Suggestions

Rons86LS1

n3wb
Reaction score
Ok newbie here, I have read the cliff notes and still a little confused. I found this system at Costco and would like to hear your thoughts. it's in my price range as of now. I like the bells and whistles with the cameras, lights ect...
https://www.costco.com/Lorex-8-Channel-4K-NVR-Security-System-with-2TB-HDD-and-8-4K-Cameras.product.100499244.html

Any help would be fine. I like the NVR route, or should I get a better NVR and just a couple cameras for now and scale up as I can afford to ?

Last edited:

Rakin

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I went through the same thing when I first got into surveillance for my house. I looked at all the packaged systems and eventually decided to start with a couple of good cameras, poe switch and a dedicated pc off eBay with blu iris. Then added cameras as I could. Much happier with this route. Whatever route you take be it NVR or pc I would do my homework on the cameras, pay for the nicer ones even if it means less of them. And then do homework on the nvr or pc and so on. Especially if you think you are going to get into it as a hobby along the way.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rons86LS1

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks for response.
I haven't read up enough on the blue iris as of now. In the long run is one way better than the other?, advantages/ disadvantages. And what about cost wise? How do they compare? I will read up on pc route.

Rakin

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Thanks for response.
I haven't read up enough on the blue iris as of now. In the long run is one way better than the other?, advantages/ disadvantages. And what about cost wise? How do they compare? I will read up on pc route.
I’ve only done pc with bi. I like it. You can get a good deal on a used pc if you find the right one for the job. It’s good to be patient. I can’t comment on a nvr.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Parley

Known around here
Reaction score
Two things that stick out for me.