New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

Discussion in 'Doorbells' started by fleece, Aug 18, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. fcol

    fcol n3wb

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah, you're probably right - thanks. I like the form factor and don't need the two-way communication or push notifications (since BI and Homeseer alert me before someone even pushes the button). In addition to privacy, I didn't like the idea of uploading 20GB per day but it looks like it only streams to the cloud when I'm actively using the app (??). So I suppose I can live with it... Or I can just block the ports at the router.

    If someone can recommend a good ~$120 POE, IP camera with a similar or smaller form factor, then I'm all ears...

    Edit: By the way, I tried to change the gateway and DNS to fake addresses using IVMS-4200. That seemed to stop it from communicating outside my LAN (maybe? I don't know how to packet capture but the RCA app stopped working). But then the camera rebooted itself multiple times for unknown reasons. So I switched added back the correct gateway/DNS servers and am now just blocking ports for its IP address.
     
  2. scruzloose33

    scruzloose33 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I am currently just running ZoneMinder right now. Quite frankly, I am thinking about switching because ZoneMinder has been giving me issues. I much prefer Linux over Windows, but I might need to bite the bullet and switch to Blue Iris and see how it goes.
     
  3. bcslaam

    bcslaam n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I gather you use a vpn and dont rely on their apps to push notifications? Im yet to realise instant push notifications with BI. It seems its not quite up to the task of replacing a doorbell app.
    Am I missing something?
     
  4. bcslaam

    bcslaam n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the link just purchased one and a heath zenith mechanical chime.
     
  5. scruzloose33

    scruzloose33 n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I have been using the Hik Connect app for push notifications, live viewing, and video playback. But, now that I have switched ISPs and AT&T is giving me trouble with the video playback, I need to find an alternate solution for video playback. I expect I will continue to use Hik Connect (or one of the sister apps) for push notifications, but use ZM/BI/etc. for video playback. It is far from ideal, so I hope I can work with AT&T to figure out how to unblock the video playback issue.
     
  6. fcol

    fcol n3wb

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    5
    I use a VPN and don't really need the RCA app. BI instant push notifications work for me but they don't include images. It seemed like that was a more recent feature (?) but I'm probably 4-6 months behind the latest BI version. In BI, I send an image as an MMS which is near-instant most of the time (sometimes there is a delay). But I have a driveway gate with sensors so I get notifications (from Homeseer) as soon as the gate is opened. Homeseer then triggers BI to send images of my driveway (and now front porch). Sooner or later, I'll set up motion detection with this RCA camera in BI and have that trigger events, too. So that's why I personally don't need a notification when someone actually pushes the doorbell button.
     
  7. KlaverBoer

    KlaverBoer n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Today i finally figured it out how to add the Ezviz-DB1 in the Surveillance Station from Synology. So now i do not need the app anymore. For push notifications i receive snapshots (triggered with my domotica system) from pushover and for motion detection i'm using Surveillance Station. For who is interested, just ask and i will tell you the steps to perform.
     
  8. Aocam

    Aocam n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Ontario
     

    Attached Files:

  9. dbaker

    dbaker n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arizona
    I installed the the LaView last night and initial impressions are good. I am mostly comparing it to Nest Hello that was up and I have to say the image is a lot better than the Nest. I attached a few images comparing the different lighting options and a couple images from the Nest.
     

    Attached Files:

    2ndLeaf likes this.
  10. 2ndLeaf

    2ndLeaf n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    Can the app run on Google Home Hub or Lenovo Smart Display? I am looking for a stationary monitor solution at home so people without smart phone can still talk to visitors before opening door.
     
  11. Pilot04

    Pilot04 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    40
    Interesting that LaView latest version to upgrade to is still FW v5.2.4 build 190103 instead of latest from RCA v5.2.4 build 190124. Can you post screenshot of the LaView ONE app device config page for the doorbell? Want to see how it compares to the other rebrand apps. Especially curious if any Amazon Alexa setting is in the LaView ONE app or the LaView cloud backend for Amazon integration.
     
  12. dbaker

    dbaker n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arizona
    I have a LaView Halo so it may be a little different with the RCA. I know LaView One will not work with Google Home Hub. It states it has Alexa support but I don't have a device to test with.

    I currently have a Fire Tablet with LaView One installed. It is mounted to the wall, next to a USB outlet using a magnetic ball mount. This was originally installed before the Google Home Hub was announced, but I thing . Here is the mount I am using. I will get a picture of my setup tonight to post.

    I now prefer this over the Home Hub as I can run apps (LaView One) on it as well. When the door bell rings I get the same push/call that you get on the phone version. In addition if you want to run video 24/7 you can use the LAN View to keep the stream local. I was originally doing this with my Nest but was using twice the internet bandwidth, video going up then back down.
    [​IMG]


    I now prefer this over the Home Hub as I can run apps (LaView One) on it as well. When the door bell rings I get the same push/call that you get on the phone version. In addition if you want to run video 24/7 you can use the LAN View to keep the stream local. I was originally doing this with my Nest but was using twice the internet bandwidth, video going up then back down.
     
    dbarnes and 2ndLeaf like this.
  13. dbaker

    dbaker n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arizona

    I have not found anywhere in the app that Alexa is enabled/disabled. I did notice IFTTT was missing :(
     

    Attached Files:

  14. bookemdano

    bookemdano Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    15
    Just a tangential comment, but I wonder if it could be possible (say on a rooted Android device maybe) to figure out where the app is storing the fw upgrade file and pull it out from there. It could then be flashed manually via ivms-4200. Seems like an avenue maybe worth checking out for someone who has the time and skillset.
     
  15. dbaker

    dbaker n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arizona
    I just enabled the Alexa Skill and it took me to the following site to authorize https://iot.hicloudcam.com/login.jsp

    I added the LaView One Alexa skill to my account. After Discovery it did show in my list of Alexa devices. It also displayed in the Alexa iOS app, but no camera viewing available in the Alexa app. I have a Fire Tablet that has "Alexa mode" that I will try with tonight.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Pilot04

    Pilot04 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    40
    Thanks for the screenshots for your LaView HALO doorbell variant. I would've expected IFTTT settings would be under "More" on bottom of main page of ONE app like it is located in the Ezviz app.

    Thanks for confirming Alexa so it's definitely different than RCA as I can't get Alexa app to recognize the RCA HSDB2.
     
  17. Chadsturgill

    Chadsturgill Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    USA
    If someone grabs the packets off the network when the system downloads the firmware I bet you could grab it from
    There. Mine is already updated or I would do it.
     
  18. dbaker

    dbaker n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arizona
    IFTTT is not included on the "More" screen. I searched the app and cant find it anywhere.

    I am running Google Mini's throughout the hose for my "chime". Nest would announce someone is at the front door so I was hoping to use IFTTT if they had a trigger for doorbell button push.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Pilot04

    Pilot04 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    40
    I guess there is one negative feature of the ONE app compared to the Ezviz app. I use IFTTT on my other Ezviz compatible IPC's and on HSDB1(when I owned it in the past year).

    Where and how did you enable Alexa skill for the HALO? I still can't get Alexa skills to discover it as a device even though I went through your link to authorize.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. dbaker

    dbaker n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arizona
    I just logged into my Amazon account and searched for LaView One skill.
    https://www.amazon.com/LaView-Techn...id=1551808733&s=digital-skills&sr=1-1-catcorr

    From there it enabled it and took me to the link I posted to authorize my LaView Account.