The new updated android app has been pushed to the play store

Mzda2

n3wb
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Location
Tadley
Anyone have an issue with the new app where the alert preview images are no longer provided? Previous version I could drag down on the alert notification, without having to open the BI App, to view the preview image from the alert. With the new app I have to open the app and go to the specific camera to see the alert. Really annoying.
Tried turning on port forwarding over http and alert preview works fine. Once I enable Stunnel for https it breaks. App functionality works fine just no images on push alerts, this worked fine before Android app update. Anyone got any ideas?
 

beepbeep

n3wb
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
USA
Make sure to add the cert chain to the stunnel folder. with Zero SSl the ca bundle is needed to be added as well. add the line CAfile = ca_bundle.crt under the cert location for stunnel.conf or it will fail. Then restart stunnel service. That should hopefully get you running
It's still giving me connection closed trying to connect with the app but https over browser works fine still. I haven't changed any settings so I'm not sure what else it could be, I'll turn on debug 7 and see what I can find out
 

doomngloom

n3wb
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
United States
It's still giving me connection closed trying to connect with the app but https over browser works fine still. I haven't changed any settings so I'm not sure what else it could be, I'll turn on debug 7 and see what I can find out
can you post your stunnel output for https from the stunnel.config, the content of your stunnel config folder, change debug = info to debug = 7 in the stunnel.config and restart stunnel; and try to connect. once thats done then try to connect from the app again and post the log ouput
 

doomngloom

n3wb
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
United States
Tried turning on port forwarding over http and alert preview works fine. Once I enable Stunnel for https it breaks. App functionality works fine just no images on push alerts, this worked fine before Android app update. Anyone got any ideas?
i tried this but i still dont get the images using only http :(
 

Mzda2

n3wb
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Location
Tadley
i tried this but i still dont get the images using only http :(
Make sure you refresh the box for external Web server and port forwarding is setup correctly. I forced stopped bi app on android and then it worked instantly over http.
 

doomngloom

n3wb
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
United States
Make sure you refresh the box for external Web server and port forwarding is setup correctly. I forced stopped bi app on android and then it worked instantly over http.
yup. tried all that. i also dont need port forwarding changes since its strictly local for the testing im doing.
 

doomngloom

n3wb
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
United States
I also dont know how ths ssl issue can be related. i dont believe it uses stunnel for sending the images or alerts only for connecting when starting the app and the web
 

Mzda2

n3wb
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Location
Tadley
yup. tried all that. i also dont need port forwarding changes since its strictly local for the testing im doing.
Interesting. Just tested this and the push alert images do not work without the remote, external (WAN/Internet) access box configured. I actually just put in my local IP in the external box and it also works fine. So if you are using local you will obviously not need port forwarding on your router, just make sure that field is populated.
 

plomaris

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 2, 2014
Messages
42
Reaction score
10
I ended up downgrading the app on my Tablet due to issues I was experiencing. I simply use that Tablet as a viewer, so the old version was perfectly fine for that purpose.
 

doomngloom

n3wb
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
United States
im now pretty certain the rich notification has nothing to do with stunnel directly. ive tested using tls 1.1, 1.2, and 1.3 with no changes. im also testing with a device that is strictly using http and it has the same no rich image. additionally there is nothing in the stunnel log showing its being used for the push message at all
 

doomngloom

n3wb
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
United States
I wish i could downgrade. i thought i had auto update disabled but it was enabled unfortunately. i dont have the old apk to downgrade it to now
 

plomaris

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 2, 2014
Messages
42
Reaction score
10
I wish i could downgrade. i thought i had auto update disabled but it was enabled unfortunately. i dont have the old apk to downgrade it to now
Someone posted a link to the old APK in an earlier post on this thread. It took me a while to get in installed as I kept getting "App Not Installed". Just google that error and there are tips on how to resolve. I ended up uninstalling the latest version and then installing the old APK. Works just like before, which is fine for me.
 

Mzda2

n3wb
Joined
Jun 26, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Location
Tadley
im now pretty certain the rich notification has nothing to do with stunnel directly. ive tested using tls 1.1, 1.2, and 1.3 with no changes. im also testing with a device that is strictly using http and it has the same no rich image. additionally there is nothing in the stunnel log showing its being used for the push message at all
It is something to do with https and push alerts and the new app. Worked fine on the old version. I'm using a self signed certificate on a synology.
 

doomngloom

n3wb
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
United States
Someone posted a link to the old APK in an earlier post on this thread. It took me a while to get in installed as I kept getting "App Not Installed". Just google that error and there are tips on how to resolve. I ended up uninstalling the latest version and then installing the old APK. Works just like before, which is fine for me.
any chance you can share where? i cant find it in this thread
 

doomngloom

n3wb
Joined
Feb 18, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Location
United States
Interesting. Just tested this and the push alert images do not work without the remote, external (WAN/Internet) access box configured. I actually just put in my local IP in the external box and it also works fine. So if you are using local you will obviously not need port forwarding on your router, just make sure that field is populated.
I stand corrected. i forgot to restart bi after disabling stunnel so it was still using it. if i disable stunnel in BI then images come through to one of my devices but not the other
 

rcirz

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 3, 2016
Messages
275
Reaction score
84
I have taken the path of some others. I have dumped the new version in favor of side loading the older version. For me the new version's interface was a bit messed up and certainly not better than the older interface in any important ways. Also, I could not get the new version to work with stunnel which was the deal breaker for me. This might have been due to the new BI App not accepting stunnel self signed certificates which are common with stunnel users. For whatever reasons the new version of the Android BI App doesn't work well for me so I've moved back to an older version that at least works as expected with stunnel.
One thing I dislike is alerts now specify how long ago the alert occurred. Hate it! Now if I want to quickly scroll to a time, I have to do math. Eg. Want to view 3:00pm so (current time - 3:00pm = x hours/minutes, look down the list for x hours.) Rolling back as well.
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
1,901
Reaction score
1,128
Location
United Kingdom
One thing I dislike is alerts now specify how long ago the alert occurred. Hate it! Now if I want to quickly scroll to a time, I have to do math. Eg. Want to view 3:00pm so (current time - 3:00pm = x hours/minutes, look down the list for x hours.) Rolling back as well.
In the IOS version there is an option to switch to real time, is there not one in the Android version?
 

biggen

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2018
Messages
1,344
Reaction score
1,082
I use BI with OpenVPN or Wireguard.
Blue Iris runs more fluently using http instead of https (at least for me).

So I stopped using stunnel a long time ago
Also do this. Leave the VPN stuff to dedicated services and let BI just do what it’s designed to do: Record.
 

Richdem

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 12, 2015
Messages
76
Reaction score
7
I also cannot connect via stunnel any longer and when I connect locally I get a warning that I have to update my PC application. Are we being forced to upgrade to version 5 here?

my system still works perfectly on the latest pre version 5. I guess I’ll have to go looking for an older version f the Blue Iris app and sideload it. Does anyone have a link to a version that works with stunnel?
 
Top