Moon Project homepage

    or chrome with ie tab extension
    IE Tab
     
    mat200 likes this.
  15. pinko

    pinko Known around here

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    350
    Location:
    Australia
    Found the answer
     
    mat200 likes this.
  16. TL1096r

    TL1096r Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    189
    It honestly helps to watch a video with how to search with google in different ways:
     
    ThomasPI and mat200 like this.
  17. ThomasPI

    ThomasPI Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    175
    There ya go, get your Google Fu on.
     
  18. gracehealthky

    gracehealthky n3wb

    Joined:
    Yesterday
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Corbin, KY 40701, USA
    hello
     
    catcamstar likes this.
  19. John75

    John75 n3wb

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    Ok Ok I get it...search function is my friend. I've been on enough forums to know better than to ask without doing a search myself. Usually at least one person pops up with faux outrage at treating the new person poorly and provides the correct answer. It's like everyone collectively had a bad week at work and was drinking bad whiskey when they decided to respond?

    Before I begin - is this the correct avenue? Dahua IPC EASY unbricking / recovery over TFTP

    Google didn't really do anything for me. I came up with two results: search 1 and search 2. They only led me to the real dahua company website that didn't tell me anything about the password change. The cliff notes didn't speak to the password change but that is where I got the bricked result from.
     
  20. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,508
    Likes Received:
    5,898
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    @John75
    Stop!
    You most likely did not brick anything.
    See here John: Dahua ConfigTool using Instruction
    Of course, if @John75 would have answered @Qtm questions above, he would be much further along by now.

    On another note, when someone like John comes along that is obviously lost, it does not help the situation at ALL to start throwing advanced Technics at the person such as, dual nics etc.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2019 at 2:23 PM
    ThomasPI and mat200 like this.