Solving some NFS issues on Hikvision cameras

Discussion in 'Hikvision' started by networkcameracritic, Mar 10, 2014.

Share This Page

  1. venturis

    venturis Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Australia
    Can you please tell me what camera model and firmware version you are using?

    I've tried getting SMB share working on Windows10 without any success with a 2CD2385 and 2CD2335 both on firmware 5.5.51 and 5.5.0 respectively.

    I had them both working with Windows 7 Pro but needed to upgraded to Windows 10 for another reason.

    Since going to Windows 10 I can't get NetHDD working from the camera interface. I have turned off the firewall, allowed public sharing and disabled password access all just to try and make it work again. But nothing.

    When I try to "Test" the settings I always get the following error "Mounting to NAS server failed. Invalid directory or incorrect user name/password" which pretty much means it could be anything!

    I know all the parameters are correct therefore I can only imagine there is something in Windows 10 that stops the shares being seen by the cameras.
     
  2. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,884
    Likes Received:
    3,413
    Location:
    Scotland
    From what I recall, Win10 by default doesn't support the older version of SMB (Server Message Block) that's required.
    I suspect you can re-enable support - but I don't know how - I have never used Win10 - but Google will know for sure.
     
    venturis likes this.
  3. venturis

    venturis Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Australia
    You are an absolute genius!... About 30 seconds of Google searching and the answer was there...you were right...I needed to enable SMB v1 on my Windows 10 box by adding addtional features to Windows10 in the "Add Programs and Features Menu"

    That done and now the share can be seen from the Windows 10 PC.

    I wish I'd asked this question earlier and saved myself several days of pulling out my hair.

    Thanks again.
     
    alastairstevenson likes this.
  4. cyayon

    cyayon n3wb

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    france
    Hi everyone,

    Something is really strange with my DS-2CD2185FWD-IS.

    I am using 199Go CIFS shares with samba (on linux server) with params :
    [cam-side]
    comment = cam-side
    path=/mnt/patrol/cam-side
    valid users = @patrol,@nbuxadmins
    wide links = no
    create mask = 0660
    force create mode = 0660
    force directory mode = 0770
    writable = yes
    browsable = yes

    The disk partition (virtual loopback partition) is formated in ext4.

    The camera is configured to always record continuously, but i only get last 48h on net hdd.
    There are about 70% of free space which are never used by the camera recording.

    I don't have any errors or something else, only a silent rotation of recording for about 2 days.

    I checked in CIFS share directories datadir0 datadir1 and datadir2 exists, but only mp4 in datadir0 are writed. No datadir1 and datadir2 mp4 files are used. strange...

    Do you know why and is there a solution ?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2019
  5. jimbo123

    jimbo123 n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Australia
    Wasn't there a 200GB'ish limit or something with the size of the NAS target share that the Hik stuff would behave with ?
     
  6. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    10,884
    Likes Received:
    3,413
    Location:
    Scotland
    With a CIFS share, the volume size available to the camera can be limited by the application of a user quota.
    Is a default user quota in use on the account?
     
  7. cyayon

    cyayon n3wb

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    france
    Hi, no there are no user quota, the filesystem is not mounted with quota option or anything else.
    The firmware is the last version 5.6.0 and the problem occurs with the previous firmware too (5.5.83).

    The usage seems to be limited to about 57Go (vs 200Go) and only datadir0 is used.

    I have 5 cameras and 5 shares but a single user (patrol).
    Do i need a specific user for each camera or could i use a single user (but multiple shares) for multiple cameras ?

    thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2019
  8. cyayon

    cyayon n3wb

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    france