Problems with new Dahua N22AL12

SuperChimp

n3wb
Reaction score
hi all I'm new to the Dahua camera world, but not to the world of surveillance/security in general.

We're making the move for our commercial property from Arlo to Dahua/Amcrest/Similar. Planning to use with an Amcrest branded 16 channel NVR. I purchased (6) of the N22AL12 during the recent sale. However, the cameras have a really bad IR reflection ring on them when used in the dark which is annoying and makes them borderline unusable. I've tried all the fixes listed on the site...making sure the dome is screwed in tight, removing nearby obstacles/reflection sources, etc. I know these are supposed to be "starlight", but it seems like they're useless in the dark without the IR lights on.

Based on my limited experience I'm thinking that the issue is simply that we're using a dome camera where a turret or bullet camera is appropriate and that N22AL12 just doesn't have a good enough implementation of the starlight technology.

Have others been having this experience too and any recommendations on what turret to get?

Arjun

Known around here
Reaction score
I don't have an issue with the one N22AL12 I purchased for an experimental setup; make sure the screws are tightened equally and that nothing is getting in contact with the lens

dimammx

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Also make sure inside of the dome is clean and oil free. lens gasket sometimes leaves an oily residue on the dome.

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
In general it is recommended that you use a turret camera , bullet collect spiders, dome collect dirt and reflect light (IR)

cameras to look at... read the reviews

IPC-T5442TM-AS-LED Review IPC-T5442TM-AS-LED (Full Color, Starlight+) - 4MP starlight
IPC-T5442TM-AS Review-OEM 4mp AI Cam IPC-T5442TM-AS Starlight+ - 4MP starlight+
IPC-T2347G-LU Review of the Hikvision OEM model IPC-T2347G-LU 'ColorVu' IP CCTV camera. (DS-2CD2347G1-LU)