Solving some NFS issues on Hikvision cameras

Discussion in 'Hikvision' started by networkcameracritic, Mar 10, 2014.

Share This Page

  1. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
    The Hikvision NetHDD configuration / 'format' creates a fixed set of placeholder folders and files, and some indexes to the content held within these files.
    Even when video is being recorded, you will not see any additional or deleted .mp4 files, but the content within will have changed, as will the index that keeps track of what is where.
    Your screenshots do not show the storage schedule and event configurations for the camera.

    Unless you use a 3rd-party tool to extract the video via the index files that track them - you need to use the camera's own 'mini NVR' facilities under the Playback menu.
    Depending on whether you have configured the camera to do continuous or event-driven recording, you will see either a continuous blue line, or periodic red markers for motion / event recording.

    I hope that makes sense.
     
  2. snickels

    snickels n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much for your quick response. Here's additional screenshots of my set up. In other IP camera manufactures, you can easily set up FTP to be the storage container and it would be set to send video's on motion triggered events. If a person is detected in the camera and moving for 30min, I would have multiple video files being stored in sequence until the motion is no longer detected by the camera. I want to be able to use the NAS to drop those files into since I can't use FTP.

    I'm still not clear how to set this up properly, of if I need a mini-NVR to a NAS to complete this task?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
    That configuration looks ok for motion only, assuming the linkage method is activated.
    What does the playback screen look like?
     
  4. snickels

    snickels n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Linkage screenshot is attached. When I go to the Playback screen it appears that the motion alarm video is all recorded as I can go back in time to see the motion videos. See attached screenshots. How do I get it to send those videos to the NAS?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
    Now I'm not sure I understand the question.
    The motion videos are being stored on the NAS already.
    Do you want to extract / export video clips to store them separately?
     
  6. snickels

    snickels n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see them being recorded on the NAS while testing. The motion configuration is set up and the NAS appears to be set up. I was able to get it to store randomly for a short time because I can see the mp4 files updated time stamps, but I can't get it to consistently store the recorded files to the NAS.
     
  7. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
    The proof of the video being recorded would be the ability to play it back via the Playback menu, or even to download the files via the download button, or to see the list of files via the download button.
    I'm assuming you don't have an SD card installed.
     
  8. scheka

    scheka n3wb

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi , yes, for some couple weeks ago, my qnap nas has received new Firmware update,
    ok try to find out what was changed.
     
  9. scheka

    scheka n3wb

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    you are right, i could it and i have tested it, that is fine application,
    but i have planed for the future to buy 3 more cams

    according your discription, i have try it with differend size of space, and i could every time see and connect to the nas, but i can not Format it, i get "error device"

    how pointed from alastairstevenson, may be it depends on Firmware update, Need to check it
     
  10. consort

    consort n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NYC
    has anyone gotten any Windows 10* based NFS share simulation to work with their hikvision cube cameras?
    i really don't want to invest hundreds of dollars in a Linux (share size limiting) NAS until i see it working first.

    so far I've tried Allegro NFS 6.3.3, but i don't know enough about Linux and NFS to be sure i configured it right.
    because of the long timeout during "Test", I'm sure the cube sees my pc's ip and path, and i know to make the
    NFS read/write for "everyone" (no credentials needed) but the "Test" on the cube continues to "Testing Failed".

    sadly I already use a WD MyCloud but the entire WD line lacks the ability to define a <500gb share volume, so
    I'll have to sell the WD (my DTV DVR) and get a Synology or QNAP type models known to work with hikvision,
    but I really don't want to go to all that costly reconfiguration trouble before i see it working - first hand.

    it would be wonderful if someone hikvision/nfs/nas savvy could try adding an Allegro NFS share to their PC
    then see if they can get a cam to write to it and post what "server" perimeters you used to make it all work.

    *I'm using Pro (don't need enterprise anymore for NFS) with NFS enabled, I have a separate 500gb HDD installed.
    my cube cam has the latest 5.4.5 firmware. i tested if my (private network but discoverable) pc would host
    R+W anonymous users to a folder share and it worked on both my win10 notebook pc and my android 7 phone.
    haneWIN NFS Server is another simulator i found, but can't make heads or tails out of implementing in win 10.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2018
  11. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
    Have you tried using a native Windows CIFS/SMB share?
    A long timeout suggests it didn't.
    In the NFS config - did you define the allowed host by the needed IP address or a hostname ? (looks like the latter)
     
  12. consort

    consort n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NYC
    thanks alastairs,

    but if you manage to get it working (a win10 nfs server so your hikvision can nas to it) then post your settings.
    going back and forth with you guessing what i may have done or not would be a colossal waste of both our time.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2018
  13. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
    Methinks you exaggerate somewhat. Nothing colossal about it.

    OK, so I grabbed a spare DS-2CD2332-i with the 5.4.5 firmware and spun up a Windows 7 VM. I don't have Windows 10 - managed to avoid it so far, doing well.

    First a Windows SMB/CIFS share, straightforward, works OK.
    SampleShareSMB_1.jpg SampleShareSMB_2.jpg

    Then I downloaded and installed and configured the Allegro NFS program.
    SampleNFS_config.jpg
    Then I configured the NFS destination and 'formatted' it.
    SampleShareNFS_2.jpg

    And checked that the recordings could be played back
    . SampleShareNFS_1.jpg

    My guess as to what you are missing?
    Unlike when you enable a Windows share, I'd guess that Allegro isn't smart enough to configure the Windows firewall inbound rules so as to allow external devices in to the NFS service. The long timeout is a clue there.
    So maybe you didn't check / change the firewall settings.
     
    consort likes this.
  14. consort

    consort n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NYC
    alastairs, thanks for taking the time to try it. disabling the firewall completely was done early in the game.
    could you please post the HDD Management screen showing the share capacity and format availability? thank you.

    at least now i (and others) see this working, and have a free way to nfs test their cam before investing in a nas.

    alastairs, would you mind checking the following tab defaults before you uninstall Allegro;
    User lists:everyone, Hosts lists:your pc lan IPv4 (no / subnet or : port), Global: auto, Logging&Debug disabled.
    I'm just wondering if maybe there was some extra setting you made that I'm not aware of.

    oh, some things i'm curious about - your share is on the C: drive yet hikvision would have had to format it for the cam to write,
    so what exactly is on your local c:\SampleNFS directory now? some sort of img file? i assume it didn't reformat your win7 boot.
    also, does the used/capacity shown on the hikvision HDD Management page nearly match your total C: partition on your win7?
    if it's some widely divergent number, then why would you suppose that is?

    now that you've proven it works, i'll have to try other things... like doing this wired and disabling my router firewalls too,
    just long enough to reverse engineer where the failure lay - i just have to time it when nobody is home using the internet.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2018
  15. pila

    pila n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Croatia
    This model allows for 4 free licences and I have it recording 4 cameras fullHD with no problem.

    I described entire process for this particular NAS, did you tried following that? If it wrks for me, it must work for you. THese things are not liekly dependant on the firmware versions as it is simply file access. I did not got NTF to work.
     
  16. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
    No can do, sorry, I reverted the Win7 VM to the snapshot I took before messing with it.
    But it showed normal status, showed the entire volume size, with almost all the space available.

    Yes, that's the way it was.

    The Hikvision 'format' operation simply writes to the share a set of placeholder files and folders that will hold the recorded video, images, indexes and other metadata used to manage what's stored.
    It's not that kid of format - it just populates the share with files. 'Format' is a fairly generic term in computing.
    The capacity was a match to the share size - the used value was low as there were only a few recordings made in the experiment.
    Don't do that - it's main purpose is to block inbound from the internet, not relevant to this topic.

    Suggestion:
    I suspect the PC might be blocking inbound access to the NFS service.
    From another PC on the same LAN, see if you can access the NFS service as follows:
    telnet <PC_IP_address> 2049
    If 'connected' it's OK.
    If it times out, it's not, so check the firewall inbound rules, any anti-virus network access protection etc.
     
    consort likes this.
  17. consort

    consort n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NYC
    i'm not sure exactly how, but after uninstalling and reinstalling everything a few times, and following a few anonymous user faqs,
    i finally got the cube to see the Allegro NFS that's running on my Win10 pc, however now that it sees it and recognizes it's capacity
    it now won't format/write to it even though everyone/anonymous all have read/write permissions :banghead:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2018
  18. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    9,744
    Likes Received:
    2,865
    Location:
    Scotland
    Do you have the 'Mode bits' set to 777 ?
     
  19. consort

    consort n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NYC
  20. man at oze

    man at oze n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Here is a SMB/CIFS solution it works for me on my PC win10.

    if you was wondering to record when basic/smart events occurs and if you PC is on window you have to:
    • (windows)create a new partition (less than 250Gb), format it
    • (windows) create a directory and share it
    • (camera web interface) in Storage, storage management, Net HDD create the HDDno :
    Server Adress = IP of the machine
    File Path = \name of the share
    Type = NAS
    Mounting type = SMB/CIFS
    end user name and passwd.

    Save then test with the test button. if you got the "testing succeeded" message then its OK