splitting 1 Ethernet cable to 2 cameras

AviCo

n3wb
Joined
Sep 27, 2018
Messages
5
Reaction score
7
Location
Israel
need to add install new outdoor camera ,
installing new cable there not an option ,
splitting the existing cable to 2 cameras
I found some connector which suppose to do that:

IP cameras are Dahua 6MP ,
Is any one has experience splitting 1 Ethernet cable to 2 cameras with similar connector?
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
4,371
Reaction score
4,179
Location
Alabama
@bp2008 did so back in Dec of 2016 here, but later reported data line issues, March 2017.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 15, 2018
Messages
2
Reaction score
3
Location
USA
Just installed this, which appears to be working well: LINOVISION Mini Passive 2 Port POE Switch

I'm running two Dahuas (IPC-HDW5442TM-AS and IPC-HFW5241E-Z12E), with the switch installed in one of the mounting boxes.

Total power through the device is high relative to the spec (~7W vs 8W max), but a 24 hour burn-in showed that the device itself produces little heat. I also did repeated simultaneous reboots of both cameras and experienced no brownouts or other odd behavior.

Total bandwidth for both cameras is ~1Mb with no appreciable packet loss.

Been installed for about two weeks in the CA desert. We'll see how long it lasts when the temps start to rise again.
 

TheDank

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
80
Reaction score
88
Location
SF Bay Area, California
Yep, that's the one I was looking for but could not find it. Gonna save to my amazon List this time, I never tried it but I think @Q™ has been using it for a while now.
I'm also currently using that same POE extender. I think it might be under a different name, but it's the same one. Its input is from a POE+ switch to make sure there's enough total power, and I have two cameras plugged into it. There's never been any problem whatsoever from it.
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
4,371
Reaction score
4,179
Location
Alabama
Just installed this, which appears to be working well: LINOVISION Mini Passive 2 Port POE Switch

I'm running two Dahuas (IPC-HDW5442TM-AS and IPC-HFW5241E-Z12E), with the switch installed in one of the mounting boxes.

Total power through the device is high relative to the spec (~7W vs 8W max), but a 24 hour burn-in showed that the device itself produces little heat. I also did repeated simultaneous reboots of both cameras and experienced no brownouts or other odd behavior.

Total bandwidth for both cameras is ~1Mb with no appreciable packet loss.

Been installed for about two weeks in the CA desert. We'll see how long it lasts when the temps start to rise again.
Right off the bat, 2 greats things I like about it: 1) it fits in a circular mounting box and 2) it can fit onto a DIN rail (love DIN rail stuff).
Hopefully the 3rd great thing will be next September when you tell us that it survived the CA desert heat!

P.S. - Welcome to IPCT! :)
 

fjkum

n3wb
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
I don't think that thing works. It won't be stable.

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk
 

bradner

n3wb
Joined
Aug 15, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
WA state
need to add install new outdoor camera ,
installing new cable there not an option ,
splitting the existing cable to 2 cameras
I found some connector which suppose to do that:

IP cameras are Dahua 6MP ,
Is any one has experience splitting 1 Ethernet cable to 2 cameras with similar connector?
I've had a single gigabit line split to two cams - one a regular POE cam and the 2nd one a POE+ PTZ cam. Has been working great for the month or so I've been using it outdoors in the damp weather.

This is what I used to split it - note: it requires a gigabit connection to split down to 2x 10/100 lines.

 

fjkum

n3wb
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
I've had a single gigabit line split to two cams - one a regular POE cam and the 2nd one a POE+ PTZ cam. Has been working great for the month or so I've been using it outdoors in the damp weather.

This is what I used to split it - note: it requires a gigabit connection to split down to 2x 10/100 lines.

Could you share the pins layout?

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk
 

tigerwillow1

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
953
Reaction score
523
I've been using a couple of split single cables for over a year with no problems, using home-made splitters and combiners. The non-gigabit connections use only the green and orange pairs in the network cable. All I do i this:
1) On the switch end, redirect the orange and green pairs from one switch channel to the brown and blue pairs on the long network cable.
2) One the camera end of the cable, route the green and orange pairs of the long cable to one camera, and the brown and blue pairs of the long cable to the orange and green pairs of the 2nd camera.
 

bradner

n3wb
Joined
Aug 15, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
2
Location
WA state
Could you share the pins layout?

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk
I was using the standard T568B wiring pattern with RJ45 connector. I make my own cables and just plugged them in and they worked. I didn't concern myself with any individual wires/pins. Not sure it that helps.
 

Q™

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Feb 16, 2015
Messages
4,408
Reaction score
3,084
Location
Megatroplis, USA
Here's a post I made regarding this subject...


poe-box.jpeg
 

Arjun

Getting comfortable
Joined
Feb 26, 2017
Messages
1,249
Reaction score
435
Location
USA
How good is this for outdoors?
 

fjkum

n3wb
Joined
Aug 4, 2016
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Here's a post I made regarding this subject...


View attachment 49830
Will this work with TP-LINK TL-POE150S Poe injector?

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
4,371
Reaction score
4,179
Location
Alabama
Last edited:
Top