Wyze Cam - Usable with Blue Iris?

Discussion in 'Smart Cameras' started by jde77, Nov 28, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,555
    Likes Received:
    9,575
    26 with shipping....still garbage...the open source firmware is interesting though...
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2018
  2. openipcamera

    openipcamera n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    6
    The project is open source and gives full shell to the camera with rtsp and other goodies built in on a simple web interface for now.

    We hope to expand our project to other popular camera models.

    For $25 it makes for a great indoor alternative to a google camera or any other cloud based junk camera without RTSP. Opening up access to existing VMS systems this camera becomes an interesting option for the price. Some low-end home users or DIYers are always looking for a simple cam to get a shot of something indoor, plug in with USB, link up to their VMS and forget about.

    Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2018
    DrAramis, yakky, wooties and 3 others like this.
  3. Lablurken

    Lablurken n3wb

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Very interesting project! Is this likely to work with the wyzecam v2 being released?
     
    aesterling likes this.
  4. MatthewNinety

    MatthewNinety n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    I ordered a V2 and just flashed it with the OpenIP Cam firmware a few days ago. It was very easy to do and it works with BlueIris. I haven't tested it enough to say anything about framerate or throughput. With my other cameras I had to fine tune the settings so I probably have to fine tune this one too. But for just using the generic profile, it's nice.
    Matthew
     
    spoonek likes this.
  5. aesterling

    aesterling Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    53
    Would love to hear/see more when you have an opportunity to share!
     
  6. MatthewNinety

    MatthewNinety n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    1 Downloaded Etcher program as directed
    2 Installed Ethcher program
    3 Downloaded firmware image
    4 wrote firmware to SD card
    5 edited text file on SD card and put my SSID & password in the text file with notepad
    6 safely ejected the SD card
    7 powered off the camera
    8 inserted the SD card
    9 held down the setup button and powered on the camera
    10 once the colored light changed I released the setup button (after about 2 seconds)
    11 waited a minute or a few
    12 got the ip address from my router / dhcp server
    13 logged into the cameras web browser interface (not necessary but this is pretty slick)
    14 added the generic camera to blue iris - i think i had to use port 8554 for rtsp
    15 started recording ( i like the very wide angle video)
     
    aristobrat and aesterling like this.
  7. MatthewNinety

    MatthewNinety n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    i just ordered 2 more, but with these kinda things there's no guarantee that they will stay compatible forever. They might change to a new hardware version might not work in the future, and they might even ship out V2's with a firmware that can't be flashed easily. But once you flash your own you should be all set.
     
    aesterling likes this.
  8. MatthewNinety

    MatthewNinety n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    They weren't acting very stable, but I've ironed a few kinks with my setup, and they are starting to act a little bit more stable. First off, they are wireless. I have some Foscams and Dlinks both wired and wireless, and 1 Amcrest wireless. The wireless cams always seem to cut out / go offline, or drop some frames, or even a few seconds. So I get that some with these too. I really just got more reliable power to them all a day ago, but I'll post back after a few weeks of service.
     
    spoonek and aesterling like this.
  9. sksahai

    sksahai n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    12
    Would you so kind as to point me where the Hikvision cubes are for around $50?
    Thanks in advance!
     
  10. fenderman

    fenderman Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    30,555
    Likes Received:
    9,575
    They are out of stock..there is an entire thread on it.
     
  11. Benak

    Benak Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Has anyone successfully implemented this firmware on a Wyzecam v2 (as in what ships now)? I ask because I ordered one specifically for the purpose of trying the openipc firmware for v2 to use with BI but have not been able to get the camera to connect to any wifi router I have around after flashing the firmware & setting up the config per the instructions in the readme on GitHub. I am assuming that I need to tweak something in the config files, likely in wpa_supplicant.conf to make this device connect properly to my wifi AP. So far I've tried every combination of security (or not) I can with no success along with a few different wi-fi routers & AP's. I am missing something.

    Here is the content of wpa_supplicant.conf out of the GitHub repository, I replace "SSID" and "PW" as applies to the local config I have, and yes I do have a DHCP server on the network but if there is anything else that comes to mind I'm all ears:

    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=0
    ap_scan=1

    network={
    ssid="SSID"
    # Uncomment to connect to Hidden SSIDs
    #scan_ssid=1
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=CCMP TKIP
    group=CCMP TKIP WEP104 WEP40
    psk="PW"
    priority=2
    }


    Thank you in advance for any help on this, otherwise I might of just wasted $26..... could be worse
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2018
  12. Bboy486

    Bboy486 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have my cam running to custom openipc firmware and I'm able to connect it to Blue Iris but it keeps disconnecting for some reason. I have the IP address reserved on my router so I'm not sure why the Stream ending?

    I have several other wireless cameras that are not exhibits in Behavior.

    When I log in via a browser it works. I copied the rstp link and use /unicast BI doesn't show the feed.



    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
     
  13. Benak

    Benak Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just wanted to update the thread, I was able to get the camera up & running in BI. I couldn't pin down exactly why the flash to openipc wasn't working for me previously but I found an older SD card that was 16 gigs instead of the 32 gig I was trying to use and now I'm up & running. I don't know if that was the issue or if a fat fingered some other part of the process previously. The camera is in my garage soak testing, I'll update this thread after I get some run time on it. Seems to work OK so far.

    If anyone is curious I used my router to force an IP based on the cameras MAC address and then in BI i used that IP with the camera make set to "Generic", model "RTSP H.264..." RTSP port of 8554 and the path set to "/unicast"

    -Ben
     
    spoonek and mat200 like this.
  14. Bboy486

    Bboy486 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    I was able to get it in BI but it does disconnect for a while but will reconnect. I'm not sure why the.

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
     
  15. Benak

    Benak Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    I am seeing a lot of "signal restored" messages in BI also. Wireless sucks. Just for yucks I'm going to put the camera on its own dedicated wireless AP and see if that helps although there isn't really much on the AP it's connected to now. The frame rate varies wildly too, not totally sure why. The firmware gives you the option of putting debugging data as an overlay/OSD on the video stream, I did that and can see the cameras CPU is bouncing off of 90-100% load frequently, that may have something to do with the frame rate dropping now and then. It seems to hangout at 15-20 FPS, 625kb/sec with 1280*720 resolution when the cameras CPU doesn't load up.

    Here's the network info from the camera just now:

    Code:
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr XX:XX:8F:13:71:57
             inet addr:192.168.1.40  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
             UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
             RX packets:15190382 errors:0 dropped:39196 overruns:0 frame:0
             TX packets:30472845 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
             collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
             RX bytes:1466172577 (1.3 GiB)  TX bytes:1172069534 (1.0 GiB)
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"badconnection"  Nickname:""
             Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.452 GHz  Access Point: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
             Bit Rate:72.2 Mb/s   Sensitivity:0/0
             Retry:eek:ff   RTS thr:eek:ff   Fragment thr:eek:ff
             Encryption key:****-****-****-****-****-****-****-****   Security mode:eek:pen
             Power Management:eek:ff
             Link Quality=75/100  Signal level=100/100  Noise level=0/100
             Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
             Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2018
    mat200 likes this.
  16. Bboy486

    Bboy486 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    I reduced the FR to 15 fps in BI

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
     
  17. Benak

    Benak Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Update: I put the flashed wyze cam on its own AP with no other connected devices and I have had zero "connection restored" messages in BI since. Frame rate still moves around.

    Has anyone else had luck smoothing out the frame rate with this firmware flashed? I haven't looked into much as far as tweaking, this is more of a novelty or proof of concept thing for me so far. I'd be happy with 5-10 fps if it was consistent.
     
    Bboy486 likes this.
  18. MatthewNinety

    MatthewNinety n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    7
    As suggested over on the openipcam github, I turned off RTSP keeepalive in the camera config in BlueIris. I’m still waiting to see if it has a significant effect.
     
    Benak likes this.
  19. Benak

    Benak Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Good catch on the GitHub notes, I'm going to tweak the rtsp conf file and see what happens.
     
  20. mrsmif

    mrsmif n3wb

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hell Ladies and Gents, I wanted to provide some clarity regarding the blueiris wyze cam v2 integration. I used the openip.com firmware and installed as per the provided instructions. The hang up I had was rtsp.config file and blueiris. I was unable to successfully stream but when using the direct link for the rtsp stream in vlc it worked flawless. I also thought blueiris required a username and password for the wyze cam v2 stream. It does not. The only time you need to use a username and password is when you are accessing the wyze cam internal settings, ie the browser web interface. Also, something I found very confusing was accessing the video feed through a web browser. It is very delayed when viewing it through a web browser but when using VLC (VLC is a media player) the video is damn near perfect. I'm actually shocked the video is this good at this price point. Only issue I have found is IR night mode. It doesn't seem to automatically switch over when the room darkens. Maybe a possible firmware revision will correct the issue. Copy and Paste the following into the cameras rtsp.config file on the microsd and this should resolve your blueiris streaming issue. Again no user name and password is required in the blueiris cam profile. Also in the cameras web interface, If you attempt to change the cameras resolution any higher then 960*540 it will overwrite the rtsp.config file and you will loose the stream. You will need to go back inside the rtsp.config file and correct the change to mirror the below settings. Leave the video resolution settings alone and you should have no issues. I hope this brings some clarity to the issue. I'm still shocked at the quality and price point. If we could correct the IR issue I would buy two dozen more....lol. I have not had any video connection problems. The video is reliable. I have a Asus mesh network. It seems others have had issues with the wifi dropping. This makes me think its related the wifi traffic or interference isolated to neighborhoods and urban areas. I live in a very rural area and have no connections issues. I hope this brings some clarity to others. I was pulling my hair out trying to get this to work. Feel free to ask question and I will provide whatever direction I can.

    #######################################################################
    # Edit this file and move it to /system/sdcard/config/rtspserver.conf #
    # if you need to add options, otherwise defaults will be used #
    #######################################################################
    # Configure RTSP Servers
    # Use /system/sdcard/bin/v4l2rtspserver-master -h to see available options
    # H264 RTSP server options
    # Examples:
    # RTSPH264OPTS="-W960 -H540"
    # To enable authentication:
    # RTSPH264OPTS="-U user:password"
    RTSPH264OPTS="-vv"
    # MJPEG RTSP server options
    # Examples:
    # RTSPMJPEGOPTS="-W960 -H540"
    # To enable authentication:
    # RTSPMJPEGOPTS="-U user:password"
    RTSPMJPEGOPTS=""
    # Video
    BITRATE=5000
    # AudioFormat
    # Can be: OPUS | MP3 | PCM | PCMU
    AUDIOFORMAT=MP3
    AUDIOOUTBR=44100
    HWVOLUME=70
    SWVOLUME=-1
    FILTER=4
    HIGHPASSFILTER=ON
     
    dalepa and mat200 like this.