PoE Switch Suggestion List

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by giomania, Oct 16, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. weigle2

    weigle2 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Somewhere in the space/time continuum
    Provided the router and switch are on the same network subnet, you can go from switch to router to PC.
     
  2. STGMavrick

    STGMavrick Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    19
    I'm using the BV tech SW800G. 5 cams and running nice and cool. Can't beat the price and it's hard to mess up an unmanaged switch. It's routed through an unmanaged 24 port TP-Link (Whole house has cat6 ports) for now but will be switching that out with a managed 24 port to setup VLANs into a unifi firewall router.
     
  3. Pedro Tera

    Pedro Tera n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Any input Netgear GS724TPv2?
    I want to try BI with a PoE switch first, but have the felxibility to move to an NVR, in case that doesn't work out for me...

    Thanks
     
  4. CBagz

    CBagz n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0

    The Amazon price is back to $196.01 debating on this switch but curious as to how loud it actually is.
     
  5. weigle2

    weigle2 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Somewhere in the space/time continuum
    It's pretty loud, even though it's in a well ventilated attic I can still hear the fan through the door! Also, just got a new PTZ with a power requirement of 22w with IR on, and this switch does not seem capable. Camera would constantly reboot. Even though I got mine also at $122 via Amazon, it's only good for cams with a low power requirement. Or any of the PTZ's with a lower power requirement. The 49225 I had on it, had no power issues.
     
  6. giomania

    giomania Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    385
    So the price was too good to be true after all. I will have to add these caveats to the list.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  7. weigle2

    weigle2 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Somewhere in the space/time continuum
    Don't get me wrong, the V7 MPEG24 is fine for fixed focus and low end PTZ's. I have 7 camera's on it now, including the 49225. It works as advertised, but if you add something like a 59225 you may have a power issue. The power requirement of the 59225 is 23w with IR on, and for the PTZ1A225U-IRA-N it is 22w. Yet the 59225 comes with a 3 amp power brick and the PTZ1A225U-IRA-N includes a 4 amp power brick. I find that odd.
     
  8. giomania

    giomania Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    385
    So either the switch or the camera are exceeding the 802.3at POE+ maximum port 25.5W power specification?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  9. weigle2

    weigle2 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Somewhere in the space/time continuum
    I believe the V7 Switch specs may be overrated. I connected the camera to my old TP-LINK POE+ switch and the camera has no problem. While connected to the V7, it was only drawing about 17000mw with no IR on yet. Well below the AT spec. And yes, I did make sure the max power for the port was enabled at 30000mw. The switch does not allow anything higher.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2018
  10. CBagz

    CBagz n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the update regarding the noise as I'm in the process of building my system (which I'm sure I will be adding to down the road) and will look at other POE switches.
     
  11. giomania

    giomania Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2017
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    385
    Just for clarification: It’s not the case where are running into the maximum power capability of the switch for all combined cameras?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  12. weigle2

    weigle2 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Somewhere in the space/time continuum
    No. In fact any port not being used is disabled.
    V7_POE.JPG
     
    MacFun and giomania like this.
  13. Jim Pederson

    Jim Pederson Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    88
    @giomania
    AGPS9E8P-AT-96 is listed in spreadsheet as managed switch.
    It is unmanaged and I think identical to the POE-SW802-DIN?
     
  14. authenticjt

    authenticjt n3wb

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any experiences with Edgecore switches? The ECS2100-10P and ECS2100-10PE are both fanless.

    Edgecore Networks
     
  15. squeeze

    squeeze n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    Cisco SG300-10MPP: L3, 20 Gbps, 14.88 Mpps, 8 ports at 30W, 124 W PoE budget, fanless, 802.3af/at and every switch feature you can imagine except for enterprise level NetFlow/IPFIX monitoring.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2018
    giomania likes this.
  16. Arjun

    Arjun Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    205
    Location:
    USA
    If anyone is interested in PoE Passthrough switches, the 4-in-1 PoE extender and Intellinet Passthrough PoE switches should serve well. However, if anyone else knows of any other PoE Passthrough switches (for cheap), please share those model numbers here as well.
     
    giomania likes this.
  17. pens1566

    pens1566 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Your Zyxel GS1900-8HP has incorrect info. It's 8 port, with all 8 being POE.
     
    squeeze and giomania like this.
  18. squeeze

    squeeze n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    Speaking of which there is the 3Com Network Jack NJ2000 from the 3Com IntelliJack Gigabit Switch Family. Straight from its manual:

    The power source for the NJ2000 determines if PSE ethernet ports 1 and 2 can be used as 802.3af ports. If the NJ2000 uplink port (PD) is connected to a high-power midspan 802.3at POE device or the external 48VDC power adapter is being used, PSE ethernet ports 1 and 2 can be used as 802.3af ports, 15.4W power budget. If power is provided to the NJ2000 thru the uplink port connected to a regular 802.3af PoE, then Ethernet ports 1 and 2 cannot be used as 802.3af ports.
    That seems to be a unique product family that provides more than one, i.e. up to two 802.3af 15.4W (Class0 or Class3?) ports or any other lesser powered combination from a single 802.3at (PoE+) input.

    On the face of it, that does seem to break physics since the max power from 802.3at input is 30W ...

    Still you could for sure get Class0/Class3 + Class1/Class2 out of it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2018
  19. MacFun

    MacFun Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    @weigle2 What switch was that where you were showing the screenshot of the POE power? I see that the cameras are getting about 54 volts, how is this possible or appropriate when the camera specs for a Dahua 5231 (a typical IP cam) is spec'd to only get 12 volts DC?

    The 5231 specs say:
    Power Supply: DC12V, PoE(802.3af)(Class 0)

    What's important to know, the voltage or the watts consumed? My UNFI switch just shows the watts drawn and my fancy Netgear (GS728TXP) shows 50 plus volts as does your interface.

    Please advise--thanks!

    Robert
     
  20. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Known around here

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,210
    Likes Received:
    2,618
    Location:
    Scotland
    That's through the separate 12v barrel connection.
    That's over POE - a different source for the power. The POE convertor circuitry inside the camera converts the 44-57v input range down to the 12v required by the camera.
     
  21. MacFun

    MacFun Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Wow, that’s quite a revelation to me. I thought Netgear was poorly negotiating with a a Class O device and was about to reject a switch based on that alone. The camera seemed to get pretty warm which I was not expecting either and the Netgear did not accurately report the “AF” or “AT” status... it called “AF” something else as I recall. I’m going by my experience more than a month ago. I hooked up a UNIFI switch and it should how many watts were being used which seemed more useful initially. BTW: I’m surprised the cam documentation does not state the POE power. My understanding is that the camera negotiated with the switch for the power needed.

    So, when looking at a switch GUI, what POE data is the most useful...?

    Thanks for the revelation!

    Robert
     
  22. jrf

    jrf Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    74
    That is very weird. I'm running a 59225 on mine and haven't had an issue for the approx year I've had the CAM. Also I power a couple smaller switches which are not only powered by the V7 but also use to power 3 cams each. (Switch power comes from V7 and passes it along) however those only pull about 20w because only 2 of the 3 uses in cam IR. Been running this setup for a while. Sounds like the V7 quality program isn't top notch.
     
  23. jrf

    jrf Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    74
    I'm adding this here too...as I've been pretty enamored with some of the offerings for IP cams from this company: poetexas.com

    If anyone has bad experience with them please let me know. So far I'm loving what they offer...some examples:

    PASSIVE 8 port switch - Here is what I like. You can choose whether you want 24v or 48v power on A or B POE. Two different power inputs for A power and B power and they can be different voltages! So you can use this to power a CAM and an IR light with the proper ethernet B power adapter on the end. Mode B Splitter

    RJ45 Combiner & Splitter Kit - How about these babies. Plug one end into two ports on your switch and a single cat5e/6 cable then another on the other end to power and run 2 cams! $17 You are only going to get 10/100 but the cams we use are typically 100m. Mode A power only.

    They also have some nice videos. And some really neat testers. To top it off the prices aren't stupid expensive.

    Caveat...you pretty much need to know what you are talking about with POE. .at, .af, passive, active, Mode A and Mode B. Most of their stuff is passive. For a lot of experienced guys on here...installers dream as far as I'm concerned. FYI they are great on the phone and can answer questions about their products quickly...not common for most vendors.