New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

Pilot04

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
192
Reaction score
41
I just logged into my Amazon account and searched for LaView One skill.
https://www.amazon.com/LaView-Technology-ONE/dp/B07CZ44RM4/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=laview&qid=1551808733&s=digital-skills&sr=1-1-catcorr

From there it enabled it and took me to the link I posted to authorize my LaView Account.
Ok, it's same process that I used for Ezviz skill enablement in my Amazon account.

I'm not sure if LaView will let us register non-HALO units if they happen to cross reference S/N so haven't tried removing from Ezviz and trying to register with my empty LaView account even though it has identical logon credentials as the Ezviz/RCA/LTS/Clare/etc. CES articles on Ezviz claims Alexa and Google Assistant support for Ezviz DB1 but so far haven't been able to discover it via Alexa or Google home. Let us know once you get FW from LaView in Q2 that enables ONVIF.
 

2ndLeaf

n3wb
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Location
California
I have a LaView Halo so it may be a little different with the RCA. I know LaView One will not work with Google Home Hub. It states it has Alexa support but I don't have a device to test with.

I currently have a Fire Tablet with LaView One installed. It is mounted to the wall, next to a USB outlet using a magnetic ball mount. This was originally installed before the Google Home Hub was announced, but I thing . Here is the mount I am using. I will get a picture of my setup tonight to post.

I now prefer this over the Home Hub as I can run apps (LaView One) on it as well. When the door bell rings I get the same push/call that you get on the phone version. In addition if you want to run video 24/7 you can use the LAN View to keep the stream local. I was originally doing this with my Nest but was using twice the internet bandwidth, video going up then back down..
Hi dbaker,

Thanks for the information. The wall mount looks interesting. It makes more sense to mount it on wall than putting it on deskstop. Do you notice any delay for notification? This has been my biggest concern since both door bell and tablet are on wifi.

Looking forward to seeing your photo.
 

dbaker

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 21, 2019
Messages
40
Reaction score
13
Location
Arizona
Hi dbaker,

Thanks for the information. The wall mount looks interesting. It makes more sense to mount it on wall than putting it on deskstop. Do you notice any delay for notification? This has been my biggest concern since both door bell and tablet are on wifi.

Looking forward to seeing your photo.
The delay is 1/2 second at most for doorbell push to notification. There is also a slight delay under 1/2 second for 2-way communication. There was more like a second or two for 2-way communication on the Nest Hello I have.
 

dbaker

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 21, 2019
Messages
40
Reaction score
13
Location
Arizona
The delay is 1/2 second at most for doorbell push to notification. There is also a slight delay under 1/2 second for 2-way communication. There was more like a second or two for 2-way communication on the Nest Hello I have.
Here are a few pics of the tablet mounted, just the ball mount attached to the wall and magnet attached to the tablet. The call screen in the picture pops up as soon as the door bell is rung. I normally just the weather app running.

I can also confirm that Alexa will display the camera. I tested using the Show Mode of the Fire Tablet. "Alexa show front door" displayed the live image below. took about seconds from time of ask to display of live view.

IMG_5652.JPG
 

Attachments

Pilot04

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
192
Reaction score
41
Thanks for verification that LaView ONE HALO processes the "Alexa show front door" as marketed. I wish Ezviz would get on the ball to enable their backend for Amazon Alexa and Google Home so I can use HSDB2 with SmartThings and webcore. I like the no branding in the top left hand corner live view unlike on the HSDB2 so looking forward to the firmware for ONVIF in Q2.
 

2ndLeaf

n3wb
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Location
California
Here are a few pics of the tablet mounted, just the ball mount attached to the wall and magnet attached to the tablet. The call screen in the picture pops up as soon as the door bell is rung. I normally just the weather app running.

I can also confirm that Alexa will display the camera. I tested using the Show Mode of the Fire Tablet. "Alexa show front door" displayed the live image below. took about seconds from time of ask to display of live view.

View attachment 40041
Thanks a lot for the information. Really helpful. Placing my order now!
 

Pilot04

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 1, 2017
Messages
192
Reaction score
41
I saw a recent response from Ezviz support to a question from a customer stating "It will be compatible with Alexa in April or May." regarding their Ezviz DB1(HSDB2 variant) which would explain why Amazon couldn't discover my HSDB2 via Ezviz Skills. That is Q2 so may be same timeframe as LaView's announced plan for with ONVIF support. Hopefully, firmware will be compatible across all variants and someone can sniff packets off the wire when doorbell pulls down the new firmware. The LaView ONE firmware didn't appear to show any branding like the RCA and has Alexa support with potential for ONVIF support...
 

Emiks5

n3wb
Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
21
Reaction score
6
Location
Netherlands
Today i finally figured it out how to add the Ezviz-DB1 in the Surveillance Station from Synology. So now i do not need the app anymore. For push notifications i receive snapshots (triggered with my domotica system) from pushover and for motion detection i'm using Surveillance Station. For who is interested, just ask and i will tell you the steps to perform.
I am looking for an ip-video-doorbell. And did not find any positive reviews on any of them, until I came accross this item on this forum. I guess this is the first, atleast for a reasonable price it is.
Hooking up your NAS is very interesting. For my ip-cams I use a Raspberry Pi with the motion package (Turn a Raspberry Pi into NVR or DVR with Motion) for motion detection and cloud (dropbox) storage of the motion clips and would like to keep using it also with the new doorbell, not depending on a brand-specific cloudserver somewhere in China. But I also might be in for a Synology. So tell us, please.
 

2ndLeaf

n3wb
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Location
California
I installed the Laview doorbell over the weekend. So far I like it. However the porch area looks very dark because of backlight. Is there any way to adjust it? Also can the doorbell speaker volume be adjusted?
 

dbaker

Young grasshopper
Joined
Feb 21, 2019
Messages
40
Reaction score
13
Location
Arizona
I installed the Laview doorbell over the weekend. So far I like it. However the porch area looks very dark because of backlight. Is there any way to adjust it? Also can the doorbell speaker volume be adjusted?
I can't remember if you can adjust the speaker volume, but there are several video quality settings you can make using the LaView Net Client (LaView version of Hikvision iVMS-4200).
Download - LaView
The user name is admin and the password is on a sticker on the back of your doorbell.

EDIT:

Alias: enter a name for your device "Front Door"
Register Mode: IP/Domain
Address:IP address of your doorbell (can be found in the LaView One app -> More -> LAN live view - Start scanning)
Port: 8000
User Name: admin
Password: alpha characters from the sticker on the back of the Halo
Camera: will default to first available number, 1
 
Last edited:

2ndLeaf

n3wb
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Location
California
I can't remember if you can adjust the speaker volume, but there are several video quality settings you can make using the LaView Net Client (LaView version of Hikvision iVMS-4200).
Download - LaView
The user name is admin and the password is on a sticker on the back of your doorbell.
Thanks for the information. I will give it a try.
 

KlaverBoer

n3wb
Joined
Jan 12, 2019
Messages
16
Reaction score
10
Location
The Netherlands
I am looking for an ip-video-doorbell. And did not find any positive reviews on any of them, until I came accross this item on this forum. I guess this is the first, atleast for a reasonable price it is.
Hooking up your NAS is very interesting. For my ip-cams I use a Raspberry Pi with the motion package (Turn a Raspberry Pi into NVR or DVR with Motion) for motion detection and cloud (dropbox) storage of the motion clips and would like to keep using it also with the new doorbell, not depending on a brand-specific cloudserver somewhere in China. But I also might be in for a Synology. So tell us, please.
You cannot add the Ezviz DB1 camera to your Synology using the normal way. But you must connect to your Synology using SSH.

1) First open a SSH connection to your Synology.
2) Create a new file for example : Ezviz-DB1.conf It should be placed in /var/packages/SurveillanceStation/target/device_pack/camera_support
3) Change the ownership of the file to the same user and group of the other conf files in my case that is SurveillanceStation:SurveillanceStation
4) Edit the Ezviz-DB1.conf file with sudo vi
5) Paste the following lines into the conf file:

[Ezviz*DB1]
api = custom
resolution_h264 = 2048x1536
default_resolution_h264 = 2048x1536
fps_h264_2048x1536 = 5,10,15,20,25,30
fps_h264_1280x720 = 5,10,15,20,25,30
default_fps_h264_2048x1536 = 15
default_image-quality = 5

h264 = rtsp
mpeg4 = rtsp
mjpeg = rtsp
motion = h264,mpeg4,mjpeg

motion_param = sensitivity,threshold
rtsp_keepalive = none
rtsp_protocol = auto,udp,tcp

6) Save and close the file

7) Now go to the Surveillance Station management page
8) Add a new camera. Complete Setup.
9)
Brand: Ezviz
Camera Model: DB1
Port: 554
Username: admin
Password: Activation code of your doorbell
10) Next
11) In the next screen (Video) i did not change anything
12) In the Recording settings. You can change what suits you
13) In the Schedule settings i only use Motion Detection. But Continuous also works fine.
14) Once the camera is added. Now you have to edit the camera
15) In Device Settings go to the Advanced tab
Transport protocol: udp
Streaming Information Source: Streaming
16) Every setting where you can choose the quality i have chosen High Quality.
17) It should work now

When you first add your camera the "live preview" is still not visible but when you click on it you see the live stream. I do see a the small live preview but that was after i exported the config. Made some changes to the stream paths and imported the camera config again.

I hope it is clear enough.
 

Emiks5

n3wb
Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
21
Reaction score
6
Location
Netherlands
You cannot add the Ezviz DB1 camera to your Synology using the normal way. But you must connect to your Synology using SSH.
....

When you first add your camera the "live preview" is still not visible but when you click on it you see the live stream. I do see a the small live preview but that was after i exported the config. Made some changes to the stream paths and imported the camera config again.

I hope it is clear enough.
This looks like it should be clear. I don't own a Synology yet but this will for sure be very clear for everyone who does. Thanks
 

Emiks5

n3wb
Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
21
Reaction score
6
Location
Netherlands
Ok now I'm really puzzled. The Ezviz support suggests I should buy either the Honeywell D117 or the Byron 771 chime, which are the only ones from their compatibility list available in Europe/Netherlands. These are both 8VAC (or9V batt) operated chimes. And after asking they also suggest to use a transformer of 12-24 V 2A. Will this not fry the chime? And what is in this powerkit,wich is connected parallel to the chime?
 

concord

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Oct 24, 2017
Messages
167
Reaction score
49
Ok now I'm really puzzled. The Ezviz support suggests I should buy either the Honeywell D117 or the Byron 771 chime, which are the only ones from their compatibility list available in Europe/Netherlands. These are both 8VAC (or9V batt) operated chimes. And after asking they also suggest to use a transformer of 12-24 V 2A. Will this not fry the chime? And what is in this powerkit,wich is connected parallel to the chime?
It appears the Honeywell D117 is 8 to 16VAC, according to images shown on the link below, then a 16VAC transformer should work. Nest Community

The "PowerKit" can be used to prevent your chime actuator from vibrating, which sounds like a constant hum. I used a resistor across the transformer and front-door terminal on the chime; early on, they did not include the powerkit.
 

Emiks5

n3wb
Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
21
Reaction score
6
Location
Netherlands
It appears the Honeywell D117 is 8 to 16VAC, according to images shown on the link below, then a 16VAC transformer should work. Nest Community

The "PowerKit" can be used to prevent your chime actuator from vibrating, which sounds like a constant hum. I used a resistor across the transformer and front-door terminal on the chime; early on, they did not include the powerkit.
Thanks. Yes it look like the Honeywell/Friedland D117 is the way to go togethher with a 8-16 VAC 2A transformer. That will most definitely do the job.
 

Offt

n3wb
Joined
Feb 19, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
USA
I did not read all 18pgs
I'm purchased the Laview I guess same thing as rca/ezviz. I did get it when it was on the super sale (via slickdeals) -- for the same price as these others are normally *grimace*
I'm wondering if I was an idiot for not purchasing the Ezviz version?
I have not had a chance to install or test yet as I need to get a transformer and doorbell.
Is Ezviz better on software/app side?
The LaView seems to be the only one that does not come with the multiple faceplate colors and I would have preferred one of the other colors
The LaView has 15' night vis 115 horizonal field of view and every other has 105??? with Ezviz having 25' night vision?
Should I be returning this for the Ezviz? If they are all the same hardware rebadged why the difference in specs?


**I also do not have an existing system and have no experience. What brought me to ipcamtalk and got me to bite on the slickdeals mention of the 3mp sony sensor doorbell is -- I need to come up with two NVR/Blue Iris for two different locations with different requirements - one to provide surveillance/security outside home - this the doorbell purchase was to be included in. I need a second for elder care inside a home w/ 2way audio and ultimate reliability.
I shall ask about everything elsewhere on here though providing to describe my current state being clueless. I despise getting neither the best deals nor the best quality and this field is massive to someone completely new to it.
 

2ndLeaf

n3wb
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
Location
California
I can't remember if you can adjust the speaker volume, but there are several video quality settings you can make using the LaView Net Client (LaView version of Hikvision iVMS-4200).
Download - LaView
The user name is admin and the password is on a sticker on the back of your doorbell.

EDIT:

Alias: enter a name for your device "Front Door"
Register Mode: IP/Domain
Address:IP address of your doorbell (can be found in the LaView One app -> More -> LAN live view - Start scanning)
Port: 8000
User Name: admin
Password: alpha characters from the sticker on the back of the Halo
Camera: will default to first available number, 1
Finally have chance to play with the video setting from the LaView Net Client. Backlight compensation is disabled in app. After adjust the brightness, the image is acceptable.

After one week of use, I don't think the PIR sensor works properly. I always got false alarm from the cars driving by, which is 20 feet away from the door bell. I adjust the alarm area setting to minimal (5 ft), but it makes no difference. All motion detection and alarm setting is disabled in LaView Net Client. Eventually I have to disable the alarm notification, which defeats the purpose.

One pleasant surprise is the wi-fi actually supports 802.11ac, which provides a very good bandwidth.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 22, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Location
Minnesota, USA
Does anyone have any opinions on getting the 3MP doorbell cam in the RCA vs LaView vs EzViz manufacturer? I'm looking at using it more as a stand alone unit versus integrating it with NVR or Blue Iris, but may do that at some point down the road. So mostly just interfacing with it from my PC or whatever app is provided by the manufacturer. Considerations would be best firmware update support and flexibility for integrating with other platforms.
 
Top