Review-Dahua IPC-HDW2231RP-ZS Starlight Camera-Varifocal

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by looney2ns, May 29, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. Haas-Cam

    Haas-Cam Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    ND
    Yeah disable the IR and flip it from B/W to Color you will likely be surprised how well the starlight works for you especially if you have a streetlight nearby.
     
  2. DebrodeD

    DebrodeD Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Utah
    I wish I could change the position, but there's already a hole above my garage where the camera is mounted and I'd rather not make another one, haha.

    As for IR illuminators, are there any that are more minimal and not super ugly looking? Are there any that could be powered by the same POE cable that's powering my camera currently?
     
  3. tigerwillow1

    tigerwillow1 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    481
    There are a couple of links in post #195 that will give you some info on illuminators. A quick summary is they all have center hotspots, and the camera built-in IR is the worst in this regard. I've adopted the 4 watt CMVision IR-40 as my preferred model, with the best combination of coverage and power consumption of the 4-watters I've tried. With 2 cameras that have a wide FOV I'm using dual 4 watt illuminators. Spreading the hotspots out from the center gives reasonably even light coverage. One issue when running a camera and 8 watts of illuminator is that you're operating right at the edge of a standard (i.e. non plus) port maximum power. The power consumption of my 5231 camera (with IR shut off) varies and would occasionally have a short spike that would cause the port to overload and shut down at night. Since I switched to the IR-40s on that port, the problem hasn't resurfaced, but I'm still darn close to the limit.
     
  4. DebrodeD

    DebrodeD Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Utah
    I've got all my cameras on POE+ (POE Switch). Does that mean I should be fine as far as power consumption goes? Could I run my camera and 2 CMVision IR-40's on 1 POE line?
     
  5. tigerwillow1

    tigerwillow1 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    481
    Absolutely yes, assuming a couple of things:
    1) You used good quality network cable (specifically, solid copper, not CCA)
    2) The total power capability of the switch can handle it

    My 5231R-Z is almost drawing somewhere between 4 and 6 watts with its IR shut off. Add 8 watts of illumination for 14 watts total. My switch cuts off the port at 16.9 watts (at the switch, so this includes wiring losses). I bumping up against the limit when the camera power spikes. With poe+ you should have a healthy margin.
     
  6. cuz

    cuz Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2018
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    New England
    When these cameras are mounted, is it preferred to have the IR (mouse ears) above or below the camera? I assume one way is better than the other...

    Thanks.
     
  7. redfive

    redfive Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    114
    By default, IR's down, (even though you could also rotate the image, the IR's above may reflect on the ceiling (if there is a ceiling)
     
  8. cuz

    cuz Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2018
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    New England
    Thanks.
     
  9. Walrus

    Walrus Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    224
    Location:
    Ontario
    Hi @looney2ns

    I'm a new member, but have been reading up for a long time. I'm finally looking to purchase several cams to get started, and run Blue Iris on a computer I already have laying around.

    If I'm going to run Blue Iris, and not use a Dahua NVR, is there any significant benefit to the IPC-HDW5231R-ZE over the IPC-HDW2231RP-ZS ? If I read up correctly, it looks like the smart functions aren't usable by Blue Iris, and can only be used with a Dahua NVR, or within the camera itself to send alerts etc.?

    I've already had Andy quote me some 5231s, but now i'm thinking I can go with the 2231 instead, and use the savings to buy more cameras.

    Thanks
     
  10. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,840
    Likes Received:
    9,818
    The ivs can be used by blue iris, however, blue iris has better zone crossing options. You also lose audio.
     
    EMPIRETECANDY and looney2ns like this.
  11. iseeker

    iseeker Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I bought this from Andy. Has anyone attempted to load this on to Synology's surveillance system? It shows as supported.

    Also - reading the cliff notes on first setup: 1) interesting that the note to disable the internet by removing the gateway ip address...why not just disable the wifi on your laptop? 2) A little confused on Poe switch (which I have). I can connect an ethernet cord from the computer to the switch and then to the camera to be able to connect to the camera?
     
  12. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,772
    Likes Received:
    5,859
    It is probably saying to remove the gateway IP address in the camera's IP configuration so the camera can't talk to the internet. However in some cases doing this may prevent it from talking over a VPN too. I've had that problem before.

    Regarding the PoE switch, yes. You can plug the computer into the switch, and plug the camera into the switch, and the computer and camera will be able to talk to each other. Or you can plug the switch into your router and then access the camera over wifi. IP networking is very powerful and it really pays to learn the basics.
     
    iseeker likes this.
  13. PeskyPete

    PeskyPete Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Just purchased this from Andy. Super fast shipping, only FIVE days to get to Wa State - I'm in the Vancouver, Canada area, so easier and quicker to ship to my PO Box.

    Took me only 1 hr. to unpack, check, change the IP to a custom one, configure & setup in Blue Iris, and to replace my Hikvision dome under my eaves.

    I am playing around with the lighting I have, as I had a couple of motion sensor lights, which, on my first assumption, seem to be too much now.
    I will see if there is any way to use the camera with this extra lighting. Maybe custom profile for settings at different times of the day? I don't know to much about the Dahua yet.

    (Edit) I see the profiles page! I'll take a look around the forums for info on some of the different settings and their pros & cons. Ie. Backlight, Exposure etc.

    But, I gotta say, this camera is very, very good and above my expectations thus far. My goal is to have great daytime imagery AND great night in colour. I think it's possible with this one.
     
    looney2ns and aristobrat like this.
  14. iseeker

    iseeker Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Is the point that we should be worried about some bot taking control of the camera in the time it takes us to reset the user name and password? The instructions say to re-enable the gateway IP address once done. More curious than anything on this point.

    I was just planning on setting it up on the laptop while setting up the camera. Ultimately, the PoE switch will be hooked up to the router. Thanks.

    Besides the cliff notes, is there somewhere else that attempts to describe the steps of setting up a dahua camera?
     
  15. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,772
    Likes Received:
    5,859
    Oh. If it says to put the gateway address back afterward then it probably is talking about the computer after all. But its kind of a strange thing to say because most people use DHCP for addressing whether they know it or not, and with DHCP you dont set any addresses normally.
     
  16. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    8,772
    Likes Received:
    5,859
    No doubt yes. Google should find them.
     
  17. concord

    concord Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    43

    Wasn't sure what you were talking about, I had to go and read the notes, it's referring to the cam GUI:

    "...To temporarily disable the internet connection in the camera UI, set a false gateway IP address in Setup -> Network -> TCP/IP [cam GUI section]. Attempting to leave the field blank will cause an error message when trying to save, so enter an IP address outside the DHCP range to avoid IP conflicts. This should only be a temporary situation until the proper firewall rules are established to limit / prevent camera access to your LAN and internet..."
     
    iseeker likes this.
  18. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,357
    Likes Received:
    5,678
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    https://dahuawiki.com/IPC/Camera_Configuration
    VPN Primer for Noobs
    Randy : OpenVPN on a Asus router
    How to Secure Your Network (Don't Get Hacked!) | IP Cam Talk
    Resource Guide on IP Technology for all Noobs
     
  19. EMPIRETECANDY

    EMPIRETECANDY IPCT Vendor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    5,173
    Location:
    HONGKONG
    looney2ns, handinpalm and awsum140 like this.
  20. Chura

    Chura Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have one 2231R, and I need another camera. is this still the recommended one ?