New RCA HSDB2A 3MP Doorbell IP Camera

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,404
Reaction score
814
Location
USA
Odd, shouldn't the camera be cleaning up the SD card so its never "full". Really a pain to have to pull the SD card out, put in a PC and format etc. Wonder if its a known issue, we can't be the only 2 with the problem.
I thought so too. Maybe I have a setting wrong.
 
Last edited:

Ip2b

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
81
Reaction score
26
The video, when being recorded and viewed, is not choppy at all, however, when I run the live video through IVMS-4200, the feed eventually (after watching for about an hour or so) begins to get a bit choppy. Once I re-initiate the live video, the choppyness goes away, but then re-appears later. Any suggestions for adjustments or other ways to watch the live feed? I used to use a browser (on a Mac) and never had this issue, but I can no longer do this because all the browsers stopped allowing me to watch a live feed. I've tried this on multiple computers (plenty of CPU power/ram) and got the same results...

Thank you
 

gnuB

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 25, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
61
Location
NC
This happened to me... after 3 hrs of troubleshooting and resetting the doorbell it was the Transformer that needed to be replaced. It worked for 2+ years on that transformer and even the doorbell cam continuted to work... but the chime didnt. Get a 9V battery, test the chime... if it dings, replace your transformer. $13 on Amazon for 30va
Ugh, that’s what I was thinking. I still need to find where mine is. It’s too damn hot in NC to crawl the length of my house in the crawl space.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,404
Reaction score
814
Location
USA
The video, when being recorded and viewed, is not choppy at all, however, when I run the live video through IVMS-4200, the feed eventually (after watching for about an hour or so) begins to get a bit choppy. Once I re-initiate the live video, the choppyness goes away, but then re-appears later. Any suggestions for adjustments or other ways to watch the live feed? I used to use a browser (on a Mac) and never had this issue, but I can no longer do this because all the browsers stopped allowing me to watch a live feed. I've tried this on multiple computers (plenty of CPU power/ram) and got the same results...

Thank you
How is your feed through VLC?
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,404
Reaction score
814
Location
USA
Good question. I'm not sure if I ever got that to work.
The reason I ask is many of us here use VLC for testing. What I did was open 3 VLC feeds from the Doorbell to test, I was able to run them 24/7 with no problems.


From our 101:

COPY/PASTE:
rxxp:/admin:<Enter password>@<Enter IP Address>:554/Streaming/Channels/101
(Change rxxp to rtsp)

NOTE: "<username>" is admin, "<password>" is the "Verification Code" on the back of your Doorbell (Usually 6 Capital Characters), "<IP Address>" is your Doorbell's IP Address.
(One way to find your Doorbell's "<IP Address>" is by looking up your Doorbell's MAC address in your router.)

⦁ RTSP Streaming for VLC (VideoLAN Media Player) Under Media/Open Network Stream (Ctrl+N)...Enter your RTSP Link/Info for Live Video Stream

It has been mentioned the Doorbell has a 3 Stream limit, 4 Streams is too much for it's processor - rafale

HTH
 

Ip2b

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
81
Reaction score
26
The reason I ask is many of us here use VLC for testing. What I did was open 3 VLC feeds from the Doorbell to test, I was able to run them 24/7 with no problems.


From our 101:

COPY/PASTE:
rxxp:/admin:<Enter password>@<Enter IP Address>:554/Streaming/Channels/101
(Change rxxp to rtsp)

NOTE: "<username>" is admin, "<password>" is the "Verification Code" on the back of your Doorbell (Usually 6 Capital Characters), "<IP Address>" is your Doorbell's IP Address.
(One way to find your Doorbell's "<IP Address>" is by looking up your Doorbell's MAC address in your router.)

⦁ RTSP Streaming for VLC (VideoLAN Media Player) Under Media/Open Network Stream (Ctrl+N)...Enter your RTSP Link/Info for Live Video Stream

It has been mentioned the Doorbell has a 3 Stream limit, 4 Streams is too much for it's processor - rafale

HTH
Thank you. I will try this. I'm only running 1 stream.
 

Ip2b

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
81
Reaction score
26
Thank you. I will try this. I'm only running 1 stream.
I gave it a try, but I couldn't get the feed to work. At one point a prompt came up on VLC for a username and password (even though that was put in the URL), but I couldn't get past that point. Then, when I tried to re-do that process, I couldn't even get to that login box.

I wonder why the feed only starts getting choppy after an hour....it must be a setting, because the video feed to recording is perfect.
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,404
Reaction score
814
Location
USA
I gave it a try, but I couldn't get the feed to work. At one point a prompt came up on VLC for a username and password (even though that was put in the URL), but I couldn't get past that point. Then, when I tried to re-do that process, I couldn't even get to that login box.

I wonder why the feed only starts getting choppy after an hour....it must be a setting, because the video feed to recording is perfect.
Something is not right. Is this the link you used? Of course using your Password and IP. By VLC asking your password, it sounds like you are talking to the Doorbell but may have the wrong login. admin has to be be lower case.

1597405138718.png

Several things can cause the choppy video you are referring to. What size transformer do you have?
 

phatboyj

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 31, 2019
Messages
82
Reaction score
93
Location
US
I gave it a try, but I couldn't get the feed to work. At one point a prompt came up on VLC for a username and password (even though that was put in the URL), but I couldn't get past that point. Then, when I tried to re-do that process, I couldn't even get to that login box.

I wonder why the feed only starts getting choppy after an hour....it must be a setting, because the video feed to recording is perfect.
What type of router are you using does it offer advanced settings like for Spanning Tree Protocol and or Jumbo Frame?
Also does your router have a upnp setting ?
If so, You might try enabling /disabling those settings one by one to troubleshoot the choppy video after a time issue
sounds like a network buffering issue

Alternatively,
you might be able to create a simple script that refreshes your live stream every 1hr or so
 
Last edited:

alexdelprete

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jan 2, 2020
Messages
518
Reaction score
767
Location
Rome, Italy
Something is not right. Is this the link you used? Of course using your Password and IP. By VLC asking your password, it sounds like you are talking to the Doorbell but may have the wrong login. admin has to be be lower case.

View attachment 68635

Several things can cause the choppy video you are referring to. What size transformer do you have?
You can also create a doorbell.xspf file (rename it like you want, keeping the extension) with this in it:

Just edit the password and IP/hostname of the doorbell. Save it and then double-click it, VLC will play the stream.

XML:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<playlist xmlns="http://xspf.org/ns/0/" xmlns:vlc="http://www.videolan.org/vlc/playlist/ns/0/" version="1">
    <title>Doorbell</title>
    <trackList>
        <track>
            <location>rtsp:/admin:PASSWORD@10.1.10.24:554/Streaming/Channels/101</location>
            <extension application="http://www.videolan.org/vlc/playlist/0">
                <vlc:id>0</vlc:id>
                <vlc:option>network-caching=1000</vlc:option>
            </extension>
        </track>
    </trackList>
    <extension application="http://www.videolan.org/vlc/playlist/0">
        <vlc:item tid="0"/>
    </extension>
</playlist>
 

David L

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Aug 2, 2019
Messages
1,404
Reaction score
814
Location
USA
You can also create a doorbell.xspf file (rename it like you want, keeping the extension) with this in it:

Just edit the password and IP/hostname of the doorbell. Save it and then double-click it, VLC will play the stream.

XML:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<playlist xmlns="http://xspf.org/ns/0/" xmlns:vlc="http://www.videolan.org/vlc/playlist/ns/0/" version="1">
    <title>Doorbell</title>
    <trackList>
        <track>
            <location>rtsp:/admin:PASSWORD@10.1.10.24:554/Streaming/Channels/101</location>
            <extension application="http://www.videolan.org/vlc/playlist/0">
                <vlc:id>0</vlc:id>
                <vlc:option>network-caching=1000</vlc:option>
            </extension>
        </track>
    </trackList>
    <extension application="http://www.videolan.org/vlc/playlist/0">
        <vlc:item tid="0"/>
    </extension>
</playlist>
I can confirm, this works Great, thanks Alex...I use it all the time for a quick DB look while on my PC.
 

Ip2b

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
81
Reaction score
26
Something is not right. Is this the link you used? Of course using your Password and IP. By VLC asking your password, it sounds like you are talking to the Doorbell but may have the wrong login. admin has to be be lower case.

View attachment 68635
Yes, exactly like this (with the code from the unit and the IP of the unit) and here's what I get:

Screen Shot 2020-08-14 at 5.44.45 AM.png

Several things can cause the choppy video you are referring to. What size transformer do you have? One that's likely too small (I never upgraded it). But if this was the issue, wouldn't the recording to the NVR be choppy, too? The recording looks great, just not the live view from IVMS-4200.
 

Ip2b

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
81
Reaction score
26
What type of router are you using does it offer advanced settings like for Spanning Tree Protocol and or Jumbo Frame? Google Wifi. I don't think it offers those.
Also does your router have a upnp setting ? Yes and it's enabled.
If so, You might try enabling /disabling those settings one by one to troubleshoot the choppy video after a time issue
sounds like a network buffering issue I can give that a try, but do you believe if this was the case, the recording on the NVR would also be choppy? (It isn't, just live view from IMS-4200).

Alternatively,
you might be able to create a simple script that refreshes your live stream every 1hr or so
 

phatboyj

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 31, 2019
Messages
82
Reaction score
93
Location
US
Not necessarily, as the recording isn't having to be played or viewed, it gets written directly to disc, so the buffering issues aren't present like they are for a viewed live stream
 

Ip2b

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
81
Reaction score
26
Not necessarily, as the recording isn't having to be played or viewed, it gets written directly to disc, so the buffering issues aren't present like they are for a viewed live stream
Interesting. I'm just wondering why it only starts after around an hour of play..At refresh, it disappears for around another hour. Until just recently, I was using a browser (can't remember the name) and it was allowing me live view with no buffering at all. Once I updated to MAC OS Catalina, that integration no longer worked. I'd be happy to just get live view from a browser.
 

phatboyj

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 31, 2019
Messages
82
Reaction score
93
Location
US
Interesting. I'm just wondering why it only starts after around an hour of play..At refresh, it disappears for around another hour.
That's what makes me think it's a network buffering issue.
If you understand how a basic buffer works it is usually a set kb /mb and depending on what that size is it can take up to an hour or more to populate the problem is that different networks handle buffering based on certain settings also there are also set buffer sizes per protocol like rtsp in this instance

however having said all that @ DavidL is correct in saying their are many things that can cause this issue witch is why I suggest that you start trouble shooting

Starting with @DavidL's suggestion that you make sure your trans is powerful enough and then looking into your routers settings like I mentioned in my above post
 

Ip2b

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 5, 2018
Messages
81
Reaction score
26
That's what makes me think it's a network buffering issue.
If you understand how a basic buffer works it is usually a set kb /mb and depending on what that size is it can take up to an hour or more to populate the problem is that different networks handle buffering based on certain settings also there are also set buffer sizes per protocol like rtsp in this instance

however having said all that @ DavidL is correct in saying their are many things that can cause this issue witch is why I suggest that you start trouble shooting

Starting with @DavidL's suggestion that you make sure your trans is powerful enough and then looking into your routers settings like I mentioned in my above post
The transformer is not upgraded, that's for sure. The transformer would impact live view performance, but not the recorded performance?
 

phatboyj

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Dec 31, 2019
Messages
82
Reaction score
93
Location
US
The transformer is not upgraded, that's for sure. The transformer would impact live view performance, but not the recorded performance?
or Both even, Yes it is likely that you have just enough power to record a smooth stream but not to veiw it for a set period of time at the same time.
If your trans is a standard builders grade at 16V 10A, then that is likely the problem. So if that is your case I would start their look for a 16V 30A if planning to only run the one DB or if you plan to ad a second in the future go ahead and pick up a 24V 40A to be future proof
 
Top