New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

Discussion in 'Doorbells' started by fleece, Aug 18, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. flynreelow

    flynreelow Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    98
    anyone else having issues with the button press alerting and opening your app on android. I get every single PIR notification, but when someone rings the bell, I only get the app to open maybe 1 time out of every 4 or 5. Its very strange.

    Wondering if others are having this same issue. I have already turned off the DOZE feature on android.

    anything else?
     
  2. dbaker

    dbaker n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arizona
    I am having the same issue with the Laview One Halo running under EZVIZ app. PIR notifications are working in Android and iOS but not doorbell push.
     
  3. Ford

    Ford Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    BC
    Doorbell push notification (and PIR as well) continues to work darn near instantly with the RCA branded jobbies and the RCA app under iOS.
    All this chatter prompted me to retest this morning.
     
  4. dbaker

    dbaker n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arizona
    I think my issue was caused by jumping back and fourth between the LaView and EZVIZ apps. Once I deleted the device from EZVIZ it asked me to wait 10 minutes before re-adding the device. Once added back, all alerts were received and IFTTT started working.

    Anyone know if the doorbell push can be used for an IFTTT trigger? I see the have "Intelligent Doorbell Alarm" as a type. But I am unable to get it to change the color of my lights when pushed. Not sure if this trigger is for their doorbell button?
     
  5. gpower07

    gpower07 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Tracy, California
    I installed both 2 and 3 mp doorbell. the 3mp pictures look much better.
     
  6. walth

    walth n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missouri
    I have the LaView version, the One Halo -- I haven't been able to get the mechanical chime working unless I disconnected the power kit -- but with the power kit disabled, there was a audible hum from the chime and you could see the plunger vibrating.

    I have tried rebooting the doorbell, disconnecting and reconnecting the power kit, reversing the polarity on the back of the doorbell, all with the same results. LaView technical support was not any help but what finally did solve the issue was to just wire the included resistor across the rear terminal on the chime as shown in the attachment. This wiring, with the power kit disabled has the mechanical chime working and no audible hum or vibration. Is there any risk in this configuration?

     
  7. blahblahyoutoo

    blahblahyoutoo n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the resistor on front and rear terminals which is what eliminated the buzzing for me.
     
    walth likes this.
  8. James92TSi

    James92TSi n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Greetings... total noob here.

    Has anyone successfully shared their RCA HSDB2 doorbell with a second user in the RCA app?

    After configuring everything initially on my phone, I setup the RCA app for my wife and created an account for her. Went into RCA app on my phone > doorbell > share button at the top of the screen. There you are supposed to type in the other user's ID (email or phone #) and hit the + to select what device(s) you want to share with them. No devices are listed when I hit the + so it will not let me share the doorbell.

    Since that didn't work, I have her phone signed into my RCA account... no idea if it will cause any issues being signed into the same account on 2 devices. Seemed to work (rang both phones when I pressed the bell).

    Unrelated: hoping that onvif, and particularly the ability to retrieve a JPG via URL, comes to this camera soon. (I saw the mention of onvif coming Q2 to the laview version.)
     
  9. gpower07

    gpower07 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Tracy, California
    I use hik connect.
     
  10. Emiks5

    Emiks5 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Netherlands
    After trying to get the Ezviz DB1 to work, but also playing with it, trying to get videofeeds by other soft- and hardware than the ezviz app on IOS, I have a few conclusions, which I would like to share. All of this concernes firmware V5.2.4 build 190124. Did not try the 190304 yet.

    1. At first I bought a 12V 18VA transformer (an Eaton TR-G3/18), because 12V is the mninimum requirement for the DB1 according to ezviz-support. And I purchased a Honeywell D117, which was on the list of compatible chimes on the ezviz website. And as you can see herafter, I also had to get an accespoint. So the total extras did cost 60 Euroos, making a total of 200 Euroos.

    2. I must say the picture quality is great. It has a 1536x2048 (Hor x Ver) max resolution. The picture has a strong fishey effect, this means that verically you have an full overview (180 deg), while horizontally it is 105 deg.

    3. The ezviz app is acceptable. I miss a few things that I have seen in other apps like wifi signal strength in dBms so you can see how changes in you wifi setup works on the doorbell. This seems to be quite important. It needs a strong wifi signal. What I also miss is the possibility to switch off the chime sound of the DB1 itself, which sounds through all of the street. Confusing is the way the different kind of footage is stored on the DB1: you have manually recorded videoos or taken pictures in "my album", PIR-event videoos in Gallery and pictures of people who actually ring the bell in the call-list. These are not all selectable in one view of the app.
    The video-feed tp the ezviz-app does not resume automatically after a connection loss. Why??

    4. As said, the DB1 needs a strong WIFI signal. Especially for receiving the call from the doorbell. My router did not suffice in this sense, because it was seperated by two walls and 4 meter distance from the doorbell. It gave a signal of -60 to-65 dBm according to the Guarding Vision app.
    Although the picture from the doorbell was fine and I did get movement notifications quite fast, I never received a doorbell ringing call. However the call-list was filled with every ringing of the doorbell. So I just did not get the push messages.
    I added an accesspoint on a location where it was only seperated by two doors and 2 meters from the doorbell and this gave me a -48 to -52 dBm signal (90%-95% signal strength according to the accesspoint).
    And now I get the call within a few (max 2) seconds on my Iphone7. Pitty that I first have to login to the Iphone before I can answer the call.

    5. The DB1 seems to soft-reset itself now and then, which will take a few seconds. The frequency of this seems to depend on how fast these streaming clients can proces the videostream and therefore also on the set resolution. When the client is fast enough the DB1 is very stable. An Iphone5 eg. makes the DB1 realy unstable when the resolution is set to Ultra Hi Def, resulting in a few resets per hour. Yes all the connected devices, also the fast ones loose their connection at that point. Ultra Hi Def on a Ipad 2 will give a few resets per day. While setting the resolion to Hi Def will give in both cases (iphone 5 and ipas 2) a stable setup. On a I phone 6 Ultra hi Def is vary stable.
    If you want to have a live-video feed all day long for weeks in a row I guess you should not use the ezviz app, because it does not resume the video-feed automatically again after the doorbell did a soft-reset.
    I use IPCamViewer for IOS, which resumes the live-view automatically after it loses the videostream for a while (why cant the ezviz do this)

    6.The resolution on all connected devices including external rtsp-connections as well as the internal recording on the micdrosd-card is depending on the latest changed resolution on any of the ezviz-app connected devices. Even the shared accounts connected to the DB1 will change the resolution of the DB1 if they change the app resolution (should not be possible for the shared accounts I think). This is not visible on the other connected devices. So if you change on one device from ultra-HD to HD the text underneath the livestream window of the other devices is not changed, but the resolution is. However restarting the app will show the correct resolution.
    This means if the last set resolution is ultra HD it will be : 1536x2048; if Hi-Def it will be 768x 1024; at standard it will produce 800x600. And this is happening on all connected devices. So there is only one stream available.

    7. When things go wrong, like after connecting a very slow device to the videostream (like in my case a 2nd gen raspberry pi), or when changing wifi settings or connecting to a new accespoint, it can take a while before the doorbell is stable again. Important is to close all connected apps completely and restart them again. This will speed up the wait time for a stable network connection.
    So my conlusion is after the first install, or some playing aronund with network settinngs you should not jump to conlusions, but give it some time to set.

    8. There is no PIR sensor in the doorbell. So the brochure lies about this. When you cover the lens, no movement is detected.
    Apart form that in bright sunny weather it seems far more sensitive to movement than in darker gloomy weather. It also detects lorries much easier than passenger cars. It even gave a PIR-event when a bee was flying in front of the lens (nice footage though).

    9. Facing the the western skies the DB1 switches quite late to the night-mode, while it also switches late to the day-mode.
    10. Annoyingly you can not switch off the chime sound on the doorbell itself. You can switch off the also annoying movement detection beep on the doorbel however.

    11. In eg. VLC you can get a videostream by rtsp://admin:passwd@192.168.xxx.xxx:554/Channels/1 or rtsp://admin:passwd@192.168.xxx.xxx:554/Channels/101

    12. Using the Hikvisioen iVSM-4200 Client windows-software you can change a number of settings of the CCD like WDR and back-light-compensation. You can also download the footage stored on the memory-card, except the videoos stored under "my album" (where are these??.

    13. Videoos recorded by hand are stored in "my album" The "PIR-initiated" videoos are stored under "Gallery" These are not the same appearantly.

    These are my findings until now. If you disagree with any of this, please tell.
     
    dmiller and Alan Erickson like this.
  11. papasan

    papasan n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    I read over this thread and didn't notice mention of the HSDB2A with IFTTT (though the HSDB1 was mentioned). does the 2A work with IFTTT? I haven't used IFTTT before but hoping I would be able to make my LANNouncer client create a doorbell chime via SmartThings and/or WebCore when the doorbell ringer is pressed. has anyone tried this?
     
  12. LTek

    LTek Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    Guys need some help... In iVSM-4200 and LaView Net Client (windows installs) : I dont see any settings for 'Remove Text Overlay' or 'Enable WDR' or 'Back-light Compensation'

    thx!
     
  13. Emiks5

    Emiks5 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You will find the “ENABLE text overlay” in menu item image->video display.
    The “WDR” and “backlight” items you will find under menu item CCD.
    However most of the time CCD is not appearing in the menu. So you probably will have to refresh and start remote config a few times
     
  14. LTek

    LTek Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you.

    Odd, I don't have setting for under Image -> Video Display -> “ENABLE text overlay” ? (tried LaView & HIK app)

    Looks like WDR cannot be on if CCD -> "Backlight Compensation" is on.

    Maybe we can share our testing results to help others get the best image quality for their lighting situation.


    What Settings are you guys using, and levels, you find are working best for you?
    - for instance, with all my lighting level set at default, WDR make the image looked washed out/hazy a bit even at low levels like 6 (worse as it gets higher) where Backlight Comp @ Right or Down help even the lighting out (my entrance is walled so major backlight "tunnel" issues) but don't help much - but also doesnt make the image look hazy or washed out.
    - Whats the diff between lighting controls under CCD -> Video Settings vs Image -> Settings

    Right now, I'm on WDR 14 with all other levels at default - notice it looks a bit hazy (early morning the entrance gets North-East direct, very bright, sunlight.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Alan Erickson

    Alan Erickson n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    I'll second desire to get rid of the chime sound the doorbell itself makes when the Ezviz is rang. Not sure who thought this was a good idea. I suppose if it's in a remote location where you can't actually hear the charm ring it might not be a bad idea, but on the other hand if it's somewhere with close neighbors I got to think they wouldn't be too happy.
     
  16. Emiks5

    Emiks5 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I Use WDR value of 35. Rest is standard. Camera is facing west.
    1st picture approx. one hour before sunset. 2nd at sunset.
    Image1.jpg Image2.jpg
     
  17. KlaverBoer

    KlaverBoer n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes indeed the chime is very loud and annoying. Because i do not use the intercom functionality i have put a peace of tape over the speaker. That works fine for me.
     
  18. Rexxiboy

    Rexxiboy n3wb

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach
    4/20/19
    Just got mine 2 days ago, trying to get this to work with Synology NAS. But first thing first.

    1. The unit is really hot. I'm using a 24VAC power supply, I added the resistor per instruction, I don't have a chime device.
    2. Downloaded iVMS-4200, it is able to detect this device, I added it as a client, It work in the beginning, was able to get to Remote Configuration, but only twice. But most of the time it fails.
    3. I can't seem to get it to stream in VLC, I used this template rtsp://admin:passwd@192.168.xxx.xxx:554/Channels/1 from previous threads.
    4. Something I notice, when I'm on LAN, doorbell when press, opens up the APP as incoming call. However when I switch to LTE, with wifi off, It will not notify, unless you open the app and select your doorbell.
    5. It is sad to know that there are only a few options with this kind of devices that allows tinkering to get it to record locally, I have Synology NAS so this is supposed to be a great addition to my Reolink IP cameras, yet, this learning curve is so steep and a limited access to configuration.
    Not sure how long I will keep this, I think doorbell wise its serves its purpose, except #4 point above. It should be able to buzz your phone outside LAN.

    Update, 5/1/19
    1. I updated to latest build 190124, looks like maybe there is improvement in connecting to iVMS-4200. So I will test more
    2. Streaming RTSP works now, I had an error on my address. Yes, I am able to stream it to my Synology NAS.!!!!

    Update, 5/2/19
    1. Regarding the stream to Synology NAS Surveillance, so it looks like LIVE view does not work with RTSP. But all recordings can be downloaded and the can play fine with VLC. I also added the doorbell to my IPCAM View app which gives me a quick glance on all my cameras via LAN or WAN.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2019
  19. KlaverBoer

    KlaverBoer n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'm also using surveillance station on the Synology. Works great. If you are using a domotica system there are other ways to receive doorbell press notification. I have connected my Ezviz to a 433mhz transmitter and i'm using Pushover for the notifications. I do not use the Ezviz app at all.
     
  20. James92TSi

    James92TSi n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Interested in details on this 433MHz transmitter you mentioned.

    Also, for those recording this doorbell cam via RTSP feed - are any of you getting audio on those recordings? Curious to see your settings if you are.

    I am recording to a QNAP (running QVR Pro) and QVR does not recognize that there is an audio feed. I am not near the QNAP currently to show the settings i am using but could add that information later. Just curious if anyone else is getting audio out.

    I do have audio in the RCA app and in the motion-triggered recordings that the doorbell keeps on its sdcard - just no audio in the continuous recording on QNAP.

    Edit to add QVR Pro camera settings:
    - Brand, Model: Generic Model, Generic RTSP
    - IP: <LAN IP of doorbell>
    - Port*: 554
    - RTSP Port: 554
    - Account: admin
    - Password: <doorbell auth code from QR code sticker>

    *Normally Port is the HTTP port of the camera but this RCA doorbell doesn't answer HTTP on any port. Leaving it at 80 (default) would timeout and fail to connect. The field cannot be left blank so I used 554 and it works.

    I've used iVMS-4200 to connect to it and adjust image settings as well... neat that it connects and allows for adjustments even with the HTTP interface seemingly locked out in firmware. Hoping they open up HTTP and ONVIF soon for this device.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2019
    serveradmnstrtr likes this.