Review-Dahua IPC-HFW1831C-PIR 4k Mini Bullet

jiriteach

Young grasshopper
Joined
Apr 13, 2018
Messages
45
Reaction score
10
Location
Wellington, New Zealand
which cloud service are you using and what's the subscribtion cost?
Using Dahua’s IMOU App - allows you to use their cloud storage with these cameras. Only works for motion detection or PIR detection. Not IVS.
Depends on how many days of storage you require. See the attachments.

ABECB5FC-C55E-47BE-B156-AE84A6A81012.png 2D103AC1-8B7A-4E97-A9F2-50015C6FCCCE.png CB47B3C0-E6FF-4330-A259-F3984667A587.png
 

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
2,498
Reaction score
2,290
Any luck with this?
I spent about an hour tonight trying to make the BI iOS app work like how the Dahua iDMSS app works, where you can talk to the camera at the same time you're listening to the camera. No luck.

In the BI iOS app, if I had the HEADPHONE button off (which meant I couldn't listen to the camera) and turned the MIC button on, I could talk to the camera. But if I wanted to hear the person in front of the camera talk, I had to toggle the MIC off and the HEADPHONES on (and then back again if I wanted to reply). Having the MIC and HEADPHONES on at the same time created a feedback loop.
 

karl1980

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
39
Reaction score
2
Location
europe
update: SD cards were recording but not showing in playback and nowhere to be retrieved. Asked @EMPIRETECANDY to send over an 4K NVR POE to bypass the SD issue. Again NVR was delivered within the week (kudos).

Situation before NVR: 2 IP cams with adresses 192.168.0.108 and 109. Viewable in PSS and online. Both were connected to POE switch

Situation now: - 2 IP cams connected in NVR (poe) and no cams visible. Only IP NVR (192.168.1.108)
- when going back to the old set up (poe switch) and using the IP config tool I see 2 IP cams with different adresses: 10.1.1.67 and 192.168.0.109???
- when using those adresses manually still not able to add them to NVR.

Thank you for the step by step action as I hope to close this topic ASAP.

kind regards
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
8,007
Reaction score
6,484
Location
Evansville, Indiana
update: SD cards were recording but not showing in playback and nowhere to be retrieved. Asked @EMPIRETECANDY to send over an 4K NVR POE to bypass the SD issue. Again NVR was delivered within the week (kudos).

Situation before NVR: 2 IP cams with adresses 192.168.0.108 and 109. Viewable in PSS and online. Both were connected to POE switch

Situation now: - 2 IP cams connected in NVR (poe) and no cams visible. Only IP NVR (192.168.1.108)
- when going back to the old set up (poe switch) and using the IP config tool I see 2 IP cams with different adresses: 10.1.1.67 and 192.168.0.109???
- when using those adresses manually still not able to add them to NVR.

Thank you for the step by step action as I hope to close this topic ASAP.

kind regards
Disconnect both cams from NVR.
Connect back to the Poe switch one at a time. Wait three mins. Press the factory reset button on the camera, hold for 30 seconds. Release reset. Wait 3minutes, unplug from poe switch. Plug in second cam to poe switch and repeat.

Power up NVR, let it completely bootup. plug One camera into the channel you want it to use on NVR. Wait 5 minutes or until you see the cams picture on the the NVR monitor. After the cams pic appears, plug in the second camera... wait
 

karl1980

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
39
Reaction score
2
Location
europe
Disconnect both cams from NVR.
Connect back to the Poe switch one at a time. Wait three mins. Press the factory reset button on the camera, hold for 30 seconds. Release reset. Wait 3minutes, unplug from poe switch. Plug in second cam to poe switch and repeat.

Power up NVR, let it completely bootup. plug One camera into the channel you want it to use on NVR. Wait 5 minutes or until you see the cams picture on the the NVR monitor. After the cams pic appears, plug in the second camera... wait
im gonna hold on to this idea. But i want to understand (and learn) from the settings part. What im i doing wrong, or not doing.
 

exarkun

n3wb
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
14
Reaction score
4
Location
Minnesota
Junction box and conduit.
I haven't seen conduit used with this type of camera. What's the proper method for a camera like this where the mount is right by the cable? Are there an installed examples? Will the camera be adjustable?

TIA
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,433
Reaction score
10,352
I haven't seen conduit used with this type of camera. What's the proper method for a camera like this where the mount is right by the cable? Are there an installed examples? Will the camera be adjustable?

TIA
You cannot protect he cable where it meets the camera. If that is a concern use a different camera. Note that anyone who can get that close to your camera can disable any camera design.
 

karl1980

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
39
Reaction score
2
Location
europe
manage
update: SD cards were recording but not showing in playback and nowhere to be retrieved. Asked @EMPIRETECANDY to send over an 4K NVR POE to bypass the SD issue. Again NVR was delivered within the week (kudos).

Situation before NVR: 2 IP cams with adresses 192.168.0.108 and 109. Viewable in PSS and online. Both were connected to POE switch

Situation now: - 2 IP cams connected in NVR (poe) and no cams visible. Only IP NVR (192.168.1.108)
- when going back to the old set up (poe switch) and using the IP config tool I see 2 IP cams with different adresses: 10.1.1.67 and 192.168.0.109???
- when using those adresses manually still not able to add them to NVR.

Thank you for the step by step action as I hope to close this topic ASAP.

kind regards
managed to change the 192 IP cam to 192.168.1.107 (via ipconfig) but not showing in NVR. The 10.1.1 is nowhere to be found...
 

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
2,498
Reaction score
2,290
im gonna hold on to this idea. But i want to understand (and learn) from the settings part. What im i doing wrong, or not doing.
Anything that gets plugged into the ports on the back of a PoE NVR get put on a separate (and isolated) network that the NVR manages.

So once you plug a camera into the back of the NVR, it's not longer reachable from your home's main network. This means the PC you've been using to run ConfigTool and PSS can't directly access cameras that are plugged into the back of the NVR. This normally isn't a problem because the NVR itself will assign a proper IP address to the camera (usually 10.1.1.x). Sometimes this can be a problem when a camera was first used on a different network (like in your case, when you originally had the cameras configured on your home's main 192.198.1.x network)... thus @looney2ns's suggestion to reset the cameras and move them over the PoE network one-at-a-time.

In case you're wondering, the PC you've been running PSS on can still indirectly access the cameras -- just add the NVR main IP address (192.168.1.x) to PSS, then it should be able to see any camera plugged into the NVR.
 

karl1980

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
39
Reaction score
2
Location
europe
Anything that gets plugged into the ports on the back of a PoE NVR get put on a separate (and isolated) network that the NVR manages.

So once you plug a camera into the back of the NVR, it's not longer reachable from your home's main network. This means the PC you've been using to run ConfigTool and PSS can't directly access cameras that are plugged into the back of the NVR. This normally isn't a problem because the NVR itself will assign a proper IP address to the camera (usually 10.1.1.x). Sometimes this can be a problem when a camera was first used on a different network (like in your case, when you originally had the cameras configured on your home's main 192.198.1.x network)... thus @looney2ns's suggestion to reset the cameras and move them over the PoE network one-at-a-time.

In case you're wondering, the PC you've been running PSS on can still indirectly access the cameras -- just add the NVR main IP address (192.168.1.x) to PSS, then it should be able to see any camera plugged into the NVR.

tried the reset way: no result
NVR 192.168.1.108 even not visible via pc.

SOS
 

aristobrat

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Dec 5, 2016
Messages
2,498
Reaction score
2,290
If you left your NVR at 192.168.1.108 and then reset one of the cameras (which puts that camera to 192.168.1.108), you’d have two devices on the network using the same IP, which doesn’t work.

Unplug both cameras from the network. Figure out how to get your NVR back online and give it an IP address that is not 192.168.1.108

Once your NVR is back online, plug just one camera back into your old PoE switch and reset it. When you can see it with ConfigTool, unplug it from the network and plug it into the back of the NVR. The NVR should see it.
 

karl1980

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 13, 2019
Messages
39
Reaction score
2
Location
europe
If you left your NVR at 192.168.1.108 and then reset one of the cameras (which puts that camera to 192.168.1.108), you’d have two devices on the network using the same IP, which doesn’t work.

Unplug both cameras from the network. Figure out how to get your NVR back online and give it an IP address that is not 192.168.1.108

Once your NVR is back online, plug just one camera back into your old PoE switch and reset it. When you can see it with ConfigTool, unplug it from the network and plug it into the back of the NVR. The NVR should see it.
- nvr changed to 192.168.1.110
- cam in poe switch and resetted
- cam became visible on configtool als 192.168.1.108 but 'uninitialized'
- was not able to initialize via configtool
- removed from poe switch
- plugged into nvr but not showing
- when entering manual adress: 192.168.1.108 error cannot connect to host.
 

bentson

n3wb
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
8
Reaction score
2
Just installed one of these(Thanks Andy)....Anyway to turn off the green light?
I don't see it in the settings.
 
Top