New System Set Up

a1topgun

n3wb
Reaction score
Newbie here. I have set up a few webcams at our local small airport so I have some (very little) experience. We are building a new terminal building at the airport and the manager asked me to set up a new security camera system with 7 – 8 cameras. Looking at Amcrest, Lorex, or Dahua system with a DVR/NVR. POE and Open Source are required and I will use Blue Iris.

One question I can’t find an answer to is do I need a DVR/NVR or can I just dedicate a computer as a server?

I would appreciate any comments and or gottcha’s in setting up a system like this.

Thank in advance to any and all who respond.

Ron

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
+1 above - Blue Iris/computer is basically an NVR. You don't need both.

What kind of airport is it? Does it get any federal or FAA funds?

If so, you probably need NDAA compliant gear and that throws out anything Dahua (they make Lorex and Amcrest) or Hikvision, among others.

In any event, I would look into the specifics of NDAA and make sure even a private airport wouldn't need to comply.

a1topgun

n3wb
Reaction score
+1 above - Blue Iris/computer is basically an NVR. You don't need both.

What kind of airport is it? Does it get any federal or FAA funds?

If so, you probably need NDAA compliant gear and that throws out anything Dahua (they make Lorex and Amcrest) or Hikvision, among others.

In any event, I would look into the specifics of NDAA and make sure even a private airport wouldn't need to comply.
It is a small GA airport. FAA funding for new terminal building, but specified security only applies to gate and building entry locks. I will check the NDAA but I don't think it will apply.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score