server 2016 high CPU usage live view over RDP, No Graphics Card, 4K cameras.

mike james

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Long time lurker, first time poster....I think. I am running blue iris on server 2016 with 16 gig of ram, ASrock Z77 extreme 4 MB, and i7-3770 processor. I have been running BI for a few years without issue, but have recently been upgrading and expanding the cameras. I have 7 4K cameras running at 8 fps and plan will be installing 7 more. The issue I am running into is CPU usage running 90-100% when in live view or playing back. If i limit frames in live view to 3 fps, the cpu runs at 55-70% when in live view. When I adjust cameras to 15 fps, the cameras drop to 0-2 fps due to high CPU usage. Since this is a server, I am viewing this over an RDP session. I have dont limit FPS over RDP selected. I have direct to disk enabled and ran through the rest of the usual settings. Basically, I believe i narrowed down the issue that quicksync may not be working correctly in my configuration, or will not help. I have upgraded the graphics driver to lintel HD 4000. gpu-z shows 45% load when running live view and the i7 running at 90% ( no frame limiting in live view). Oddly enough, my ram usage for BI does not go over 3 gig and total system ram 5-6 gig. I need some suggestions on where to go from here. Do I look further into quicksync? Do i install a graphics card? do virtualize the server and run BI on win10 that may be more compatible with quicksync? Do I install this on another system? Note that the other system that I have is a HP mini and may work fine as I was running BI here before the upgrade. I moved BI to the server because I did not like writing direct to storage on the server (in the event of permissions issues or the domain is unavailable). I have 30 TB of surveillance storage on the server so I prefer to keep BI on the server. I considered throwing a graphics card in the box, but was not sure which one would give good results with out speeding