Review-Dahua IPC-HFW1831C-PIR 4k Mini Bullet

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by looney2ns, Jan 17, 2019.

Share This Page

  1. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,301
    Likes Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Follow the instructions closely, no one told you to use config tool to initialize it.
    The NVR will do that. Make certain that you indeed reset it to factory defaults.
    Wait at least 5 minutes after plugging into the NVR after a reset.
     
  2. karl1980

    karl1980 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    europe
    instructions clear.
    1 up and running.
    second one gives me error (see pic).
    nvr and cam 1 different IP, so no conflict.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Jared K

    Jared K n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    I plan on purchasing one of these to put under a flood light between my 2 garage doors. It will be mounted on the siding. Doesn't look compatible with the regular waterproof mounts. Any idea how this is to be mounted outdoors so it is water tight? Just need to use some sort of bushing and feed it into a junction box on the inside wall?
     
  4. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,301
    Likes Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    You could do that, requires a big hole for the jack to be passed into the garage.
    Might purchase a small junction box with a cover, mount cam to cover, run cable into one of the access holes. Seal as needed.
    Then all you need to run through the wall is the un-terminated ethernet.
    Put everything inside juction box.
     
  5. Jared K

    Jared K n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Thanks. I ordered a 2231 as well, might also just try mounting that on the clapboard siding, though I think it will stick down .8". Gonna do a test of both first to see which I like then go from there. Thanks for the input!
     
  6. Ford

    Ford Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    BC
    video evidence not working
     
  7. Jared K

    Jared K n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Any suggestion on how to seal the wire running into the junction box? Seems the grommet would need to have a slice in the side to get the wire through before sealing? I spent an hour at home depot looking for something last night. Not a lot of luck online but I can spend more time looking. This guy here is using a camera specific mount that has a nice grommet for cables with a head on the end.
     
  8. Joe Wahlbash

    Joe Wahlbash n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Hello, new member here. I installed one of these (hfw1831c) the other day and I'm having some issues. Hoping you guys can help. Purchased from Empire Tech Amazon store. Using BI only for detection everything works as expected. For the life of me I can not get the PIR detection function of the camera to work, trying to use the cameras own settings. The cameras own motion detection works (can make zone adjustments) and the light / alarm work. But I can not adjust the pir zones. The window will not allow any adjustments. Just a black screen. The firmware is the latest I believe, 03/2019. Is there some other setting that must be enabled to switch on the PIR sensor adjustments?
    The other issue I have is the camera feed randomly glitches and distorts (see pic). BI detects this as motion. It only happens during the day and the camera is near a light so the ir never comes on at night. What would cause this?


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2019 at 10:36 AM
  9. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,301
    Likes Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Run an un-terminated ethernet cable through the grommet, then terminat.
     
  10. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,301
    Likes Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    You have to install the plugin from the camera to see all settings.
    The tearing is typically a dropped packet issue, IE cable problem. Did you use the 568b standard when making your cables?
    You make need to recrimp a new Rj45.
    Or you are running the camera data through your router, which you should not do. Plug into a POE switch and bypass the router.
     
  11. Joe Wahlbash

    Joe Wahlbash n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the reply. To answer your questions: yes to 568b, my home network consists of a pfsense firewall router and a Poe L2+ switch. The router handles all the home network vlans including a dedicated surveillance vlan. As for the plugin, are you referring to the web based gui of the camera? That is what I used to setup the camera before adding to BI. PIR setting blanked out.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  12. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,301
    Likes Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    Make sure you don't have smart codec selected.
     
  13. Joe Wahlbash

    Joe Wahlbash n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Ah but it is. I will deselect it and test. What about h264h vs h264? Currently h264h.

    Big thank you for the help thus far.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  14. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,301
    Likes Received:
    5,619
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    264h is fine.
    When smart code is enabled, the cam doesn't have the processing power for some of the other features, so they get shut off.
     
    aristobrat likes this.
  15. aristobrat

    aristobrat IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    1,923
    I have the same problem with the current firmware when using Chrome or Firefox. I haven't tried using IE and the plugin yet though.

    If you're wanting BI to only record when the PIR sensor is triggered, that'll take a little more setup within BI. I'm not sure if it's detailed in this thread, give a shout if that's something you're interested in.
     
  16. Joe Wahlbash

    Joe Wahlbash n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    I have read your previous posts about this. I want BI to do all the detection stuff. The PIR functions I was trying to test out to see how they worked. And like I said, I can't change the zone settings in Event>alarm>pir settings. The tab which is basically like the motion detection zone/area settings. Only displays a black screen where the feed and grid should be.
     
  17. aristobrat

    aristobrat IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    1,923
    Just tested @looney2ns's suggestion of using IE11 + the plugin that the camera requests that you download and it worked fine (screenshot below). Doesn't work for me using Chrome or Firefox.

    For the few minutes that I just played around with it, it looks like PIR Alarm and Video Detection still share the same settings in the Area box... meaning whatever settings you make to the area, sensitive or threshold in the Video Detection Area box are what get used in PIR Alarm Area box (and vice-versa). I only mention this because I have no problem using Chrome or Firefox to set anything in the Video Detection area.

    Screen Shot 2019-08-14 at 1.03.41 PM.png
     
  18. Jared K

    Jared K n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Yes, I found watertight grommets for un-terminated cables. What I'm looking to do is find a way to get the wire from the camera into the junction box. Wire does not go through the mount, like most cameras. It's just a loose female Ethernet jack attached to end of wire with the water tight fitting. Too think to run through a grommet so you need a side entrance grommet kind of think like in that video.
     
  19. Joe Wahlbash

    Joe Wahlbash n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    Same here. Chrome and edge work fine for everything else except the pir area screen.I mainly have been using Edge. I will try IE11 later after I get home.

    @looney2ns , after disabling smart codec there have been no screen tear errors. They were pretty consistent before.
     
    aristobrat and looney2ns like this.
  20. Joe Wahlbash

    Joe Wahlbash n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    @aristobrat , @looney2ns
    I just want to follow up. Using IE11 with the plugin, everything is working as expected. A couple new options in the gui settings have appeared that weren't available in Edge or Chrome. Disabling the smart codec seems to have fixed the screen tearing as well. Thank You is an understatement. Having been a long lurker and now a member, I look forward to engaging with you and the rest of the community here.
     
    looney2ns and aristobrat like this.