Why Hikvision?

Ethrex

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, I am pretty new to IP cameras. So far I have an Axis and ACTi camera mounted outside my house, and I am using them with Blue Iris. Upon sifting through IP Cam Talk I have noticed a bias toward Hikvision. This becomes tangible when you see the number posts in the branded sub-forums. Even outside of these forums there is a lot of Hikvision presence. ACTi has virtually no presence in any forum.

So my question is pretty basic: why do people on this forum lean strongly toward Hikvision?

Thanks

Mike

Staff member
Reaction score
They are very reliable, fairly inexpensive, have great picture quality and play well with Blue Iris.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Hi, I am pretty new to IP cameras. So far I have an Axis and ACTi camera mounted outside my house, and I am using them with Blue Iris. Upon sifting through IP Cam Talk I have noticed a bias toward Hikvision. This becomes tangible when you see the number posts in the branded sub-forums. Even outside of these forums there is a lot of Hikvision presence. ACTi has virtually no presence in any forum.

So my question is pretty basic: why do people on this forum lean strongly toward Hikvision?

Thanks
Simple, Acti is priced high and their cameras are generally inferior to hikvision. Axis, while making good cameras, cost 5-10 times what hikvision does.

blake

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
They are very reliable, fairly inexpensive, have great picture quality and play well with Blue Iris.
I second this notion. Thanks to Fendermans' recommendation, I added a new Asus RT-N66R router and everthing has been running stable ever since.

Razer

Pulling my weight
Reaction score

Thanks
I used to wonder the same thing. I was a user of the same two brands as you, and Vivotek also. When I say I was a user I mean I used 300+ of these on my system and a few years back I dismissed the Hikvision brand as home user stuff that was cheap based on my perception of the cost.