[tool] [tutorial] Free AI Person Detection for Blue Iris

balucanb

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
139
Reaction score
23
Location
TX

Use the lower links and note they are going over to docker only I believe ;

Run
deepquestai/deepstack:latest
or
deepquestai/deepstack:cpu-x5-beta

It's much much faster. :) :) :)

View attachment 73095
Docker Only- :(
 

MnM

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 14, 2014
Messages
86
Reaction score
16
@Tinbum

Will be able to put a dummy guide for compiling from github? That's one area I don't have much experience in and I will like to shorten the wait for new versions by being able to compile myself
 

Tinbum

Pulling my weight
Joined
Sep 5, 2017
Messages
420
Reaction score
111
Location
UK
@Tinbum

Will be able to put a dummy guide for compiling from github? That's one area I don't have much experience in and I will like to shorten the wait for new versions by being able to compile myself
I put a basic guide is on here quite a few pages ago and a link to it again a couple of pages back.

Oh and note that if you are pulling commits from github that their may well be bugs. The zipped file has normally been tested by a few people first so a lot, though not all bugs may have been found.
 
Last edited:

MnM

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 14, 2014
Messages
86
Reaction score
16
I put a basic guide is on here quite a few pages ago and a link to it again a couple of pages back.

Oh and note that if you are pulling commits from github that their may well be bugs. The zipped file has normally been tested by a few people first so a lot, though not all bugs may have been found.
Found it - thanks. I might give it a try and see how it goes
 

Village Guy

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
194
Reaction score
85
Location
UK
Docker Only- :(
Probably not !

Copied from deepstack forum: We can build a native gpu version for Windows, it will not be docker based. The reason behind the idea of WSL is to keep everything docker however, as you said there is need for a native windows version.
 

balucanb

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
139
Reaction score
23
Location
TX
Ok- I know there is a guide of sorts on page 1 about using Docker. But if you are like me it is very hard to know how to do this because I am not that smart in all this stuff I see - Docker, Docker for windows, VM, Ubuntu, noavx, Linux, container, portainer and on and on. I just want to keep using my windows set up until it stops working then I guess I'm out, because I have no idea how to switch this all over to using "DOCKER" do I have to delete the current DQAI stuff off the computer? Do I just install it all over the top of everything, I run everything of a separate WIN 10 pro box, can I still do this with DOCKER? Do I really have to run this part on 1 computer and the other part on another computer? I know I sound like a whinny little BIAAA#$CH and I am sorry but for a real novice it is very very frustrating. Can anyone guide me to a real Barney style example of how to do this since we know the windows version is outta here. I really would like to keep up since i truly enjoy all the super hard work everyone has put into this. Thanks.
 

balucanb

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
139
Reaction score
23
Location
TX
Probably not !

Copied from deepstack forum: We can build a native gpu version for Windows, it will not be docker based. The reason behind the idea of WSL is to keep everything docker however, as you said there is need for a native windows version.
That would be wonderful! See my whiny post- could have not stressed out now that I see your post LMAO.
 

blargrx

n3wb
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
11
Location
Stockton, CA
Hello! Just found this awesome project. As someone just starting all of this, Is there an updated guide somewhere? Do you just follow GP guide on page 1? I've tried to read over the most recent 25 pages but it's quite a bit more technical than I'm able to wrap my head around. I see the link to Chris Dodge's fork on github, do you install that after you get finish setting up GP original version? I've got a dedicated win 10 computer running just BI. Sorry for all the beginning questions, I don't fully understand how all of it works, so that's why I was looking for a step by step guide. Thanks!
 

Village Guy

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
194
Reaction score
85
Location
UK
Ok- I know there is a guide of sorts on page 1 about using Docker. But if you are like me it is very hard to know how to do this because I am not that smart in all this stuff I see - Docker, Docker for windows, VM, Ubuntu, noavx, Linux, container, portainer and on and on. I just want to keep using my windows set up until it stops working then I guess I'm out, because I have no idea how to switch this all over to using "DOCKER" do I have to delete the current DQAI stuff off the computer? Do I just install it all over the top of everything, I run everything of a separate WIN 10 pro box, can I still do this with DOCKER? Do I really have to run this part on 1 computer and the other part on another computer? I know I sound like a whinny little BIAAA#$CH and I am sorry but for a real novice it is very very frustrating. Can anyone guide me to a real Barney style example of how to do this since we know the windows version is outta here. I really would like to keep up since i truly enjoy all the super hard work everyone has put into this. Thanks.
First and foremost don't think you need special skills! I have been using deepstack running under docker almost from the beginning because it started automatically with windows and was easy to update versions. Just think of docker as an intermediary program that translates everything. If you check out the link on the original post that points to the docker install and come back with questions I will do my best to help. First install cocker just like any other program an we can take it from there
 

Village Guy

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
194
Reaction score
85
Location
UK
@balucanb Sorry I should have said install Docker from the windows install program NOT the install referenced at the begining of this thread as it may be confusing. DOCKER will install stand alone. Get back to us when you have it installed and we can then get you up and running deepstack.
 

balucanb

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Sep 19, 2020
Messages
139
Reaction score
23
Location
TX
First and foremost don't think you need special skills! I have been using deepstack running under docker almost from the beginning because it started automatically with windows and was easy to update versions. Just think of docker as an intermediary program that translates everything. If you check out the link on the original post that points to the docker install and come back with questions I will do my best to help. First install cocker just like any other program an we can take it from there
Thanks Man! I really appreciate it. Just been one of those weeks for me, Kid getting married tomorrow, People at the day job are morons, My POS Smart things hub went dark for 9 freaking hours with no apparent reason and then I thought i was screwed with DQAI! I'm just going to do some day drinking.. Scotch at 12 am..that cool right? LOL.
 

Village Guy

Getting the hang of it
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
194
Reaction score
85
Location
UK
Thanks Man! I really appreciate it. Just been one of those weeks for me, Kid getting married tomorrow, People at the day job are morons, My POS Smart things hub went dark for 9 freaking hours with no apparent reason and then I thought i was screwed with DQAI! I'm just going to do some day drinking.. Scotch at 12 am..that cool right? LOL.
Seems to me you have earned that drink. Enjoy
DQA will still be here tomorrow
 

tripp396

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Messages
42
Reaction score
11
Location
Minnesota
Was able to get the new docker container up and running on the windows host that blue iris and the aitool reside along with throwing everything on the extra SSD i had laying around. Getting around 250ms on the deepstack side vs 550ms using the normal windows server. This is all over 950ms using the docker container on a linux host somewhere else on the network.

Brings average time to around 500-600 ms for the whole thing which is great!
 

Senor Pibb

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
18
Location
Greer, SC
Just install the latest version on deepstack and you may experience near realtime analysis . Check out my earlier post.
Hi... yes, have the latest running. But I wanted to know where to get the "log" our output of the execution time from post 21101603394252173.png
 

Senor Pibb

Young grasshopper
Joined
May 22, 2020
Messages
43
Reaction score
18
Location
Greer, SC
May I suggest the following: Not that smart of guy either.

I did the following:
  1. Watched this video several times -
  2. Then watched it again as I setup BI and configured the original GentalPumpkin software and Deepstack.
  3. I run Unraid and within in unRaid you can run dockers. Its a very simple process to enter in the URL to the repository of the docker and configure a few iP address options. But the same can be said for Ubuntu docker. Portainer is only needed if you want to simplify the administration of dockers / adding dockers as you add more and more dockers. If you are only going to run the one deepstack docker then I don't really see the need for portainer.
  4. when I pulled the docker it was already activated. did not have to do anything. (deepquestai/deepstack:latest) is the repository I use. I use mode=high and VISION-DETECTION = True
  5. After you have this working as desired, then move up to the latest work stored at (very nice fork of the GentalPumpkin) Releases · VorlonCD/bi-aidetection
  6. Last, I have no problem attempting to help while using google meetings if needed.
Again, I am not that good at it either, but with the help of others and that video / this forum I have it working well.
 

MrPie

n3wb
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Location
chile
Hello. This have been working very well for me and I got some weird ideas but I need a little help.

I want to make my dog go to my entry entry door if a cat or a human appears there. Many times he is far away and is not able to detect movement there.
I can train him to go where a certain sound is made, so I'm thinking on using this program to make that sound each time a cat is detected.
I'm thinking on using a speaker, or even better something that can play infrasounds so I can play it loudly.
I see that this program can trigger a certain URL, so the question is: Is it possible to configure a speaker to make a sound when a url is visited? That speaker would be placed in more than one place.

I know nothing about home automation so I'm lost but I imagine that there must be a program or server that does exactly that.
Hopefully someone can help.

Thanks
 

pbc

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
842
Reaction score
119
Out of the blue (seemingly anyhow) yesterday I started getting these errors which I just noticed today.

[22.10.2020, 16:33:28]: ERROR: Can't write to cameras/history.csv!
[22.10.2020, 16:33:28]: ERROR: Can't write to cameras/history.csv!
[22.10.2020, 16:33:28]: ERROR: Can't write to cameras/history.csv!

Any idea what is causing it? I'm still getting notifications.
 

tripp396

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jun 18, 2020
Messages
42
Reaction score
11
Location
Minnesota
What variable can I use to get just a single detection? If I just want the variable to say "Person" or "Car" what variable do i use?

Using [Detection] gives me "Person (99%)" which seems to be the same as summary.
 

blargrx

n3wb
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
11
Reaction score
11
Location
Stockton, CA
Hello! Just found this awesome project. As someone just starting all of this, Is there an updated guide somewhere? Do you just follow GP guide on page 1? I've tried to read over the most recent 25 pages but it's quite a bit more technical than I'm able to wrap my head around.
May I suggest the following: Not that smart of guy either.

I did the following:
  1. Watched this video several times -
  2. Then watched it again as I setup BI and configured the original GentalPumpkin software and Deepstack.
  3. I run Unraid and within in unRaid you can run dockers. Its a very simple process to enter in the URL to the repository of the docker and configure a few iP address options. But the same can be said for Ubuntu docker. Portainer is only needed if you want to simplify the administration of dockers / adding dockers as you add more and more dockers. If you are only going to run the one deepstack docker then I don't really see the need for portainer.
  4. when I pulled the docker it was already activated. did not have to do anything. (deepquestai/deepstack:latest) is the repository I use. I use mode=high and VISION-DETECTION = True
  5. After you have this working as desired, then move up to the latest work stored at (very nice fork of the GentalPumpkin) Releases · VorlonCD/bi-aidetection
  6. Last, I have no problem attempting to help while using google meetings if needed.
Again, I am not that good at it either, but with the help of others and that video / this forum I have it working well.
perfect, that's what I needed to know! I'll start tomorrow working down your steps
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2020
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Location
Texas
Was able to get the new docker container up and running on the windows host that blue iris and the aitool reside along with throwing everything on the extra SSD i had laying around. Getting around 250ms on the deepstack side vs 550ms using the normal windows server.
I am a little confused by the way you word this. Are you saying running DeepStack through Docker for Windows is twice as fast as running DeepStack through Docker on a Hyper-V VM?
 
Top